We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, good value”
Review of Casa Na Bolom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Na Bolom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in the museum and you get a free tour so you can't have a better way to see Casa Na Bolom than staying here. The hotel is clean and functional but basic. I highly recommend it! Make sure that you put your breakfast in the bill of the hotel and that you tell the people at checkout that breakfast is included. I did not do that so ended up paying for breakfast.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sheelm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Two nights two different rooms. Two very different experiences. Well worth it if you're staying in one of their suites w a fireplace. Here the rustic charm works and it's a pleasure. I don't recommend if you're staying in one of the basic rooms. The one I stayed in could use some TLC. I felt uncomfortable with the condition of the bathroom, the scratches on the door, the musty smell, the shared wall w a public bathroom and the holes in the curtain. On the other hand if you prefer charm and history over solid construction and clean finishes then you will be happy here. It's a beautiful property and I can understand why guests might want to turn a blind eye to these blemishes.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shachta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My wife ane I stayed five nights at this classic piece of history in San Cristobal. We stayed in the Oxchuc room, which is in the back of building. We fell in love with this hotel/musuem as soon as we walked through the main entrance. Everything on the inside is a piece of history - photographs, library, and dining area. We listened to a great pianist, Seth Montfort, and met very nice travelers from all over the world. Our room was very cute - the bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and hot. Breakfast was on-point and the coffee was spectacular. San Cristobal is an amazing historic city and I would highly recommond Na Bolom to anyone who was going to visit Chiapas.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Na Bolom takes your breath away with the history behind the hotel and cultural center, founded by 2 Europeans more than 60 years ago. Since then Na Bolom have supported the local indigenous population in numerous ways and there is an interesting museum and a big library available with a lot of unique books and writings on lacandon jungle and indigenous population and maya cultures available for the public, many books on these subjects were written by the founders. The hotel is cosy and the rooms have the charm and uniqueness of having been private rooms of Frans and Trudy the founders long time ago, we were so lucky to stay in Trudy's study room. They have an excellent cook and food is delicious and the attention of waiters and people working there is always very nice and personal. There are many volunteers working there and helping Na Bolom and without their dedication and guests visiting the museum and hotel this amazing hotel and cultural center could not go on. We highly highly recommend you visit Na Bolom to go in the footsteps of Frans and Trudy and support the great deeds that Na Bolom has done and continue to do. It is a really charming and beautiful place with a special historic feel.

1  Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This was one of the coziest hotels that I've ever stayed in. Rustic, lots of greenery all around us and the friendliest staff. The guided tour of the museum (included with your stay) was very thorough and informative. It is good to see that they are continuing the legacy that Trudy and Frans Blom started. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel H. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
295 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Provincia
Hotel Provincia
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
30 reviews
1.1 km away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Na Bolom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Na Bolom

Address: Avenida Vicente Guerrero 33 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: RM202 - RM308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Na Bolom 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the tradition initiated by Gertrude Duby, Na Bolom also offers rooms for our guests. Each one of the 16 rooms is an extension of the museum, decorated individually with old furniture, artwork, textiles and photographs from the indigenous villages of Chiapas . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Na Bolom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Na Bolom Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing