We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$427
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/08/21
Booking.com
US$378
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
US$427
US$308
View deal
Hotels.comUS$427
TravelocityUS$427
eDreamsUS$378
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,225)
Filter reviews
4,225 results
Traveller rating
3,190
756
185
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,190
756
185
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manager javier mirador restaurant one bedroom suite adult pool personal butler butler service italian restaurant swim up bar main restaurant kids club the hotel manager all inclusive package rooms face the ocean large balcony the general manager full kitchen ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 4,225 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the one bedroom suite which was exceptionally roomy! We stayed on the third floor and the view was excellent! The room was cleaned once a day and in the evening, the bed was readied for sleeping complete with a chocolate on the pillow!

Our first evening was a Saturday and the resort had a big barbeque out on the lawn. There was a wide variety of food with something for everyone, regardless of diet restrictions. And, there was a lot of food!

They also had a Mexican Fiesta on Wednesday evening which was also outstanding! The Mariachi band was really good too!

The Lobby staff were all very helpful and friendly. They were very helpful with questions about the resort, getting taxies, options for site seeing in town, and they will also exchange USD for Pesos. Javier, in particular, came to our rescue one day. We had not had any problems with insects at the resort at all, zero! But one day, my mother-in-law was stung by a bee. I told Javier about it and asked if he had anything to help with the pain? He took a look at the sting site and said he would be right back. Javier soon came back with a clove of garlic and said to put it on the sting site. Within a short time the pain had subsided! Again, we had no problems with insects at the resort except for that one stupid bee.

We enjoyed all the servers, always cheerful and smiling! Martin does stand out a bit. Our family bonded well with Martin, the gentle giant! We had the pleasure of us getting served by him along side the pool mostly but would see him everywhere! Even one night we were a bit late for a show and he hurried to rustle us up some chairs and drink table outside with a good view of the show! Jolio a bartender at the swim up bar was always eager to please everyone. We asked if he could make us a pretty blue drink? He said ok, and mixed something up that tasted great! Someone asked us what it was and when we asked him he said it was a secret. Ha Ha.. Armondo was another great pool server! He came around often asking if we needed anything. We drank water one day pretty quickly so he just came back with a second bottle for us without us asking. Oliver and his "Business Partner" Abel were servers at the Mirador (out door) restaurant. He was a fun server, always joking around with us. He called Abel his business partner. At that same restaurant we also enjoyed Jose for a breakfast waiter, he was very friendly. Alfredo and Saul were also very attentive as pool servers they were always around to get you whatever you needed.

We ate at the Italian restaurant once. It is included in the all inclusive you just need to make reservations. The Butler can help with that. We dressed up a bit for that and it was a great experience! The food was good and you have multiple waiters making sure you had everything that you wanted. Our main waiter was Francisco, he was great! If we go back we would go to that restaurant more. They said that they do change their menu.

Our last night there we reserved a special dinner out over looking the ocean. It is like a small Tiki hut. They put lights up and lit torches around it. Even added flower petals in the sand. We arranged it with Javier the manager. We chose our meal the day before and it was excellent. For 4 of us we paid $200, it was worth it! Sounds like a lot but the food was exceptional and the view was worth it. Sharron from the lobby bar was our waitress and did an excellent job! We had already met her at the lobby bar and were pleased she was going to be our waitress. Towards the end of dinner fireworks were going off at multiple nearby resorts on the beach. We had a great view and even one of the waiters joked about he told them they were supposed to be for us on our beach but they made a mistake.

We took and excursion that they recommended by bus tour that stopped a little in town to see an old church and at a jewelry store that was high end. We thought they were doing a little more shopping but that's ok. We ended at a restaurant in the mountains. The tour was reasonably priced but the meal was expensive. If you go put on bug spray. We didn't feel anything until we returned to the resort and noticed bites all over our legs that started itching and stayed a while.

If you have not flown to Puerto Vallarta before be prepared to wait in a line for a couple of hours at the airport to get through customs.

This was a little long but we wanted to recognize the hard work of the staff and the great experience we had. We took a note pad part way through our trip and started writing names down. For tips be prepared with extra money. We tried to give the servers tips often. It doesn't have to be a lot but I think they appreciate it. We would go back here again and really you could enjoy just staying at the resort for a week!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TwoForAdventureBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier Vergara, Director General at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Dear TwoForAdventureBT

Thank you so much for having the time to post this valuable review. Our commitment is to exceed expectation of all our guests. We are very pleased we did it.
Anytime you want to come again, we will spoil you and celebrate your return with your family.
We work with the heart just for the pleasure to be

All the best for you
Sincerely
Javier Vergara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We loved this trip so much... super Mario amd Brizzett were amazing. The service here was wonder as well as the food and the beautiful view. We highly recommend coming here! Please ask for Brizette and Mario. Also Saul Luis and Armando are amazing bartenders and servers.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jlquezada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier Vergara, Director General at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Dear jlquezada2

Thank you so much for having the time to post this valuable review. Our commitment is to exceed expectation of all our guests. We are very pleased we did it.
Anytime you want to come again, we will spoil you and celebrate your return.
We work with the heart just for the pleasure to be

All the best for you
Sincerely
Javier Vergara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021

My wife and I have stayed at the Sunset Plaza several times over the past five years. This year after our Alaska Cruise was canceled, we decided to go back to our second home away from home.

We stayed four nights and five days. As always, after a very short drive from the airport, we were welcomed with a warm smile and a glass of champagne, and a quick back massage.

After being gone for almost two years, we were welcomed as if we were the long-lost family returning home. After check-in, we noticed Javier the long-time General Manager Javier Vergara. His embrace was that of a long-lost brother. It is unusual to find a GM with that much passion, and as noted on other reviews, he is always there should you need anything, or just catch up on Family and life in general. He is a gem to be treasured and much respected.

After settling down in our room on the 8th floor (all rooms are oceanfront), we headed down to one of the three restaurants to grab a drink. While at the El Mirador we met a new face. Our Server Samuel. Just so happens his Papa is behind the bar. After this initial introduction, Samuel was always there to meet us with a smile and he always remembered your food preference.

As I mentioned there are four ala cart restaurants. The aforementioned El Mirador which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Upscale Luciano restaurant for dinner, a Pizza and salad restaurant, and a Deli is open 24 hours. Not to forget 24-hour Room Service.

The El Mirador and Luciano’s change their dinner menus daily, so you will never get bored like other All-Inclusive resorts. No crappy crammed buffets, and old and stale food. Everything is cooked to order fresh and delicious right to your table.
They have a daily grill featuring Hamburgers, Tacos, and other delectable treats, YUM…, not for forget the dinner shows which are presented several times a week. (This is Buffet Style, but very good).

What Hotel do you know that published their menus online? I posted a URL, and if Trip adviser allows, this takes you to their menu’s
We love the pool atmosphere. We got a Cabana at the adult pool one day. It was peaceful and quiet and tranquil. Your server will find you and give you the same great service you receive at the main pool.

Speaking of Pools, Our Server Yair was probably one of the best servers we have ever had. He was friendly polite and very attentive. He always went the extra mile to make sure you stay was pleasant. KUDOS to all the staff who were friendly and fun to be around, I just wish I could remember all their names

The COVID Protocols were second to none. Rooms were sanitized, they are always cleaning all the public places, and Javier will arrange to have your COVID test done right at the resort.

If you want world-class service, then, this is the place. Look forward to many more years and looking forward to seeing the new tower when it opens. Thanks again Javier and all the staff at the Sunset Plaza!

Restaurant Menus - Sunset Beach Resort & Spa (hotelsunsetplaza.com)

Room tip: All rooms are great. Anything up from fourth floor
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier Vergara, Director General at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Dear Robert C

Thank you so much for having the time to post this valuable review. Our commitment is to exceed expectation of all our guests. We are very pleased we did it.
Anytime you want to come again, we will spoil you and celebrate your return.
We work with the heart just for the pleasure to be
Kudos to you for allow us to pamper you

All the best for you
Sincerely
Javier Vergara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

We spent a week at sunset plaza and let me just tell you that it was the best vacation destination. From the first day we got there to the last, we felt very cared for and welcomed. All the workers at the resort are great and are very hard workers. Me and my wife decided to go with the all inclusive option and it was the best decision we made on that trip, we got unlimited food and drinks the whole week. If you are a picky eater or don’t drink I don’t recommend the all inclusive. The first person we were introduced to when we came in was ABEL, and till the last day he was very nice, helpful and hospitable, we also met JORGE he helped us with all the hotel information and other weekly event, he was also another person that stuck out to us during our stay. The last person that stuck out to us was MARIO, he was the weekly activity guy, very high energy, good sense of humor and smart. The food there was the best and drinks were perfect. I highly recommend you go check out the aqua bar and meet JULIO because he was the best bartender, if you want to stay dry then I would recommend you check out JOSE in the lobby bar. This trip was the best and we would definitely come back someday!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 580natiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier Vergara, Director General at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Dear 58Onatiw

Thank you so much for having the time to post this valuable review. Our commitmentt is to exceed expectation of all our guests. We are very pleased we did it.
Anytime you want to come again, we will spoil you and celebrate your return.
We work with the heart just for the pleasure to be.
When you come back again, will be a good reason to celebrate

All the best for you
Sincerely
Javier Vergara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

We had the best time at Sunset Plaza. The staff is incredible! They are all so welcoming and enjoy their job. Mario, Jorge, and Abel were some standout employees to us. The rooms were spotless, room service 24/7 was the best for those late night cravings, the food was amazing, and the pools were perfect. I highly recommend staying at the Sunset Plaza. My husband and I had a relaxing stress free week here.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 855kristync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier Vergara, Director General at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Dear 855Kristync

Thank you so much for having the time to post this valuable review. Our commitmentt is to exceed expectation of all our guests. We are very pleased we did it.
Anytime you want to come again, we will spoil you and celebrate your return.
We work with the heart just for the pleasure to be.
We hope to see you again, but this time to celebrate your anniversary.

All the best for you

Sincerely
Javier Vergara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews