We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rossco Backpackers Hostel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel(San Cristobal de las Casas)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de Mama(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$69
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adobe Casa Hostal(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Anthara(San Cristobal de las Casas)
US$37
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Bela's B&B(San Cristobal de las Casas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Axkan Arte Hotel(San Cristobal de las Casas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Axkan Express(San Cristobal de las Casas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alojamiento San Marcos(San Cristobal de las Casas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
54
37
15
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
37
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrans blomresearch centerfree entry to the museumfranzartifactsfoundedfireplacepreservationgardenmayachiapasjaguarinspirationacademicpesos
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015

This is not a typical tourist hotel, but therein lies the charm. If you require service and amenities that US type lodgings offer you may not be happy here. There is no television, in room telephone or staff that are conversant in English. The hotel is a beautiful colonial building with loads of artistic detail and decoration. It in fact is one of the towns most famous museums. It was restored in the early 20th century by a European couple who dedicated their lives to the study of the indigenous tribes of the area and it houses their personal collection of artifacts and furnishings. The staff is not terribly well versed in service but are willing to please. Also it is a bit of a walk to town and the center of things, about 5-10 minutes. This makes it quiet but not overly convenient. A taxi costs 30 pesos (about $2) to go anywhere in town. The wifi was good. My room had a fireplace and jacuzzi. and was at the king suite.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We loved Na Bolom, which is more than just a hotel, for its character, history and role in the region. We had a room in the main house with a fireplace, which I recommend over the rooms in the "extension" in the garden. Hotel guests are entitled to a free (although we did tip him) guided tour of the museum which I highly recommend, so you know what you are looking at. The guide was a Na Bolom volunteer who had been involved with the center for many years and had stories about Trudi Blom, etc. Very interesting. Staying in Na Bolom added a great deal to our stay in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: Stay in main house for the character and better wifi.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariadna007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

The gardens, the rooms full of traditional furniture and great breakfasts are great. The fact that we did not have water at night for 3 nights was not good. The reception people are poorly trained but the maid was a great problem solver. I think they have the wrong people in the positions assignedThe waiter that served us every morning was lovely.
You are sleeping in a museum! How often can you do that?

Room Tip: Ask if the water is turned on
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kateCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

It's sad to see this historic and beautiful place being managed and run so poorly. While our room was richly historic and beautifully romantic, it was a sad state when the water stopped every night at about 10 pm. After two nights we finally moved to a different room (after an initial futile try at a room that also had no water) in order to find a room that truly had around the clock H2O! The Front Desk Staff were pleasant but not very knowledgeable or helpful and the people working there kept changing. If you asked a question, it was likely the person didn't know the answer and then they wouldn't be around to tell you the needed information if they said they'd look into it. No one seemed to pass on information to anyone else. It seemed like the staff were either friends and/or students who tended to "hand out" around the desk talking and working on homework rather than being true "Front Desk Staff". There was almost no one else staying there, so I can't imagine how it would be if it was truly busy? On a positive note, the restaurant staff (waiter and cook) were very nice and the food was quite good. The maid was very conscientious and seemed to be a person who took her job very seriously. This is a great building with an interesting array of pictures and artifacts. It's sad to see it being poorly managed.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

I just visit again Na Bolom Hotel: I just have to say that I confirm is the best place in San Cristobal to feel exactly what this town is. That's the big difference with other good hotels that might have modern amenities in town. In addition you have an interesting Museum, delicious food and a excellent service.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews