We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go now before it catches on!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets The Vine Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go now before it catches on!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Greeted out of our taxi with cold towels to cool us down. Bags taken by a doorman who welcomed us home and told us to start relaxing. We were not to worry about our bags or anything else for that matter. Entered up a beautiful staircase to an elegant lobby with a view of the ocean. Escorted to the concierge where we were greeted with two glasses of champagne. So far big WOW. Taken to the lounge area by a hospitality member where we were "introduced" to the resort and its amenities. (agreed to go to 90 minute presentation following day at 10am which we never did). This is was probably the only negative I can say about the trip. It felt a little pushy and presumptious and left us feeling uncomfortable. We were tired (flight had been delayed from JFK) and hungry and this took about half hour!
Escorted to the elevator and found our room on the 19th floor. Beautiful & modern with a rainfall shower and large balcony. Luggage arrived and gentleman showed us around the room. Mini fridge with soft drinks, beer and water. Coffee percolator. Iron, hair dryer, safe etc. Oh and the beds!! The BEST sleep I have ever had and I do not sleep ever through the night. I actually wrote to them to find out what type of mattress and pillows they use!
Very Happy!
The staff: EVERYONE was ALWAYS happy& pleasant, even the window washer greeted us with a good morning. The gentleman watering the plants rushed to move the hose out of my way, the buffet hostesses placed our napkins on our laps, the waiters were funny and entertaining if you engaged with them and left you alone if you didn't. Our waiter one morning at the "buffet" one morning plate to my table! I wish I remembered all of their names cos they were great!!
And then the Entertainment Staff: Winnie the Pooh, Alan and David were AMAZING! Thank you guys!They recognized everyone and knew almost everyone's names. They were there morning noon & night! All sorts of pool sports, dance lessons, beach sports, spanish lessons and then in the evening fabulous entertainment such as circus performers, duelling pianos, breakdancers, Elvis impersonators and so on. The evenings at the hotel end early but the hard working crew organizes trips to local hot spots and they go with you! just amazing. I have to say they probably made our stay so memorable.
Christian, the bartender at the Manatee Bar, made friends with my husband so the drinks kept flowing most days, Blanca and Marco were the servers by the pool and were so professional and always around when you needed them. Towel service was impeccable, if your towel was wet they gave you a new one. Helped you with the umbrellas and anything else you needed. They grilled by the pool at lunch time so yo could make your own tacos and fajitas! Amazing! Also the chefs did a daily presentation around noon each day of passed hors d'oeuvres. One day one of them even went fully clothed into the pool to serve the swimmers!
The pools are small and intimate. No in pool, swim up bar but we didn't mind cos the service was so good.
The restaurants were very nice except for the Blue Grill. This as probably just a personal taste issue though as they used smoke in alot of their dishes and my husband & I found it over powering. We LOVED the Italian restaurant and ate their twice, The Asian restaurant was great too, Olio was great but we felt the waiter was pushing for us to buy a bottle of wine (bottles are not included). Sea Salt and Sugar Reef were great for lunch. And of course the breakfast buffet was to die for. Including make your own mimosas and bloody marys!! There really was something for everyone.
The bars were on the quiet side but the bartenders were great. The piano bar is fabulous and a shame it wasn't busier, same with the sports bar, really great feel to it. The lobby bar was the only one we ever saw busy other than the pool bars of course, oh and there is a beach bar also!
Overall, we LOVED this place and the people (staff) made it all the more better. We would definitely recommend for a couples vacation but I don't think it will stay at this price. It has a high end boutique feel that is intimate and welcoming. Go now before it catches on! LOVE LOVE LOVE

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lillycheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,060
    1,205
    369
    115
    70
See reviews for
564
5,201
216
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We've just returned from a 2 week stay in a preferred club room. We had a bargain package holiday that included the 'preferred' upgrade and after seeing the standard rooms I'm pleased we had the extra space, amenities and better view. If we were paying night rates and staying for a shorter period I really wouldn't bother though.

Every aspect of the holiday was amazing and in the most exceeded our expectations. The Food, service, everything was as close to perfection as one can expect.

There are very minor teething problems but I've read so many negative comments I feel I need to put the negatives into perspective!!

1] Our room didn't have a bottle opener, one was delivered within 10 mins of asking.
2] The TV remote stopped working, a new one was delivered within 15 mins of asking.
3] The black out curtain isn't big enough for the wider preferred club room window but it's nice to wake up to that beautiful view.
4] It can be noisy at night but most of this is down to mouthy guests with a lack of respect walking through the corridors.

Every member of staff we came into contact with couldn't do enough to please us. They work tirelessly.

All in all, we would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I never write reviews, but this time I had to because this place is awesome. Yes it has its few things that are not perfect but what place is. Nothing in life is perfect but we should try to make the best of everything and we are the ones who can either have a great time or have a terrible time. I am a very impatient person and I am not complaining about this place. I dont care who I offend but those that wrote bad reviews or complained about the dumbest things get a life. geez liquour is not top notch , smells , not enoug entertainment, blah blah blah. Did you pay a lot of money not really . You want royalty treatment go to Buckingham Palace since you must be royalty. This place is new , it has its things to work out. I was able to see they tried there best to make everyone happy and accomadate everyones needs. good food , nice place. overall good job. I had a good time. The pools were nice , the room itself no complaints . They just need to work on the noise but I am sure they will. I will definetely return. And to the complainers , stop being so darn picky. Enjoy life its not perefect geez. GOOD JOB Secrets.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is our second secrets resort and it was amazing!!!! The staff were great, hotel was beautiful, food was tasty, drinks was awesome, and the beach was nice! We celebrated my husbands birthday and they went out ouf their was to one to remember! Don't listen to negative reviews who look for one fork to be out of place at the dinner setting....vacations are what YOU make of them and of you want to be miserable than you will be!......keep in mind the jut opened so the are well on there way and open for feed back.

if i was one suggestion that would be for some night club action at night!!! some people dont want to go on the strip to go dancing so it would be nice to have the option at the hotel.

Room Tip: go for a suites .... worth the money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KellzGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

First of all I want to personally thank everyone at the vine for making my honeymoon so special. There is nothing bad that I could say about this place, it's wonderful! The food is delicious. The rooms are specious and out of this world and the service was so great I did not want to come back to the united states. Everyone on the 21 floor is great especially Victor. He should really be promoted because his customer service is by far the best ever. We made it a priority to come see him everyday and say hello. Also the guy working the bar inside by the gift shop and the sandwich table was also great. He was always pleasant and attentive to me and my wife's needs at the bar. For anyone travaling to cancun there should be no other resort u stay a besides the vine. P.S you can drink the water :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 7000429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
4.3 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,567 reviews
2.0 km away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
0.8 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,556 reviews
20.0 km away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
5.7 km away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price range (per night): RM1,563 - RM3,720
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing