We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TheBest”

The City Discotheque
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Skip the Line: The City Nightclub Open Bar in Cancun
More Info
US$89.99*
and up
VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
The City VIP Night Out in Cancun
Ranked #4 of 53 Nightlife in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It is the biggest club in Latin America, great possibilities to do everything you ever wanted.There's no other place like The City Nightclub. Its particular world class and fun atmosphere make it the perfect location for the Party Addicts.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Been there twice and had the time of my life! Its a nightclub with three levels which makes it very special.To me, is the best nightclub in Cancun. Super recommend it! The music and the lights are amazing. It's a good place to go with friends and probably make new friends there too ! :D It's a must !! Totally worth spending the night there! Have fun!!

Thank Carolina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017

I do usually not write reviews but due to the very bad experience we had here, this marks an exception. The reason is that we spent around 100 USD per person for nothing and I would like to keep other people from doing the same: Three friends and I very looking forward to a great night in the largest club in Latin America. We were all excited to see DJ Snake. When we arrived at the venue it was very crowded already. We got our wrist bands and were guided to one of the many queues which formed in front of "The City". If this was in fact the right queue we never managed to find out... People were standing all over the place there was no information on where one had to go with what kind of wristband. Something which in my opinion for a club this size it is a must! It must have been known to them that many people were expected to come (already based on the ticket sales).
Once in the queue we somehow tried to make our way to the entrance. Eventually it was not possible to go either back or forth. Everyone was stuck. For around 90 minutes we waited there. The bouncers could not control the situation, they hit one person in the face so that he was bleeding and they repeatedly held their tasers in the air which made the crowd even more nervous.
One can only be happy that the crowd did not panic completely or a fire broke out. This would have most certainly not have been pretty, neither inside nor outside the club. It feels like the management does only want to maximize profits not caring to in anyway about people or their safety. Certainly, I will not go back there again spending a lot of money and risking my life for nothing.

3  Thank fl02101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear fl02101, 
 
Thank you very much for contacting us and we are truly sorry to know your experience was not as expected. 
 
Indeed The City was at maximum capacity on this evening, due to which admission to the club took longer than usual. 
However, we can assure you that all necessary safety measures were taken to assure the security of all our valuable guests. 
 
Please rest assured that we have shared your comment with club management for their review and consideration in order to continue improving our party experience. 
 
One again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
RB 
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I have been here twice now. Most recently I went to The City's once-a-year "Foam Madness party." The Him, Djs from the Netherlands, performed also. It was not overly-packed (on some nights when there is a big name it is, however), but there was a perfect amount of people. We were on the second level in the VIP section with After Dark Entertainment....ESTEBAN is the best waiter. Having been out in Cancun before, I know the waiters in clubs expect tips and we brought a few hundred dollars between 21 people, but Esteban was not pushy at all. He brought over bottles, drinks, shots all night. We tipped accordingly at the end. Please give him a raise or a promotion!

The foam was really cool. The way the club is set up you don't have to be in the foam if you don't want to but if you are dressed accordingly, it is super fun! The music from The Him was AWESOME. I was there all night until they closed - lol.

Thank you Esteban, The City and Grupo Mandala
for an AMAZING NIGHT!

Tips:
-if you have bottle service you can get Havana Club rum, Jose Cuervo or smirnoff, your waiter will switch it out to please you.
-If you have a group, book through an agency or tour provider to get bottle service for the same price as admission

Thank vermontflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I bought 2 Mandala tickets for City Cancun DJ Snake 3/14/17. Totaling $ 180 US .The club oversold tickets and closed the club and denied us and MANY other paid ticket holders. The paid line was told to leave, and if you did not, you were tased. Mandala ticket broker denies responsibility.This issue is now in a credit card dispute. Beware of this scam!!! They know what they are doing. DO NOT GO.

2  Thank penina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear penina3,

Thank you very much for contacting us and we are truly sorry to know regarding your experience.

Indeed The City was at maximum capacity on this evening, due to which admission to the club took longer than usual.
However, after providing your bracelet the MandalaTickets staff remained at the booth next to The City’s entrance until 4:00am and unfortunately we never received a complained on this evening.
Due to this it is considered that the entrance was used and it is impossible to offer a refund.
On your next visit please make sure to contact the staff immediately so we can do our very best to assist you right away.

We thank you in advance for your understanding and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Pay the $60 US and get a table with all you can drink. Supposedly one of the biggest bars in North America. Was a crazy night, but the tiered sides was awsome, tons of tables and people to meet around you. We had a blast.

3  Thank Alberta606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The City Discotheque also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The City Discotheque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing