We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
FindHotel
US$146
View deal
Hotels.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$150
US$116
View deal
SAVE US$34
Free cancellation until 20/05/21
Expedia.comUS$150
CheapTicketsUS$150
TravelocityUS$150
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,242)
Filter reviews
3,242 results
Traveller rating
1,210
1,220
483
194
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,210
1,220
483
194
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf and turf snack bar tennis courts guest services a la carte restaurants time share spanish coffee buffet restaurant shrimp tacos towel cards main buffet evening entertainment pool side nightly shows entertainment staff smaller resort ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 3,242 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020

I needed time away from my home in the US during these hard times. Used 2 weeks of TimeShare in this fun waterfront resort. Was clean and exciting. The kind TimeShare gentleman Serafin gave me a nice spacious upstairs, 1 bedroom, 2 baths apartment with a nice balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Although the furniture is a bit dated, it was big, clean, and had everything I needed for my 2 week stay. Masks were required throughout the premises. Hand sanitizer stations everywhere around the resort. All staff members wore masks, and some also wore face shields. Upon entering the resort, security checked temps. Each guest must stand on sanitizer mat and enter through an Ozone Clean room first. Made me feel pretty clean! Restaurant staff are friendly. Food was very good and had a variety of selections. The red wine, from Spain, was excellent, and I had a lot of every night at the dinner buffet. The 8:30 pm show was absolutely fantastic! Changed every evening. Was even better than many of my cruise ship nightly shows. Cristian, the star of the show, was my favorite! The pool is huge and had daily activities. The beach is fantastic, despite the small rocks. The gym required reservations, and only allowed no more than 2 guests at a time. I used it 6 times during my stay and enjoyed it!. Just outside the resort, many stores and restaurants were open. Overall, I highly recommend this resort. Again, thanks to Serafin for his kind hospitality!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
3  Thank Sameer-Maasarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio a Huéspedes, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear Sameer-Maasarani

Thank youfor your kind review. We appreciate your comments especially about our happy staff. We strive to keep both our employees and our guests happy here at CAnto del Sol. Hope to welcome you back as soon as the time is right

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

Went here on a last minute holiday - on first arrival we were given a room on the ground floor right by the air con generator things and with no terrace area/balcony it just stepped straight down onto the grass, reception were helpful eventually and we were moved upstairs. The rooms are clean and spacious but a little outdated if anything. All in all though Canto del sol is a fabulous hotel, the a la carte restaurants are all amazing and there are plenty of sun loungers around the main pool. A lot of the time they do have to clear the ones near the beach to set up for the evening but usually you can still find somewhere to go. The staff were all friendly and was such a great atmosphere, the food was great and a lot of variety. Would definitely go back here as even though not as finely polished as other hotels the atmosphere and entertainment could not be faulted!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 974amyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio a Huéspedes, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear 974amyo

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Canto del Sol

We are delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations. We wish to thank you for your positive review as it gives us the opportunity to congratulate the whole team for upholding the highest standard of our products and services. we are looking foward to see you next year with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020 via mobile

It seems they combined the hotel across which was once villas Vallarta with Canto del Sol. It was extremely packed at all times and messy. The staff tried hard to keep it clean but the kids were out of control. I stayed last year and it was nothing like this. The pool was just so full you could not move much.
If they wanted to combine the hotel they should expand the facilities first. We had to wait in line for breakfast this morning. I am very disappointed as I was given the choice to pay more to stay at canto del sol instead of villas and this is why I paid more. Then to find out it was pointless as everyone was thrown in the same hotel anyway is beyond frustrating.
Lines and absolutely no seats at the pool.
Will add photos within next two days.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank cristallgamez1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Arce, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2020

Dear cristallgamez1296

It is always appreciated when guests take the time to provide a review on their stay as it allows us an opportunity to improve our product and operations. We regret that we failed to meet your expectations. We are looking forward to our upcoming renovation and hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future. We encourage you to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss your experience. Thank you again and we appreciate the opportunity to restore your faith in Canto del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

We visited there in February for two weeks. One of the best hotels I ever stayed at. Very clean/food was awesome. The bad part Rocky Beach. Didn’t matter much because we were on the go all the time seeing the sights. But definitely go back to that hotel . Staff were very friendly. Another downfall is it’s hard to get an ocean view room even though I had apartment two bedrooms two baths very very nice.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jjonkeller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Asistente de Gerencia General at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2020

Dear jjonkeller123, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. We are happy to read that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Please come back soon, we'd love to have you again! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2020

Another good time in Mexico. Thanks to Julio Cesar for making our trip special. Jose ,Cris,Bristol at the bar are always great. Angelica made my breakfast perfect. Amazing maid service. Be back next year.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank davidiI1677TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Asistente de Gerencia General at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2020

Dear davidil1677TV, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. We are happy to read that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. Please come back soon, we'd love to have you again! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews