We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Caribe
Ranked #46 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Went here for 2 weeks in march 2012 with my wife. Overall, had a really nice time and would go back again. Week one was slightly crazy as it seemed popular with spring breakers but week 2 was a lot quieter.

Main plus points:
-Really hard working and polite staff in both the entertainment team and main restaurant
- Great service around the pool and on the beach in terms of drinks brought to you and constantly refilled
-Large variety of food choice and good quality. given we were there 2 weeks we never got bored

Not so great points:
- As hard as the staff work the evening entertainment shows are just a bit naff
- The individual restaurants arent great. only the steak house is table service and bizarrely, the mexican restaurant was truly awful. the mexican night in the main restaurant was 100 times better. we preferred to just eat in the main restaurant each night

Awful point: the attitude of the reception staff was shocking. i had my resort towel stolen from the private beach and went to report it in order to get another towel. i was told as it was my responsibility i had to pay $20 for another! I explained it had been stolen and the charge policy clearly stated i should pay if the towel was lost, not stolen. The receptionist said i should have kept an eye on it, even when walking or swimming in the sea! This went on for ages until i turned into mr angry and strangely they then agreed to give me another towel.

A simple tip should your towel be stolen- behind the towel hut is a huge pile of towels to be washed. just take one of these and exchange it for a towel card, and then for a fresh towel. this will save you dealing with the pathetic reception staff who are put to shame by the staff in all the other areas of the hotel. To argue with me over 20 dollars when we paid 2.5 thousand quid was infuriating! Rant over.

Aside from this one issue we had no other problems and overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,499
    2,430
    851
    359
    284
See reviews for
1,693
2,898
79
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just returned from our trip to Cancun and the Riu Caribe. Four adult women in 2 rooms. We booked an all inclusive package and upgraded our rooms to a Junior Suite. Thanks to a comment from an earlier post, I was vary of being given an older room which is called a junior suite. I told the hotel the room did not look like the internet photos of a Junior Suite and was given a corner room. It is about 25% larger, with a double sized balcony. The bathroom has two sinks and larger shower. What a difference!

Food - we ate at the main buffet 3 times, the Asian restaurant once and the steak house once. The main buffet was very good, the food was plentiful and the service outstanding. The Asian was marginal. It is buffet style and the choice was fairly limited. We skipped our reservation at the Mexican restaurant as it appeared to be fajitas. The steak house... This is the only restaurant with table service and is outdoors. Those who had the rib eye said it was one of the best they had ever tasted, I was not overly impressed with the strip steak but had to send it back to get it more well done. One friend had the chicken and was throwing up all the next day. We believe it was due to the chicken, as no one else was sick.

Pool - we did not spend much time at the pool, it was spring break and as expected, it was crowded. There was entertainment, volleyball games, aerobics, kids games and music. Just not what we wanted, plenty of others enjoyed this.

Beach - shade is at a premium in the mornings, but plentiful in the afternoons. We got up super early the last two mornings and scored seats in the secluded area on the beach to the right (with the hotel behind you). The allowed us to have sun and shade as we liked and less crowded. It felt like we were on a private beach.

The lobby bar is a great place for free wifi so tends to have people in it at all hours. The drinks are abundant and the bar staff is nice.

Spa and Gym - We had a "couples beach massage" and it was amazing. The gym is good, but opens at 7:00 a.m. (as does the buffet breakfast, priorities...). There are several treadmills (4), a StairMaster, stationary bike, rowing machine and elliptical. There is also weight equipment.

Overall a great experience, as long as you are not expecting the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Corner suites are much roomier with double sink in the bathroom. However, the x06 and x07 (i.e. 406...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_H_513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Riu Caribe sits on one of the best beaches for swimming in Cancun. We had green flags several days which differs significantly from what we had at other hotels. While the hotel is a little outdated, overall it's a good value for the money spent. This was our second time to this hotel and the experience was similar on both trips. We heard the hotel is closing for a refurb once the new Riu next door opens so likely they'll address the few cons listed below. They appear to be working 24/7 on the new Riu but the noise wasn't too bad even in the evening.

Pros:
The staff is overall very friendly and take customer service seriously. Check-in was fairly quick when considering we were a large group. We were able to get rooms in advance of 3:00 check-in. The restaurant and bar staff do a great job keeping glasses full. Kudos especially to Enrique (Mexican restaurant) & Jesus (beach front).

The view from the guest rooms is spectacular. Given the proximity to Playa Tortugas, there's a never-ending parade of catamarans, sail boats etc. We loved seeing the pirate cruise each night as well as the twinkling lights from Isla Mujares.

Our room was cleaned well every day, thanks Margarita. We asked for additional pillows our first day and got them within 15 minutes of our request.

The indoor buffet is much better than the outdoor buffet. Food selection is good and they kept it pretty well stocked. We thought the seafood and Mexican nights had the best options. Be sure to try the pizza at the outdoor bar by the scuba pool.

Cons:
The reservation process for the restaurants is the worst we've seen at any hotel so far. You line up very early to make reservations for the next two days. Despite many no shows for the current day meals it's almost impossible to get in without a significant tip for the maitre d.

The spa could use updating. For example, a Vichy shower would be a welcome addition for the body treatments that require showering. Asking guests to move through the spa covered in mud with the never attractive spa panty/ bra and a towel takes away from an otherwise pleasant experience. It's difficult to remove mud from your back by yourself!

The showers in the guest rooms can be dangerous. A step stool is used to enter and the lip is approximately 18" wide, requiring guests to use the handicap bars for balance.

The lobby band should consider adjusting its volume to accommodate the reverb from the hard surfaces. Because the volume is so loud it takes away from the quality of the performances.

We only wanted for snack options during the non-meal hours. While tortilla chips and cheese are good occasionally it would be great to have nuts, popcorn, potato chips available.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing room in center of building so that you have the large balcony. Also ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelgranbyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Visited this resort for the 2nd time in Dec.2011 and found it to be better than the 1st time. Nice rooms had all been redone. Food had improved from 1st visit. Entertainment was fun. Good vaca spot for young couples not so much for middle aged group. Staff all very friendly. Clean but not fancy.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite and specify out on the end for the best rooms with a terrace and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We returned on March 26 and wanted to share our experience with your readers. Prior to our Vacation we read many of the letters on you website. After reading we did not know what to expect. We have stayed at several RIU's in the last several years. We did come away with a very high opinion of the RIU's Caribe resort. Nicolas (general manager) and his entire staff did a professional job running a large resort. The staff worked long and hard to keep their guests happy and the resort clean. The bountiful food always was tasty as expected since they market to Europeans, who demand good food at the resorts they stay at. Our maid kept our room clean and tidy every day as did the grounds crew. Things that we would like to see for a future visit, an area around the pool where we could listen to music all day without the bleed over from the entertainment crew and their activities. There were some guests we observed throwing drinks in the pool and some food. This was a few people who do not have better training from their parents. On a better note snorkeling was good on the right side of the beach by a man made jetty under water. and it would be nice to have American Cable news available which is not right wing "fox" does not do it for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGL1022brewcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.4 km away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
643 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 175 in Cancun
9,868 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,111 reviews
1.2 km away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#75 of 175 in Cancun
2,842 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Oasis Palm
Grand Oasis Palm
#49 of 175 in Cancun
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Caribe

Property: Hotel Riu Caribe
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price range (per night): RM892 - RM2,020
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cancun's resort area. 9-Story building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 3 Km. /1.9 Miles from a shopping center. 4,5 Km/2.5 Miles from downtown Cancun. 21 Km/13.1 Miles to Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Real Cancun
Grand Caribe Cancun
Grand Caribe Real Cancun
Riu Caribe Resort Cancun
Riu Caribe Cancun Mexico
Riu Caribe Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing