We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Time”

Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The only American owned and operated charter company in Puerto Vallarta that offers deep sea fishing ,whale watching, snorkeling and boat cruises of all kinds in Mexico. Winner of Sailfish , Marlin and dorado divisions in 2018 Fishing tournament. Seen on ESPN and other fishing shows. Fish with the pros and see the difference . Voted top fishing charters on Forbes.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were a party of 12 on one of Capt Pete's Deep Sea Fishing trips. All I can say is we had a great time. The crew was very knowledgeable and very friendly. Each of us caught at least two fish each and the crew filleted them for us before we left the boat. I would highly recommend Capt Pete. You will not be disappointed!

Thank Rhopar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Yes what a awesome day with some awesome people. We provide the fishing gear and boat but it's the clients and fish that supply the fun times. Thank you so much for coming out with us and hope to see yall soon
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thanks for taking the time to let other know who to fish with in Puerto Vallarta fishing charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tuna"
in 18 reviews
"hour trip"
in 19 reviews
"catch fish"
in 11 reviews
"big ones"
in 8 reviews
"super panga"
in 7 reviews
"crew worked hard"
in 3 reviews
"large marlin"
in 2 reviews
"huge manta rays"
in 2 reviews
"bay trip"
in 2 reviews
"yellow tail"
in 4 reviews
"great boat"
in 5 reviews
"spanish mackerel"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 11 reviews
"whale whisperer"
in 2 reviews
"dolphins jumping"
in 2 reviews
"bait fish"
in 2 reviews
"capable hands"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

Like others we read about Captain Pete on Trip Advisor and set up a 8hr day with him aboard the Dos Amigos! He was very quick to answer all of our questions prior to booking! Caught Mackerel and Jack Crevalles! Boy do the Jacks put up a mighty fight! On the water we got to see whales breaching, turtles, dolphins and a manta ray! It was a great day on the water with Captain Pete & his Crew! If we return to Puerto Vallarta we will be looking him up again to take us out fishing! Thank You! :)

Thank PRupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you so much for choosing our company while fishing in Puerto Vallarta . We know there are several options but we always do our best to make sure everyone has a great day on the water. Yes what a fun day and fun catching all those fish in Puerto Vallarta. We sure hope you can come again with us next time for more fun and more fish.
Fishful thinking
Capt. Pete and crews
P.s. thax for taking time to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We booked with Capt Pete and they were very quick to get back with us. They answered all of our questions and our fishing trip was very successful! They took us to a place that cooked our fish. We have a great trip! We saw a whale :)

Thank Collette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thanks so much for spending the day with us and hope you can come back sometime. Special thanks for taking time to let other know who to enjoy rhe day with when in Puerto Vallarta fishing.
Tight lines
Capt. Pete
Dos amigos
#PuertoVallartaFishing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Fun day on the water! We went out early and enjoyed the sunrise. We quickly caught big Yellow Tail and a Mackerel in the bay and also went out by Punta Mita. Saw a lot of whales breaching and playing in close view; dolphins jumping; and huge manta rays enjoying the sunshine. The Dos Amigos (Capt Pete & Luis) were great and we enjoyed our time with them.

Thank jarlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you so much for coming out with us and yes what a fantastic day. Whales, fish, good folks to fish with and the beautiful weather here in Puerto Vallarta fishing. So happy you guys enjoyed the day with us and hope you can come again some time
Capt. Pete and crews
p.s. a special thax for taking the time to let others know who to fish with while on vacation in Puerto Vallarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

I’m always a little leery hiring a captain for the first time. Most reviews omit many of the things I’m interested in, so I’ll try to be specific and rank my preferences in order of importance (to me).

The first thing I look for is a captain who knows how to fish and who is pleasant to be with. In both regards, you can’t do better than Capt. Pete. My hat is off to a Pete who ran 6 lines off the spreaders, 2 flat lines off the stern, and an additional teaser or two... all at the same time. The more lines in the water, the greater the chances of hooking up; and until you try for yourself to keep that many lines in the water without winding up with a tangled mess, you may not appreciate the skill involved.

Second: the equipment. Some captains use cheap rods and reels making fishing difficult and not much fun. The equipment on Dos Amigos is very good. The rods take most of the punishment: not your back. And the reels are packed full or nearly so. If a big fish wants to run, I don’t want to worry about running out of line. (Also, on 1/2 empty reels the drag tension increases too fast which could lead to a lost fish. That is not a problem on the Dos Amigos.)

Third: the crew and the boat: Luis and Jose were very helpful and just plain fun to be around. The Dos Amigos rides comfortably and keeps the fishing deck and the fishermen dry.

Last: catching fish. I put that last on my list, even though most would rank that at number one. If you fish enough, you know that some days the big fish simply don’t cooperate, no matter how great all of the other factors are that I discussed above. However, on our 8 hour trip with Capt. Pete and the crew of the Dos Amigos, we landed two beautiful Marlin.

I couldn’t be more pleased, and look forward to fishing with Capt. Pete on our next visit to Puerto Vallarta.



Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvsail, Owner at Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Larry
what a fun day and I really appreciate you taking you family ( the guys ) out fishing with us. It always helps when our guest know their way around the boat and how to use the gear. Yes a few marlin in the same day is quite good and you guys did a great job bringing those big boys in.
I can not agree more with your comments about fishing and I proud myself/crews on taking care of our clients and providing a first class experience while fishing with us. We use avet 2 speeds and change line several times a year so when we do hook those marlin we always get them to the boat
Thanks again for coming out with us and hope to see ya next year
Capt. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Puerto Vallarta Fishing - Capt Pete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing