We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home away from Home ...”
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Palace
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Again , I will say what a great time we had for our stay in Sun Palace . Can't thank the staff enough from arriving seeing Joel welcoming us back to all the wait staff and friends through the years , Luis , Manula have some pretty good workers who are above and beyond . The food was awesome in Trotta ! The entertainment is always good ,the beach staff work there butts off for you , the points system .... if you don't use it shame on you ! show me a resort offering that . Keep up the great job we'll be back home in april .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zapperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

To be described as your home away from home is very fulfilling. I couldn't ask for a more meaningfull report.

It never ceases to amaze me how many of my patrons have such a beautifull disposition and easily enjoy everything and anything.

I guess living is an art. But knowing how to make the best of it is a gift of the Gods.

Will be looking for you in April.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,074 - 4,078 of 6,175 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just came back from Sun Palace in Cancun. What a great experience ! This was not our first time, we keep coming back. Very friendly staff excellent service. Especially helpful the front desk manager Jaime Ortega.The location is perfect with breath taking views. You can do a lot of activities or if you prefer just to relax this the perfect place. We highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Irene987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back last night from an amazing vacation at the Sun Palace! It was our first time in Cancun and we absolutely loved it. I read tons of reviews of the resort on Trip Advisor before we left so that I could feel prepared for what to expect. The majority of the reviews on here are spot on. My opinion on the resort is as follows:

Rooms: We had an amazing ocean view room that overlooked the activity pool as well. It was wonderful to wake up to that view every morning. We asked if we could upgrade our room and we were originally assigned to room 833, but after asking for the upgrade were moved to room 828. I'm a bit confused as to whether that was actually an upgrade or not as it was only a few doors down. We wanted to upgrade to concierge and asked the front desk for 2 days, but none were available. However, we noticed another couple that checked in at the same time as us that had the lower level rooms and they were upgraded a day later. I guess it's luck of the draw? Although it would have been nice to be able to enjoy all of the amenities offered at the concierge level, we were perfectly happy with our room on the 8th floor! Definitely try to use your points to upgrade if you can!

Beach/Pool: The beach was absolutely beautiful! You have to get out there pretty early (730am) if you want to get chairs with an umbrella. I think that this is technically frowned upon; however, when everyone else is doing it, you feel you have no choice if you want a good seat with an umbrella! The servers on the beach are very friendly and come around often to get your drink orders. The pools are really nice as well, but we never had luck getting seats up there.

Drinks: Very good! if you want top shelf liquor, make sure to ask for it.

Food: The food was delicious and there was a lot of variety to choose from. We liked the Asian restaurant the best and ate there twice. We had Hugo as our server both times and he is an absolute gem as is Carmen at the hostess stand. The Italian restaurant was great as well, make sure you ask for a Mayan coffee to go with your dessert! The Steak was our least favorite. I ordered grouper and it had no flavor at all and the selection at the buffet was lacking in my opinion. The Mexican restaurant in the evening was delicious and the service was great as well. The breakfast and lunch buffets were great everyday with a great selection. Here is my only complaint in regards to the food: one day I ordered some food from the grill station and the employee that made my food sneezed into her hand and then continued to handle the food (with no gloves on) without washing her hands. The very next day I ordered chicken tacos at the grill and the same employee handled raw meat and then proceeded to touch my tortillas for the tacos directly after handling the raw meat. I was very off-put by both incidents.

Room Service: Wonderful! We ordered breakfast 2 mornings and additional room service two other times. They are very quick and efficient with your orders.

Entertainment: A bit lacking, but we really enjoyed both the Caribbean and Retro shows. The dancers were fantastic! The entertainment staff does a good job of trying to get people involved and were very friendly.

Spa: Wonderful! We used our resort credits for a couples massage and it was very relaxing.

Front Desk/Booking Appointments: For some reason, any time you had to make an appointment (tours, spa, pictures) it seemed you had to wait for a long time while the person behind the desk tapped away at the computer. You would think they would have a pretty organized computer system within the resort, but I've never had to wait so long to make appointments for anything.

Resort Credits: I'm not sure why some people say they had a difficult time using these. We used almost all of our resort credits on our room upgrade, swimming with dolphins, couples massage, pictures and upgraded wine list. They are VERY easy to use!

Overall, we had a really great experience at the Sun Palace and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to go on vacation in Cancun!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SDlovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We celebrated Valentines Day 2012 at the Sun Palace and had an incredible time! Everything was perfect, what a great place!

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor jacuzis and some are indoor. Some have large balconies with beds and some ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I visited Cancun and the Sun Palace for the past week and had a very enjoyable time. The highlights and notable experiences included:

The beach. Great!!!! Beautiful sand great water and waves large enough to have fun in without getting hurt. Splurging on the concierge level would be a good upgrade for the better beach chairs if the beach is your thing.

The food. Overall very good with this ranging from excellent (the beach dinner) to average (Italian) based on our tastes.

The service. One word - superb!! Great on all counts with Vanessa from the entertainment team being particularly notable.

The location. Close to the airport and very accessible to the main hotel strip for other activities if desired.

Resort credits. Make sure that you inquire about these AT THE TIME of check in. We learned about these on the third day and missed a Valentines Day dinner and were unable to fully utilize them due to this. Overall a good deal once you understand what you can do with these.

The overall resort is relatively quiet (just what we wanted and expected) as the crowd is primarily couples 30 to 50 years of age. If you are looking for a party place, you may not want to select this location. We love the adult’s only aspect of the resort as the last three vacations we have pursued this format and having kids of our own further makes us appreciate this part of the break from reality.

The rooms. Very good overall with great views from the upper levels (we were on the 8th and top floor). The liquor dispenser in the room is a great touch!

Overall a great week and we would return to a palace resort without hesitation.

Room Tip: Bed's are slightly harder than we like, but the rooms have a GREAT air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frogandgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
9.6 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,951 reviews
5.3 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
8.1 km away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#17 of 177 in Cancun
6,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,497 reviews
5.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
9,909 reviews
10.9 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: RM1,468 - RM2,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing