We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

The City Discotheque
Ranked #7 of 58 Nightlife in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: It is the biggest club in Latin America, great possibilities to do everything you ever wanted.There's no other place like The City Nightclub. Its particular world class and fun atmosphere make it the perfect location for the Party Addicts.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Went with reps with hotel and crammed in a tiny vip area. The drinks were rubbish and watered down and poor quality. By 1 the music all went very Spanish. Shame as place as a club could be unreal

Thank MorairaNum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear MorairaNum1,
 
Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
 
We are sorry to know the music was not as expected. Many of our guests like the idea of enjoying different music genres throughout the evening, due to which at The City you will find the best of House, Electro, Hip Hop, and Minimal music.
 
With regards to the drinks, please understand that all drinks are originals and prepared according to special recipes to assure all drinks served are up to our high standards.
We have however shared your comments in order to reinforce our staff´s training and supervision in order to continue improving our service.
 
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon in order to provide you with the fabulous experience you expect and deserve.
 
RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bottle service"
in 36 reviews
"dance floor"
in 36 reviews
"hip hop"
in 18 reviews
"this place is huge"
in 8 reviews
"music was great"
in 14 reviews
"house music"
in 4 reviews
"table service"
in 9 reviews
"great club"
in 6 reviews
"amazing night"
in 8 reviews
"vip area"
in 6 reviews
"vip service"
in 4 reviews
"unlimited drinks"
in 5 reviews
"nightclub"
in 51 reviews
"clubs"
in 38 reviews
"edm"
in 11 reviews
"waiters"
in 22 reviews
"mist"
in 4 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

The drinks are watered down, it's probably overpriced given the quality of drinks, it attracts fools into the VIP area who actually think they are vips (hahahaha!), it's tight to walk in, the staff are nice and polite, the bar queues are quick, the toilets have long queues .... anyway. Whatever the good or bad - get here after about 1am and the music is pure hip hop. Get involved I say!

3  Thank Hardeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Hardeep N,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us!

We are happy to know you very much enjoyed your overall visit, especially the excellent music and attentive staff.

We are sorry to know that the drinks were not to your liking and that you found the club to be too crowded. We have already shared your comments with our staff in order to continue improving our service.
Please note that all drinks are prepared according to original recipes in order to assure high quality drinks. We will increase supervision and training to assure all drinks served comply with our high standards.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to party with you again soon!

RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We bought the tickets through Las lomas travel agency at the hotel. We spent $360 for us 6 and a table with UNLIMITED BOTTLES. We were promised unlimited bottles as a group of 6 people. Our waiter was so money hungry that he kept asking for tips for every single drink he got us. His name was Jose. We went ahead and gave him 30 bucks to let us have a good time. I requested a piña colada and he said they ran out. I went to the bar myself to get my wife one and they gave me one so he lied there. When the bottle ran out, we asked for the next one. He wanted to charge us for it. Here we are, spending close to 400 and he still wants to charge for the next bottle. We confronted him and said it wasn't right. After going back and fourth, he threatened to give us some "vergasos" and pick us up and disappear us. I have some videos to prove it. We had to leave early because we did not feel safe. He had people watching us closely and I wasn't sure I would make it back home at that point. We wasted all that money for no reason. I do not recommend this place or anywhere these guys work. We left quickly and told our travel guide. We did not feel safe for the remainder of our trip. He did not even partially refund our money but he gave us 6 promo shirts from a different club. The stupid shirts did not make up for our money wasted and threatening us. We will never go back and encourage no one to visit this place. I will not let this stand and I will make this go viral. YALL RUINED THE END OF OUR VACATION THAT INCLUDED A PROPOSAL. This is the guy

12  Thank Adan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Adan A,

First of all thank you very much for contacting us and for bringing your concerns to our attention.

We are truly sorry for the situation you encountered during your visit and would like to assure you that this type of behavior is most certainly neither an example of the high quality service we aim to provide to our valued guests, nor is it accepted.

We would very much appreciate if you could contact club management at adireccion@grupomandala.com.mx with any additional information you may have (e.g. date of your visit, the video you mention) in order to be able to follow up regarding this matter.

On another note we will make sure to review the description of the packages offered in order to avoid any misunderstandings and to assure our valued guests receive what they purchased.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope you will allow us to further assist.

RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Someone who worked at our hotel suggested that we (party of 8 Bachelorettes) go to The City for our night out. He helped us with transportation andked lol) We arrived and was guided through some side entrance for employees to get to the middle of the dance floor and then to our table, our itty bitty table in a somewhat small space for 8 girls to dance. But the other groups around us came and we entrance for about $63 each. He was very helpful and stayed with us for part of the night to ensure everything went smoothly. (He actually didn't party - He really wornt and space opened up. Our table came with 3 bottles and 9 shots. We never got our 9 shots. The waiter insisted that the shots were supposed to come from the bottle. That is not what was explained to us. Also the waiter was there ALLLLL night and wouldn't let us pour our own drinks or shots. The waiter then also told us we did not tip enough at the end of the night, but we did! He was rude and it put a damper on our evening. So we ended it early.

The music was pretty good, but there was a lot of EDM and not enough hip hop. When they did play hip hop, it was great! I don't mind EDM, but the club just needed a better balance of music.

There was some entertainment at the club - aerial acrobats and a guy that rides a sphere across the ceiling with fire/fireworks coming out of it & later performed a fire dance. It was definitely entertaining, but for some us we couldn't help wonder where the exits were since we were led in through the side. haha

Overall, we still had a good time, but it didn't make it to my top 5 places to party.

2  Thank laynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear laynjoyce,

Thank you very much for choosing The City for this special celebration and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your overall visit, especially the fun entertainment.

However, we are sorry to know the inclusions of your package were not explained to you clearly upon purchase, that the music was not varied enough for your taste and that you felt the waiter was requesting more tips.
Please know that we have already shared your important comments with club management in order to assure the appropriate measures are taken to continue improving our guests’ party experiences.

On a side note we would like to mention that in Mexico, especially in Cancun-Rivera Maya, it is accustomed to leave a 10-15% tip for the waiters in appreciation of their service. Nevertheless, this is most certainly upon discretion of each guest and may not be requested.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon!

RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Friday night, this is THE place to be. Buy your tickets- it's open bar. The music is booming and once the show starts you will be entertained. The confetti and balloon drops were mesmerizing. We also loved the fog blasts from the ceiling. If you happen to be right under one, you'll only be able to see you date right in front of you nose. And it's chilly, so that's a nice added benefit.

Dress to impress and be ready to dance and get a little wild!

1  Thank mollyseurynck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandala G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The City Discotheque, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear mollyseurynck,

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to share your fabulous party experience with us!

We are excited to know you very much enjoyed the excellent music as well as the entertaining shows and please know we will continue with great effort to continue offering the best parties in Cancun.

We hope to party with you again soon!

RB
Grupo Mandala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The City Discotheque also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The City Discotheque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing