We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly managed hotel, overall disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jardines del Centro
Reviewed 17 May 2013

At the first look: "very nice". But then the problems started.

Bathroom really smelled of humidity and canalization. I had the room in the backyard. Not even the open window helped!

Night receptionist was a nightmare. A guy. Very unhelpful, unfriendly, plus he didn't know the basic stuff such as what time does the hotel restaurant opens for breakfast...

Breakfast was nothing special (you will find better and cheaper in San Cristobal - try TierrAdentro). I was buying it for the entire group (12 people) and wanted to pay with a credit card. They automatically charge tip which I didn't mind, but they wanted to charge me an extra 16% if paying with a card! Thought the price was a fixed price on the menu! I found that abusive.

I booked through booking.com and some of the rooms were actually cheaper right at the hotel than through booking.com

I found the hotel quality and service very "up and down" and would not go back.

Room Tip: In the back the rooms are older. They have windows into the backyard, however the bathrooms smell ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

The first room we were assigned was damp and moldy. The second room was worse. Black Mold was everywhere. The walls wooden doors, I won't attempt to describe the bathroom. I did notice that the rooms off the lobby area had undergone a renovation but they appeared to be empty. We booked on expedia and maybe this is the room assigned to the price. However, at any price the mold level is enough to be considered a health risk.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Traveling on a budget can be daunting but we found the Hotel Jardines del Centro to be clean, comfortable and conveniently located in San Cristobal. The staff is helpful. Rooms are cleaned daily, and they provide bottled water. No heat in winter so it's chilly but plenty of hot water. Free wifi available in the rooms. For an additional charge, breakfast is available at 7:00 am.
The lobby is a garden with plenty of comfortable chairs and sofas in which to relax and read. In winter it's sweater & jacket weather, maybe gloves too!
Knowledge of Spanish is almost a must, but everyone is friendly and helpful. If we go back to San Cristobal we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Try for the inside garden for peace and quiet. We heard the parking lot side can be noisy later in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My family and I decided to go to San Cristobal on a long weekend at the very last minute. That meant all the hotels we tried first were fully booked. Through a travel agency we found availability in Jardines del Centro, which was a relief!

Location is privileged: only one block away from the main square and a 15 minute walk from the bus station. Our reservation was in place when we got there and prices were decent.

The room was spacious and everything worked properly in the bathroom. Nonetheless, furniture lacks style and the room had very few facilities: no closets or wardrobes -just a small set of drawers-, no safe, and no coffee maker -maybe they do this deliberately to make you go out for a cup of nice Chiapas coffee!-. The place was clean and neat, though, and if you are staying for a short period, you may actually not need any of that.

The looks of their restaurant, or what we thought that was, made us go out to look for more options, which at the end was much better as we ended up eating in amazing places. They do really need to invest in having a good restaurant and/or a bar, if they want costumers to hang around longer.

Staff were all very helpful and were happy to advice us on places to visit and things to do during our stay.

This last minute finding was an oasis in the middle of a list of fully booked hotels. It is not, in my opinion, a 4-star hotel. But, it works ok if what you want is a decent place to sleep and take a shower after having walked your legs off in heavenly San Cristobal.

Room Tip: Do not ask for the room next to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Hotel staff were nice but rooms reeked of dampness, not sure if this is to do with the climate as other with our group in different hotels had similar issue. BUT they took our reservation on credit card, charging for one day, then when we were there charged us for our full stay including this day again! And if you need a taxi I suggest get one from the stand. For a party of 3 the hotel charged 640 peso each, the rank charged 600 total for 3 - we found out too late. Window in bathroom is small and rotates 360 - but it doesn't lock.

Room Tip: They all sounded similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishMikeScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 km away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
335 reviews
0.6 km away
Palace SCLC Hotel & Brewery
Palace SCLC Hotel & Brewery
#54 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
12 reviews
0.1 km away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#34 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
#49 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Jardines del Carmen
Hotel Jardines del Carmen
#59 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardines del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines del Centro

Address: 1ero de Marzo esq 5 de Mayo 29, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: RM143 - RM318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardines del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas with 24 rooms, private bathroom, hot water 24 hours, television, restaurant-coffee shop and parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jardines del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing