We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”
Review of Ganesha Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganesha Posada
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I had an absolutely lovely time at this place. The family who run it are lovely people, calm and helpful and genuine. The hostel is pretty, the beds are comfy, the other travellers who stayed there when I was there were friendly and invited me out for beers (great to have company when you're travelling alone), the breakfast is generous. At night it was super peaceful and I probably had the best night's sleep I'd had for the whole of my trip (very important to me as I'm a light sleeper and was starting to think I'd go mad). I'm not big into hippy stuff, but I did get two great massages and tried the yoga in the mornings. When I came back to San Cris, I went back to Posada Ganesha and I met another girl who did the same thing - she said she thought about trying somewhere else but then thought it was so lovely at Ganesha that it could not be beat!

I don't normally write reviews, but what prompted me to leave this was that in addition to being a lovely, chilled, helpful place to stay, I left my iPhone in the hostel and they really went out of their way to get it back to me. They tried taking it to the bus stop to put it on the next bus (I was headed for Cancun and from there to London), but when the buses were on strike they researched the cheapest and most reliable way to send it to me in
London by mail, in exchange for me wiring them the cost of postage. This was really inconvenient to them and involved a lot of Skype calls whilst I was in Cancun trying to work out what to do - and they'd definitely have made a lot of money if they'd sold the phone, which most suspicious folk I told this story to predicted they'd do. No one in
London could believe it when my phone arrived in the post, sent by people I'll never meet again from a hostel I stayed at for a few nights in another continent.

Overall, five stars! Posada Ganesha, you are great people and your hostel is lovely!

Room Tip: The shared dorms were just as quiet and nice as the separate rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elsbells4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015
Google Translation

Hola, muchas gracias por el comentario, nosotros siempre hacemos las cosas de corazón y que bueno que al final lograste recuperar tu telefono.

Te mandamos un fuerte abrazo de parte de todos aqui en ganesha, espero puedas volver pronto a visitarnos

saludos

Fabian y bely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2015

This is one of the places where you get what you want. Room was pretty comfortable (like the one show in the picture). Price was very reasonable and people in charge its very friendly. As they described the restrooms (2) are outside, but nothing that you cannot deal with it; in my case I took showers early morning (and yes.. with hot water) and only a few time both were busy, but everyone can wait a couple of minutes. Location its really good.. only a few blocks from the main street and a couple from downtown. Breakfast its included (coffee and some fruit) which is acceptable. You can walk outside and find good traditional food. Do not expect a great wifi.. but its acceptable just to update and share your pictures!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015
Google Translation

Hola Muchas gracias por tu buen comentario, un abrazo para ti

Esperamos que vuelvas a visitarnos

saludos cordiales

fabian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We had a great time at this hostel. It's really well designed with lovely double private rooms. The staff were super friendly and the whole place had a great atmosphere. It was a great location as well, close to all of the good spots in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights and 2 days.

First day they were out of gas. I could not cook. I washed rice to start cooking but I learned they are out of gas when I turned on the stove. They informed me that they will get gas tomorrow. Well, that screwed up my mood and dinner.

Second day, they were out of water. I cooked meal int he kitchen, almost finished eating, and I learned that they are out of water. I have to wait couple of hours for the water to be available. Have to wait long to do the dishes. After meal, I planned to take shower and hit the trail to explore the city in the evening. I could not take shower as I could have been late to catch the movie in the evening. After the sightseeing at the canon, the stinky me went out that night. ;-)

They seemed pretty disorganized. The second day for the breakfast they did not setup bread slices in the dining room.

The bunk bed on the top were so uncomfortable and crappy. I have to migrate on the bunk bed below. I am lucky I could as they were not so busy.

Not the best place to meet people. Here people check in to do some yoga.

Yoga sessions are awesome. I did two yoga sessions on one day with Carlos. He is a great teacher. I enjoyed the yoga session. I would recommend this place just for yoga. But one can also stay in other hostels or anywhere else, and come just for yoga session (I think, not sure though - check yourself). They have a minimum donation of 50 pesos which is quite reasonable.

The information provided were very minimal. The language was a big barrier. Overall, it was okay in terms of getting some information from the staff.

There is ample of space to hangout and do your thing, and relax in the common area.

I like the decor of the hostel. Seems very eastern, hippiesh, religious, secular, peaceful, quite and blend of all. :-)


Ganesha is every in the hostel.

Room Tip: Pick the bunk bed at the bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlienTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Very cosy clean hostel. Loverly staff also! Loved our stay here as it is close to the centre and and great place to catch up on some rest. Definitely recommend! Nice little breakfast of fruits and tea and coffee. Wifi is good. Showers and toilets are good too!

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#56 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#37 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
33 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
96 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#41 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
36 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Maria Angelina
Hotel Maria Angelina
#62 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Posada

Address: Calle 28 de Agosto #23, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: RM83 - RM116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ganesha Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing