We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayan Culture”
Review of Pueblo del Maiz

Pueblo del Maiz
Ranked #63 of 167 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: “We are an interactive pre-Hispanic park that, combines art movement theater, culture, music, dance and the ingredients of ancestral heritage of the mayan culture”
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Group of 7 people ages 13-74. All enjoyed this interactive leaning museum. You can tell that the actors here are passionate about preserving their culture. Price seemed a little high at $17 per person but in the end we were all glad we did it.

Thank Hawkins1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viangy R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pueblo del Maiz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Yumbotik! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mayan culture"
in 18 reviews
"tortillas"
in 7 reviews
"cacao beans"
in 3 reviews
"face paint"
in 2 reviews
"interactive tour"
in 2 reviews
"mayan ball game"
in 2 reviews
"making chocolate"
in 2 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"san gervasio ruins"
in 2 reviews
"learned how"
in 2 reviews
"private jeep tour"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"tacos"
in 2 reviews
"visiting cozumel"
in 2 reviews
"tequila tasting"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"actors"
in 5 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

This would be really excellent for those with children or teens. Learned a lot about the culture. Hands on. Well done. Making and tasting the tortillas and chocolate was a highlight.

They will paint your face to be part of the experience, but never fear, it comes right off. Was a neat experience.

Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viangy R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pueblo del Maiz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for this nice comment Kristina, children are our special guest and we try to make them enjoy and have a god time. Yumbotik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This is a must-do when visiting Cozumel. Not too many know about this place. Taxi fare was $30 one-way for 5 people from International Pier. Approx. 1 hr interactive bilingual tour. $17 p/p. A little pricy for what they offer, but these guys are passionate to show their Mayan heritage and knowledge to others. Begin at the cenote, then face painting, learn about chicle (try it with mint), plant corn, learn about religious ceremony to the goddess of fertility Ixchel, followed by a quick aura cleaning. Learn about their dance, play maracas, try homemade warm tortillas, grind corn and cacao beans, taste pure chocolate with honey, try chocolate beverage, watch Mayan bees working and play a ball game. Try some spicy homemade salsas and jams, and have a photo shoot with a Mayan headdress. They have a small store at the end but prices are ridiculous. If you want to be immerse in Mayan culture in Cozumel, make a stop in San Gervasio ruins too. It is very close.

Thank pr_littlemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viangy R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pueblo del Maiz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Yumbotik! Thank you for share your experience with us!
We would like to have more details about the store, if is possible to have an e mail from you so the we can check with the area in charge apot and give you a correct response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We stopped her during our Cozumel Jeep tour. A little pricy at $17 pp but we stopped anyway. The tour guise is dressed in typical Mayan garb and escorts from on area to another. You will learn about Mayan customs and religion and see a Mayan dance performed. You get to sample some hand made tortillas and ground cocoa beans with honey (Mayan chocolate). THe tour ends at the obligitory gift shop. My son bought two musical instruments and played them for the rest of the trip.

We also did a tequilla tasting and learned how tequilla is made. We sampled an amaretto tequilla and bought a bottle (expensive at $49).

Pueblo del Maiz was interesting and probably worth the admission (seems like all attractions in Cozumel, including ruins, charge) to learn about the Mayans.

Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viangy R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pueblo del Maiz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi John, thank you for your opinion and share your experiece in Pueblo del Maiz.
I would like to share with you about the tequila tour, we are diferent companies, but sharing the same area. I hope your experience with us haven´t been afected because their service. Any way we hope be an option fot you in your next trip to Cozumel and contact us in order to surprise you with more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Leant a great deal in the Mayan village, we loved the music & dance and experiencing how they lived even if it was just a short time.

Thank ruditeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viangy R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Pueblo del Maiz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hello, please come back soon and let us surprise you with more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pueblo del Maiz also viewed

 

Been to Pueblo del Maiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing