We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Real Maestranza(Guadalajara)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mansion del Sol(Guadalajara)
US$77
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casino Plaza(Guadalajara)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte(Guadalajara)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$64
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$68
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
115
98
55
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
98
55
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice machineavenida juarezwalking distanceonly stayed one nightexcellent wificomfortable bedsde losclose to the hotelwould definitely stay here againno windowlate checkhistoric downtownmini fridgeexcellent hotela great place to stayhistoricocathedral
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Well from start to finish i was upset and disappointed in this hotel: the walls of the hotel are thin so you hear the tv from other rooms, small children yelling and running until 12:30 am, and the high hills from women on the roof are very loudly. I have stayed there many times in the past with few problems but this time it was just awful.it started with no bell boys on sight so I had to push a cart with two big suitcases from the street to the lobby all by myself while the chef and receptionists did not even look at me. I am 64 years old .I should have left then but I needed to rest. The bell boy came to assist us much later ( he was having lunch)while already in the elevator and he was very attentive and pleasant the whole time. But it was downhill from there. We asked to be changed to another room but the receptionist (a man in his late thirties) was very rude and confusing as to what to do. He made us wait in the lobby for almost three hours for another room with our suitcases on the lobby. We were very angry by his attitude because he told us he could not give us another room until we checked out completely out of the one we were using. So we skipped lunch waiting so we finally left. They try to be efficient but lack personnel to deal with such a big hotel. So workers are rude and not very pleasant. It feels like they are doing you a favor. The beds are great and they have improved the noise from the street but not from the other rooms or roof like I said earlier.

Room Tip: Just skip this hotel,way too many better ones in the area
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Justin,

First of all, we would like to thank the time you took writting your comments down. We really appreciate all of our guests' opinions.

We have carefully read all you had to say about your stay and it is a shame that you did not enjoyed it completely, we are taking actions over all the topics you mentioned.

We would like to apologize for all the situations, we hope you can give us another opportunity to be your lodging option in this beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We arrived earlier than planned - around 14h20 - and the front desk staff seemed a little agitated. After a while they said that they had had a lot of late check outs, and checked us in. The last comment was that if we were unhappy with the room we could change the next day.
Our room was quite a nice room, but was directly off the tiled lift lobby and you could hear every person exiting the lifts. The corridors had an awful old worn brown carpet and were very barren.
We went out of the hotel and found a supermarket a few blocks away on the same main street, Juarez, and bought a few things for our stay - and were just strolling back when a thief ripped my wife's gold chain from her neck and ran. A local guy tried to chase him and then came back to us, and we walked a little with him trying to find police - in vain. It was amazing that in Mexico City there were police everywhere - but in Guadalajara none. My wife was not wearing her wedding ring or any flashy jewelry - only a thinish gold chain - which she had taken off in the markets in Mexico City, but did not think necessary in downtown Guadalajara. Eventually on our next walk out of the hotel we found a group of police and reported the theft.
The bedroom door of our room was quite thin and ill fitting, and light from the corridor came through on all four sides through the night - and I thought how could anyone rate this hotel excellent.
The next morning I asked the front desk if we could change rooms and they were very obliging to do so. We then got a superb room facing onto the side street, near the end of the corridor - very large and very quiet.
At the end of our stay I can say that after a bad start we really enjoyed the Holiday Inn - our second room was excellent (and I see in another review that they have started refurbishing the corridors - they desperately need it), and we really enjoyed Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms close the the lift lobbies
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Mark

We have already read your comments, first of all we would like to thank for giving us your stay feedback. We have analyzed all your comments and we are glad to hear that at the end you enjoyed your stay,

We already passed your opportunity comments to the right persons, that is why we appreciate all of our guests' feedback.

We hope to keep being your lodging option in your future visit to the beautiful city of Guadalajara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

HOLIDAY INN HISTORICO has made many efforts to improve their facility and service since my last visit in October of 2014. Rooms appear to have been renovated and the tired old hallway carpets have been replaced! The restaurant remains adequate, even above average, although not a four-star standard. The local tour options continue to require cash only and do not allow credit cards for tours of the Tequilla facility. Why??

The greatest improvement in the rooms appears to be the new stand-up showers with glass doors, tile floors and large shower heads, allowing a very nice and comfortable cleaning experience. The king-size beds are warm and comfortable with mattresses not too hard and not too soft. Rooms have nice furniture and wood flooring which may be fake, but looks very nice nonetheless.

The restaurant has a chef who will cook your eggs the way you like them, but they have only a limited selection of additional buffet options without bacon, sausages, potatoes etc. The fruit bar is well supplied, but there are only a few bread options: bread for toast and small rolls.

This hotel has been much improved and has a great location only one block from the Cathedral plaza, but it may never achieve a four-star rating because it has no pool or spa facilities and very few nearby dining options.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms appear nicer than the lower floors
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you invested writting your comments down. It is true that our property went thru a renovation last year to fix major issues but we are still working on the little details, that is why we like to hear all of our guests' opinions.

We are working everyday to bring the quality service you deserve & hope we can keep being your lodging option in the beautiful city of Guadalajara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Location is perfect for walking around the historic district. Lots of affordable restaurants at walking distance. Hotel staff is friendly; however, a friend of us called us three times and nobody told us about she having called. Nice breakfast.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Dear Calberkeley1997

We appreciate the time you took for give us your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoy your stay in our property, It is our duty to make you feel like home.

We are looking forward to keep being your lodging choice in your next visit to the beautiful Guadalajara.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Most if the hotels in the Historic District (by the Cathedral) are locally owned and have small bedrooms sizes. The two major hotel chains I found were IHG and Best Western. Although I have Diamobd status at BW, their reviews were better at the IHG Holiday Inn. I don't regret my decision for a minute!! They honored my BW Diamond status by giving me a 4pm late check-out (per manager approval). The FYI t desk staff will say no so ask to speak the the hotel manager. Their buffet breakfast should be called something else because it has nothing in common with what most Americans call a buffet. The food tasted home made, organic, and so full of flavor you'd think it was s Michelin star restaurant. There is also a taco shop across the street that you will remember months after you leave Mexico. The location is just blocks from el Teatro Degollado, the Cathedral, and the famous art museum. You'll pay 2-3x more at the Holiday Inn but if you're traveling with family, the extra large rooms (with living room and dining area) will make every dollar you spend worthwhile.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Calberkeley1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2015

Dear Calberkeley1997

We appreciate the time you took for give us your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoy your stay in our property, It is our duty to make you feel like home.

We are looking forward to keep being your lodging choice in your next visit to the beautiful Guadalajara.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews