We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,665)
Filter reviews
11,665 results
Traveller rating
2,805
3,080
2,236
1,327
2,217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,805
3,080
2,236
1,327
2,217
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coyote loco younger crowd party atmosphere a lot of fun coco bongo shows careyes circus blast carlos
Filter
Updating list...
4,513 - 4,518 of 11,665 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The resort was fine. Our complaint was that there are too few food/bar locations for the amount of guest staying at this resort. We always ended up in the buffet because either there wasn't availablity in the sit down restaurants or there was over an hour wait. Also the bars & restaurants all closed early, by midnight all you could get was burgers & watered down orange juice. But the rooms its self were fine and clean & the front desk staff & restaurant servers were also friendly (can't say the same about the bartenders).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went to Cancun and we had a great time in this hotel. We were lucky since the first day somebody told us we could use not only this hotel but also others that belong to the same group. We used the beach of this hotel just one day, since there are other better beaches in the other hotels. Almost every day we took the public bus (not even 1 dollar per trip) and went to others hotels from the same group. We always ask for a wrist band as soon as we got to the hotels and also were able to eat there. This hotel is also very near one ferry station and you can walk to take the ferry (by yourself) to Isla Mujeres and spend the day there. The rooms were clean, and the food was ok. The shows at night we not great but ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, Manager at Grand Oasis Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, we are pleased to know that your were more than happy and enjoyed all our services, which every day makes us improve more and more to achieve the complete satisfaction of all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

On last vacation We sated in Oasis cancun Hotel , my reservation from Colombias was made byOver zepellin tarvel agency , and delegate to Nomadas tavel agency . Our experience was worse because the location hotel was dark , non confitiones air in the lobby and tne bell boy inexistent . The room was destructed and no contain towels , soap .
I went to front desk and no obtain solution .
In the nigth We a walked in the hotel complex and tne other hottels from the complex were different , inmediatly cancel first hoyetl and translate to the gran oaisis where the expeience was excelent , its and beatiful hotel , the food is excelent and the service is excelent

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osussmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I will start off by saying that no amount of money savings over another hotel will get me to stay there again.
Check In: The check in could have been the worst part of all. We arrived at about 4pm, there were three lines, one for check out, check in, and one for people who already checked in and their room wasn't ready and had to pick up keys. Thank god we chose the right one, because there was no signage explaining it.
We had four people (rooms) ahead of us in line when we got there and we waited over an hour and a half sweating our butts off in the very hot lobby before it was our turn to "start" our check in process. It was mind boggling how backwards and slow they did things. It took 45 minutes for them to complete our check in only to tell us they haven't cleaned our room yet. They said it would take 30 more minutes to clean the room and we asked them to just put us in a clean room, seems simple right, not quite, we were already assigned to "that" room and they couldn't change us. They said they had zero rooms they could put us in, I couldn't help but to ask why they didn't call at the beginning of our 45 minute check in to see if the room was clean. Clearly they weren't trained to think that far ahead. After another 15 minutes with the supervisor they finally backed down and gave us a clean room, they took a pen and crossed out our old room number with our new one on the check in folio, so hard.

The room: For being in the pyramid tower, their best room, it was ok at best. The bathroom was gross and smelled, the room was old and outdated.

The staff: The staff overall was nice, the bar staff often ignored us for periods of time, eventhough we were tipping after every drink.

The hotel: The hotel at night became extremely loud making almost impossible to sleep or nap, from the drums beating echoing through the pyramid to people coming back slamming doors and screeching shoes, everything echos.
We woke up our first morning around 7am, ate breakfast and headed to the pool in hopes to get one of the beds that you could relax on only to find people sleeping on them with their clothes on from the night before. Is no one kicking them out? The outside pool areas were not appealling at all, run down and outdated.

The food: Again the food was just ok, we only ate the buffets and we found things we could eat.

To sum it up, we checked out of Grand Oasis at 10am our first morning there and went a couple hotels down to the Marriott Casa Magma and had a great experience. Night and day doesn't even come close to summing up the difference between to two. having stayed at 20 something hotels in Cancun, Grand Oasis was by far the worst. If for nothing else, we got to the Marriott at about 10:30am that morning and were in our room by 10:45am, and was given an upgrade.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. Be careful when you check out. They tried to charge us for services we never received. Staff was not friendly, room was dirty. We had to call twice for towels. After reading the reviews I was sure it wasn't as bad as others were saying, I was very wrong it is as bad as other travelers reviews state. Stay away - don't waste your money! This place is a ripoff.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cricket999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews