We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$546
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$183
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$405
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$120
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Amapas Apartments Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$45
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alexandross Hostel B&B(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Amaca Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pinnacle Resorts 180(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,049)
Filter reviews
4,049 results
Traveller rating
2,670
884
316
110
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,670
884
316
110
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarket cafepreferred clubbarefoot grillfrench restaurantlobby barpool areaoceana restaurantunlimited vacation clubpreferred buildingentertainment teamhealing handsrain showerturn down servicedress codeall inclusive resortocean viewtime share
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 4,049 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This is my first stay at Secrets Vallarta Bay, but I've been to many of the other Secrets Resorts in MX, along w/ numerous 4/5 star all adult/Inclusives. You could say I'm pretty much an expert in this field. I'll summarize my experience via asterisks below:
* Room (4 stars) - I thought the room was fine. It had everything you'd expect from a luxury resort, w/ a comfy bed, jacuzi tub, walk in shower w/ dual spigots, including a rain head. The A/C was awesome, WIFI decent, and plenty of cable channels. The view was awesome (floor 10), and we fell asleep to the sound of waves crashing on the sand every night.
*Food: 4.5 Stars - Like most Luxury AI's, often the presentation of the food surpasses the taste. However, compared to all the other resorts; we felt Secrets Vallarta Bay was in the upper echelon. The only negative we encountered was the buffet for dinner; it was fine at breakfast, but I'd advise one of the specialty restaurants for dinner.
Beach - (4 stars) It was a little rocky, but nothing too bad. The waves got a little big a couple of days, but it never stopped me (strong swimmer) from going on long swims each morning. It's also easily accessible and the vendors weren't nearly as aggressive as some of the other places we stayed. If you're into walking the beach, you can do that too, but I'd suggest some flip flops as it gets rockier the further you stray from the resort. They had SUP's, Kayaks, and beach volleyball for free beach entertainment.
*LOCATION (5 Stars) - Pretty much everything you need w/ in walking distance.
*SPA (5 Stars) - I didn't go, but my wife gave it 5 stars, and she's the "purveyor of all Spa knowledge", and I have the Credit Card bills to prove it ;)
*Entertainment (3.5 stars) - Okay! I think all the entertainment at these types of resorts is a little "hokey", but the shows we watched were a little more "adult camp-like" than most. However, they had a couple decent musicians playing music near the lobby bar a couple of the nights.
POOLS (4 stars) - We never hit the pool until after lunch, and it could be a little challenging finding 2 chairs w/ out towels draped over them, but we always managed. The main pool had a nice view of the ocean, a comfortable temp. and well tended pool bar. Overall, the pools were Very Good.
*Service (3.5 stars) - the service was fine, but did not measure up to the other Secrets Resorts we've visited.
****Missing: The only real issue we had with this resort was the absence of a "disco-teca". We like to dance, and this resort had no place for that, most do. There are places off site in Puerto Vallarta, but they seemed to be a younger crowd, and playing that awful EDM type of music. (maybe my age is showing on this one)
****We'd recommend this resort, but if you want the best go to Secrets Maroma outside of Cancun.

Stayed: March 2018
8  Thank KD070770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Kd070770,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Secrets Vallarta Bay, and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience.

We were delighted that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments of our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Here are the reasons why we would come back very soon.

1) The swim-up room was great, however we would choose the ocean view swim-up room next time.
2) All the food and service was "top shelf."
3) The greeting staff member, Rigoberto Garcia, was excellent with setting up with a Spa treatment day, and anything we needed. Rigo made sure we had anything we ask for, or needed. Superior host.
4) Renee (same name as my wife) Riveto was also another staff member that made sure we had everything we needed, answered all our questions, and treated us like royalty; which we are not.
5) Luis and Claudia with the Entertainment Staff poolside were great, and super friendly. Luis invited me twice to play chess with him on the big chess board, and he is a worthy opponent. Claudia invited us to join in some daily volleyball games, and she is a very outgoing person. She made the volleyball games fun, and we played several times when she had time to spare.

The staff works hard and long days to make sure all the guests are situated and comfortable. Great vacation. We will come back again even though we have 58 more Secrets to go to.

Room Tip: First floor. Choose the swim-up rooms with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Ted S,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share such an enthusiastic review about your recent visit to Secrets Vallarta Bay. We are overjoyed to read that you have enjoyed your stay, specially our staff.

Please be confident that we have shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hosts in not too distant future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Just left after a one week vacation. Staff are amazing. Friendly and very helpful. We had a lot of fun around the pool as so many vacationers were very friendly and easy to talk to. Food was very good. Highly recommend the restaurant it was the best ala cart on site. Th only downfall and surprise to us was that smoking was allowed around all pools and in the lobby bar. That was frustrating as it was a real turn off to have to breath amoke from cigars and cigarettes. Thankfully not a lot of smokers. Great sunsets. All in all highly recommend this resort.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Jill W,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Vallarta Bay as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I have just spent two weeks here, a romantic holiday. We were initially filled with trepidation at the location, but although it is very Mexican, and land is at a premium, its worth sticking with it. It was a little bit less pristine than other Secrets hotels, but the food, staff, location were great. Large rooms, huge comfy beds and pillows, spotless gardens, public areas and restaurants modern and spotless, nicely air conditioned, nice pools. Favourite restaurant, the market place, as great choices, and the French Bordeaux and Japanese. The Pools- could be better if people did not spend every minute of the day in the pool and round the bar area getting loud and the worse for wear. The staff probably cant do much to stop it, but one drink at a time and no big personal tankards would help. Also one sun bed per person, and if not used for an hour bed re-allocated! Age old problem the world over but so easily sorted! The beach is a public one, so there are many vendors, but when you say 'no thank you', they quickly move on. The sea was a little rough, so not safe for swimming but sunshine and whale watching nearby a short walk down to the harbour, look for the alligator! also the Lizards, and the mega bucks boats! The sunset from the bar views are amazing, and it would be great if bars were non smoking, but the bar service was quick and a good choice of brand named spirits. It does have children in the hotel alongside, so they are there but TBH it was not really a problem as they seemed to go to bed early! Did a few trips out, 'hippie' eco community, street market with a BBQ lunch was good, do try local fruits, coconuts, bananas, it was all day and arranged, with TUI rep Jenny, who was professional, extremely knowledgable and clearly enthused with the job and great to talk to and seemed to put in many hours of work, airport arrivals hotel drop offs, welcome meeting,departures, although trip is available through hotel and may be cheaper. Whale watching was great, even saw dolphins and a turtle, more than 50 hump backs and a baby whale! Avoid the whale spout 'snot'! 'Rythems of the night' candle lit island trip was good, although some commentary would have been useful. Boat trip there was a little more than some could take, but thats not anyones fault! Plenty of shopping malls near to hotel, taxis are cheap, US dollar or Mexican Peso accepted everywhere, great chance to get some sun, meet great people and experience local sights and wildlife! Air conditioning although quiet did smell a little musty as mentioned in other reviews. This is as we have found in many hotels in hot countries that rely on air con. BUT no ants, birds on food tables, or stealing the sugar sachets and NO mosquito bites, which is a first for me!

Room Tip: High floor best, as quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joyous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Joyous7,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Vallarta Bay as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We have been happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.We are also delighted to know that you have enjoyed the Market Café’s buffet.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We are currently 4 days in to our week’s stay, having upgraded from the Sunscape (which we loved) and have become members of the Vacation Club. Every single member of staff pamper our every need. Christian and Junior by the beach are excellent. Then today, as we weren’t booked for this upgraded vacation, as my husband chatted to Vladimir, explaining he had not brought dress pants (Sunscape is short pants for dinners) Vladimir offered to get some dress pants for him! He brought 2 pairs to our room, then followed up with a phone call to to say he had spoken to 2 of the restaurants, then.... even popped into the beautiful French restaurant to check we were well. That is truly above and beyond. The hotel is beautiful, both Now Amber and Secrets, and we honestly feel as if we are being treated like Royalty! And the Spa.... oh my, the Spa!!! The Swedish couples massage is to die for! We are so excited to have become members of this beautiful hotel group and can’t wait to come back again. Thank you for looking after our drinks Junior! Thank for making our stay so enjoyable Christian (and for coping with my jokes! Lol) and Vladimir, you just made our holiday!! Thank you!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela F, Econcierge at Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Tracey R,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort Secrets Vallarta Bay as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.


We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Cordially,
Daniela Flores
Econcierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews