We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware : Dishonest management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casita del Patio Verde
Ranked #66 of 166 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2015

My husband and I were making a return trip to visit our daughter. We had stayed at La Casita a year ago and were pleased with our experience. We booked the king room for our current visit.
Arriving late at night, we were shown to a twin room. We spent a sleepless night (in the cold: no heat) and thought we could correct the problem in the morning. The only staff available was a Spanish-speaking maid. Our daughter and son-in-law made numerous calls to the owner, with no reponse.
We had pre-payed about $260 for our reservation. The twin room we were given was listed at $85.
We left La Casita for another hotel that morning.
Our daughter has been trying without success to reach the owner. He returned the call once, saying he'd get back to her. We were asking for a refund. He has continued to be unreachable.
Being ripped off is our one memory of this B & B.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank newgrandma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petegar, Director General at La Casita del Patio Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2015

Hi,

We are really sorry about the confusion on the rooms, but we are certain that we recieved from booking.com that that you reserved our smallest room. After 2 nights we where offering you and your husband for the other 5 nights to stay with us at our medium rooms but couldn´t reach you at the house and your son in law just told a person from the staff that we you where leaving. Unfortunately they did call me from the house when you where taking the decision of leaving the place and I didn´t answer and I apologize for that, since this is something that almost never happens. I called later and you where already gone, and your room left empty for the next 5 nights.

We where offering your daughter that we could compensate you (aldought we recieved the reservation from booking.com) with 2 free nights for the confusion and she never contacted me after that. She can Email me and I can answer her throught the Email to have everything written, secure and confirmed.

Again we are really sorry for the confusion.

Let me know if you need anything else and you can contact us at any time, if not by phone, you can write us an Email.

Thank you and Best Regards.

José Luis García Reyes
LA CASITA DEL PATIO VERDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile


After an overnight bus ride and an early morning visit to Teotihuacán, arriving to La Casita del Patio Verde was a huge relief. This quaint hotel/b&b offers 2 bedrooms next to each other on the second floor of a very charming home, and one private cabana separate from the house facing a well-kept patio and garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the bed is comfortable, and the bathroom is impeccable. I never had any issues with the wifi.

The Santa Catarina neighborhood is really cute and it's worth a walk around!

During our stay we were the only occupants, so I can't speak to the potential noise level with the adjoining wall between the hotel's two available bedrooms. While the hotel is located in a quiet, residential part of Coyoacán, I will say that light sleepers should expect to hear

La Casita del Patio Verde really is escondida in Callejon Escondida, and I'm assuming your cab driver, like ours, has never heard of this little residential alleyway. Tell your taxi/uber driver that it is a casa located in Santa Catarina, Coyoacán entre Calle Aguacate y Calle Dulce Olivia.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Katmgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

The location is in Zone 6 which is far from the city center and airport. Never accept a taxi driver that's using a meter if you're a tourist because it turned out almost double the price of what we paid a taxi driver who agreed to a fixed amount because traffic in Mexico City can be horrendous. It's not centrally located for general sightseeing but if you're set on visiting the Frida Kahlo museum, it's not very far. The neighborhood has charming streets to walk along, although the pavements were dilapidated... but there was a nice collection of houses/mansions around. It appears to be an upper end Mexican neighborhood.

We stayed in a nicely decorated room inside the main part of the house. The only downside was that you could hear everything in the house - conversations, noise, etc. even from the room adjacent and from the innkeeper walking above. It's a cute, sweet house with a nice breakfast nook and garden. The bathroom could do with an update - especially the shower - in terms of water temperature and pressure. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was filling. In hindsight, though, it would have been better to have the private bedroom that's detached from the main house for more privacy but that comes at a higher price. It's probably best you just make a day trip into this neighborhood and return back to central Mexico city.

Also, the innkeeper is very accommodating but you'll need to be able to speak Spanish as she didn't speak any English.

Room Tip: Choose the detached room from the main house for privacy so you don't hear everything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

So glad we stayed here, such a beautiful and relaxing B&B! The property has 3 rooms, we stayed in El cuarto Del Arbol (the only room with a King bed). Be advised taxi drivers have a hard time finding this place, make sure you have your gps on you!
We stayed here for a week, every morning we had something different for breakfast. Location is great! Walking distance from the main square in Coyoacan.They also offer what is called a Travelers package, which includes pick up and drop off from the airport, private tour guide to all the main attractons.We had a great tour guide Maria De Los Angeles, very knowledgable, nice and a safe driver. Driving in Mexico city is a little crazy. Mexico City is a beautiful place with a lot of history, with many places to stay. La casita is a great location if you don't want to be around the busy life of downtown. I fell in love with Mexico City and La Casita!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ELY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

La Casita del Patio Verde is located in one of the most beautiful colonias in Mexico City and within easy walking distance to Frida Kahlo's La Casa Azul. It's a charming B&B with a garden back yard and was hosted by Anna during our stay. Anna prepared varied fabulous breakfasts each morning and attended to our housekeeping needs. The neighborhood is upscale and full of different cafes, bakeries, and even a chocolatier, as well as a beautiful park. Just walking through it is a delightful experience as each home is unique with many old mansions lovingly restored. I hope to visit Coyoacan again and would gladly stay here.

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinByler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Coyoacan
Maria Del Alma
Maria Del Alma
#22 of 166 in Mexico City
36 reviews
Coyoacan
La Casita de Coyoacan
La Casita de Coyoacan
#47 of 166 in Mexico City
7 reviews
Coyoacan
Chalet del Carmen
Chalet del Carmen
#33 of 166 in Mexico City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coyoacan
Casa Moctezuma
Casa Moctezuma
#16 of 230 in Mexico City
13 reviews
Coyoacan
Casa Jacinta Guest House
Casa Jacinta Guest House
#14 of 166 in Mexico City
44 reviews
Coyoacan
Pug Seal Coyoacan Suites
Pug Seal Coyoacan Suites
#4 of 166 in Mexico City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita del Patio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita del Patio Verde

Address: Callejon de la Escondida # 41 | Col. Coyoacan, Mexico City 04000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Coyoacan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range: RM520 - RM769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casita del Patio Verde 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casita del Patio Verde is located in Coyoacan one of the most emblematic neighborhoods in Mexico City. It has cobblestone streets with tourist spots, big mansions, plazas, art galleries, restaurants and picturesque cafes. Within walking distance, you have access to the heart of Coyoacan, as well as Frida Kahlo's Museum (La Casa Azul); Plaza Hidalgo; Jarda­n Centenario; Casa de Cortes, Plaza Conchita amongst others. It's very close to San Angel, with its colonial Plaza San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Patio Verde Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing