We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FOOD! Everything exceeds your expectations.”

The Bears Den International Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 1,111 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: US$15 - US$41
Description: Our philosophy is a simple one: Quality over Quantity. Our menu is internationally inspired with hints of Mexican cuisine on every plate. We truly believe in sourcing the best ingredients possible, everything on the plate is there for a specific reason. Think of an orchestra, if every musician is great, but one is out of tune, it ruins the whole experience. So we concentrate on flavors over bland ; refinement over generic; and audacity over conventional. It’s what we do that defines us and it’s our passion that drives us!
Restaurant details
Description: Our philosophy is a simple one: Quality over Quantity. Our menu is internationally inspired with hints of Mexican cuisine on every plate. We truly believe in sourcing the best ingredients possible, everything on the plate is there for a specific reason. Think of an orchestra, if every musician is great, but one is out of tune, it ruins the whole experience. So we concentrate on flavors over bland ; refinement over generic; and audacity over conventional. It’s what we do that defines us and it’s our passion that drives us!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I think this is the best restaurant i've had the chance to try in Cancun. The food is absolutely spectacular and the service really makes the visit even more delightful. I've had the chance to eat there twice and both were wonderful gastronomic experiences. Can't wait to go back. I need a fix of those chicken dumplings in Thai Soup (AN ABSOLUTE MUST) The plating of every plate is a work of art and there is a balance of high quality ingredients in every detail and every flavour. You can get a flight of high-end whisky, craft beer, good wine and the waiters are really well trained in the menu. The raspberry-black pepper sorbet that was served with our dessert was out of this world. Chef Chris and all the staff really make you feel pampered and happy and will visit your table often enough to make sure you have everything you need.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alex_ancona82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher v, Owner at The Bears Den International Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

alex_ancona82, Thank you so much for your lovely review! we are so happy you like the chicken dumplings but be warned we do change the menu every few months, so they may not be here on another visit. always check the website for menu changes and our recent promotions.

Thanks again for choosing The Bears Den.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I booked a table for two on Facebook and asked for vegan option. The chef prepared 4 course meal for me. My spouse has food allergies too and her dishes were tweaked.
Great personal service and food. Random downtown location.

Thank Jiri Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher v, Owner at The Bears Den International Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Jiri Ed H, Thank you for your lovely review, it always makes it easier for the kitchen to prepare something for dietary restrictions when a reservation is made, thank you for that. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us.

Again thank you for choosing The Bears Den.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Chef/Owner Chris is a culinary genius! We enjoyed 6 amazing small plates plus dessert. Every plate was a work of art. Each bite danced in my mouth. We started with the Salt Roasted Beet salad featuring goat cheese, toasted crickets and bee pollen & Charred Poblano soup. The flavors were well balanced and not too spicy. We followed the starters with seared tuna and beef carpaccio. The seared tuna was accompanied with the Chef's creation of a tapioca and nori cracker...genius! The Arancini and Karobuta pork belly rounded out our dinner selections. The pear stuffed gorgonzola white chocolate cheesecake with balsamic gelato was my favorite bite of the night. The flavors were so unexpected and perfect! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant. The food and service were fantastic!

Thank Elaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher v, Owner at The Bears Den International Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Elaine V, thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Again thank you for choosing The Bears Den.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We went to lunch at the Bears Den and it was every bit as great as we expected from the reviews.

It starts with attentive service and an interesting menu. Expect to take a few minutes to decide what to choose...it all looks interesting.

I chose the Pumpkin Ravioli and every bite was fantastic and interesting. An interesting mix of flavors that really worked with together. Also interesting was the mix of textures from the crispy Parmesan flavored "chip" on top to the tasty spinach bed and slightly chewy handmade ravioli.

My daughter had the Buffalo Burger. It sounds like the standard "kid plate" but was really special. The meet was tastier than I can ever remember in a burger. More like an interesting steak. The fries were also surprisingly good seasoned just right with a little bit of Parmesan.

And to top it all off, the food was almost too beautiful to eat.

We hope to go back in the next couple of days!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher v, Owner at The Bears Den International Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you so much TripAffine for your lovely comments, we are so happy you all enjoyed your experience with us, and we hope to see you soon!

Again thank you from The Bears Den!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Wow, wow, wow!!! We discovered this restaurant while looking for something to eat. We were going crazy reading the menu. We ordered 4 different appetizers, 4 main courses and 4 desserts and shared everything. Not one thing disappointed. Everything was fabulous!!! Including the service and personal attention to detail by chef Christopher Vallieres. My personal favorites: appetizer: Korobuta Porkbelly; main corse: Leg of Lamb Pot roast, and for dessert, the chocolate covered pear stuffed with Gorgonzola and balsamic ice cream. Highly recommended and will definitely return!!!

1  Thank EddieVTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher v, Owner at The Bears Den International Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you so much EddieVTC for your lovely comments, we are so happy to hear you and your family had a great experience with us, and we hope to see you soon.

Again thank you from The Bears Den team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bears Den International Kitchen also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Bears Den International Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing