We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The "Architect's House" is incredible; a perfect...”
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Dining Area looking into Living Room, showing glass walls Living Room, looking into the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Living Room looking into Interior Garden and Dining Area
Dining Area looking into Living Room, showing glass walls
Living Room, looking into the Kitchen
Kitchen and Glass wall to Interior Garden
Master Bedroom...the glass walled balcony is behind you!
View from the Rooftop Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The "Architect's House" is incredible; a perfect place to stay in Oaxaca!”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Staying at the "Architect's House" is wonderful in every way we can think to mention. We were met at the airport by the owner's local representative, driven to the house and oriented into a graceful architectural wonder. The location is private and quiet; the house is a gem of steel, glass, concrete, wood and light. All amenities, including hot water, kitchen, wi-fi, bedding and linens are top quality. The private gardens and roof top patio are delightfully well conceived and integrated in to the marvelous overall design.
In addition to fine housekeeping, we have engaged the wonderful maid for laundry service, to cook a chili relleno dinner, and to provide an upcoming cooking class for us and a few friends. We only hope that by providing this honest rave review, we don't make it too difficult for us to rent again in the future! On a scale of one-to-five, the "Architect's House" is clearly a ten.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
822anthon...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This house inspires me as an architect by reminding me why I became an architect.”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The design of this house enhanced our experience of Oaxaca by providing a gracious bracket to our days: a place to enjoy leisurely four-cups-of-coffee mornings at the start of our day and a place to look forward to returning to in the evenings at the end of our days exploring Oaxaca. In addition, it is conveniently located near a wonderful local outdoor market and is within easy walking distance of the historic district.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, Accommodations, Location, and warmth of Managerial Staff and Housekeeper
Liked least: that I couldn't stay in the house longer!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cost of renting individual rooms in a hotel was the main reason to find a whole house to stay in Oaxaca. The Architect's House was great with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, rooftop terrace, full kitchen, dining and living rooms, and pretty patios. The neighbors were wonderful and we were lucky to enjoy beautiful piano concerts many evenings from our closest neighbor. Easy access to the walking street, Alcala, that runs down to the zocalo and the cathedral. Would definitely love to stay here again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Hi Kay - thanks for writing!

Saludos, Donna and the owners of the Architect's House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey L
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house...you'll be lucky to get it”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This house is an exceptional value. Very clean, well tended, even comes with twice/week maid. It is architecturally a jewel, too. Bonus: it has a 360 degree view, accessible rooftop with lounge chair, table, laundry, plants. It's a walk from everything you want to do in Oaxaca. It has a great Mercado very close by. Everything described is accurate.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing