We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
176
135
54
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
135
54
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroom was nicely furnishedbeautiful hotelcolonial stylesmall windowbreakfast buffetsan cristobalreception stafftwo double bedsthird floorwithin walking distanceplenty of hot watermain plazanoiseblockdusthacienda
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Our group of 10 stayed at Sombra del Agua for 5 nights while touring the area. Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the main plaza. There is a beautiful patio area in the center of the hacienda where people can meet and visit. Room was very clean and beds were comfy. Towels were large and bed linens good quality. The hotel is recently being renovated/updated so there was noise during the day along with some dust on the exterior hallways which would be expected. Very quiet at night. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a different variety of dishes every morning. Service was also excellent. There is no elevator, so if you are not on the first floor, be prepared to have a bellman take your luggage up for you, which they are most happy to do. AC worked but did not seem to dehumidify so our particular room seemed damp each morning. There was plenty of hot water for showering which is not always the case in Mexican hotels. Would love to stay at Sombra del Agua again.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you do not want to carry your luggage up the stairs. No elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Well, good location, no parking, poor reception. Room with no ventilation. No elevator, so if you have luggage, old or handicapped beware if you are in the third floor. Breakfast buffet not bad. Peak times full. Not nice and will not recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Location near center of everything. Our group was there 7 days during the first week of December. The only issue arose on our last night, when there was a party booked in a ballroom directly over our rooms. Many of our group were housed on the 2nd floor, and up on the 3rd floor, we heard and felt every dance step and thump of LOUD music. Partying didn't stop 'til 5am. No sleep for us! Clearly NOT the fault of the partyers - but of Front Desk who failed to looked to see if there were guests beneath the party room.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Erarmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Sombra del Agua is well located a couple of blocks from the central plaza and other places of interest.

It's a colonial era building, although the wing at the back where our room was located was clearly a newer addition.

The room was nicely furnished but a bit too small for my liking. We didn't need two double beds. I had booked through one of these hotel websites. Annoyingly, it did not give me any other option than this type of room, but I later saw on the hotel's own website that there were other options. There have junior suites which were cheaper if booking direct, than ours had been though booking.com. My own fault for not checking I suppose. Bathroom was quite acceptable, with hot and powerful shower. Not something to be taken for granted.

Internet was patchy, connection seemed to come and go.

Reception staff were fairly friendly and helpful.

I would consider staying here again. If I was to return to San Cristóbal, which is still beautiful, even if it has become a bit Disneyland over the years.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo D, Director de Recepción at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hello Supadappa....

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of Sombra del Agua, your opinion is very important for us because our goal is improve our services, we regret that you has had problems with the Internet I can assure you that we will get working on that and we hope you can give us a second oppurtunity to offer you our best service.

Greetings and we will be waiting for you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The hotel is nice and clean. some rooms are a bit dark but in overall is a nice place.
Very good location, clean, and the staff is very friendly.
Prices are good for waht they offer
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariau273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo D, Director de Recepción at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much! we really appreciate your opinion and we are happy to know that you have stay confortable and we made you feel like a home. Hope you come back very soon.

Best regards,
Staff Sombra del Agua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews