We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Catalina is a great place to stay. Clean/Quiet & Safe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It would be a good place for a couple that wants a quiet place to stay or a family that doesn’t want to worry about the kids getting lost from their room to the beach.
It’s located only a 5 min. cab ride or a 20 min. walk from downtown.
Its beach is clean and quiet and there was hotel staff on the beach to meet our needs. The Hotel is built on a hill so there are steps to walk but we found the steps to not be a problem. It’s an older hotel, built in the 50’s so don’t expect a ‘Hilton’ 5 star environment but its clean, quiet and safe. The staff was very helpful and "Celso" that works the front desk is more than happy to help you with any needs. The Restaurant is a nice place to eat with a great view of the ocean and reasonable prices. The staff didn’t have a problem with me grabbing stuff to eat or drink and taking it back to the room. We stayed in a Bungalow; I believe room 41 which is half way between the beach and the lobby/restaurant. It was HUGE! It would easily sleep 4 because of the two couches. There was A/C [which you must have] a T.V and refrigerator. Two hammocks’ and a day bed on the patio, with a beautiful view of the ocean. The refrigerator was nice to have because it saved a little money for food. The pool was very clean with ‘priceless’ view of the ocean. The doors needed trim at the bottoms so we used our spare towels to block out the crabs from the beach from coming in at night but once we put the towels down it wasn’t a problem.
I would not stay in Ixtapa because there’s not much there. Only a couple places to shop [Zihuatanejo has hundreds of little shops] and there’s only a couple places to eat, where Zihuatanejo has many more place to eat at. The locals live in Zihuatanejo and a lot of them work in Ixtapa. Bandido's De Zihua, restaurant, in Zihuatanejo was too expensive for what you get.
Don’t go to the Los Gatos beach, its small and crowded. Go to Ixtapa Island to snorkel, its much nicer. A 40 peso cab ride from the hotel to downtown Zihuatanejo and a 10 peso bus trip to the Los Gatos beach in Ixtapa will have you snorkeling in 90 min’s easy.
Hope this information helps you. From an American living/traveling in Mexico for almost 12 months now, Tim.

Room Tip: A/C is a must have.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folsom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

No doubt the grounds/gardens that this hotel is set in are BEAUTIFUL, the staff very polite & friendly, views spectacular, food nice & reasonably priced...but the place/rooms VERY dated, substandard & nowhere near 4 star. No windows, just bug screens (which are not very effective) & things have been patched not repaired. The bathrooms need a complete overall, as do the rooms really. Easily liveable though, but get the room bug sprayed straight away by the staff to save your blood being drained by mosquitos. If you can tolerate the cons the grounds of this place & views make it a worthwhile stay. Loads of steps to climb too if you need to get fit!!

Room Tip: Make sure you go through everything in the room to make sure it works. Many of the fridges are prett...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mickey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My family has traveled many times to Zihuatanejo, several times with friends. Of the several hotels we have stayed in, we have returned again and again as we love the Catalina. This hotel is wonderful- very very low key. Built upon a hillside just steps from the beach (lots of stairs- all part of the hotel- staircases wind down to the beach from the restaurant level). A Zihuatanejo tradition, for almost half a century. Built with it's (former) sister hotel next door (- separated by a family feud), the Catalina has maintained the ease and charm of this wonderful resort. Perfectly located on Playa La Ropa- the best of several Zihua beaches. Extremely friendly friendly and accommodating staff- one feels totally at home here.

There are wonderful views of the bay from almost every room. The balconies looking over the water are fantastic. This place can be as restful or as active as you would like. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Reserve early. The best rooms in high season are snapped up by regulars, so plan ahead.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We love the Catalina Beach Resort. We just booked our fourth visit and will be heading down in September. We love the staff, the restaurant, the bar, the private beach and the rooms. If you head down in low season you'll have your choice of rooms. The Staff is GREAT! Eva, Javier, Blanca, Selso, Feli....all really care and have been with the resort for years. Most of our day is spent at the beach under a palapa. The beach has a small bar and the staff keeps their private section of the beach groomed and organized. When you get tired of the beach the infinity pool is just a few steps away and is never crowded. The restaurant has many fine selections and is always prepared well and served with a smile. The views from the bar/restaurant are unmatched in Z!

Room Tip: Air Conditioned rooms are plentiful. You'll most likely be able to choose and uograde your room...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Hotel Catalina is a GREAT value. The location could not be better, there is a panaramic view of the ocean from just about anywhere at the resort., the restaurant is great and the staff are really friendly and helpful. I would definitley recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anna_KPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 km away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
548 reviews
0.9 km away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.2 km away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#9 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
520 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#52 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach Resort

Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: RM214 - RM1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sunsets Are Seen From The Comfort Of Your Hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach Hotel Zihuatanejo
Catalina Beach Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing