We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dive center -- great crew on well-equipped boats”

Studio Blue Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dive and Snorkeling Tours every day, PADI and SSI Instructors, mayor brands on dive equipment available for sale Scuba Pro, Tusa, US Divers, Trident. Specialized in personalized attention small group of divers, visiting Palancar,Colombia,Punta Sur, Santa Rosa. Authorized Dive Operator for Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Cozumel
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Manuel, the owner, has always taken good care of me at Studio Blue... If I need something he doesn't carry, he tells me where to get it. His boats, Studio Blue I and II, depart from the new harbor, Fonatur, and this year, as often, I was very happy to be diving with Studio Blue. On January 2, the winds were quite high (12 gusting to 20 knots), and the harbormaster closed the harbor to small boats. But Studio Blue's boats were big enough to be allowed out, and we had two great dives while many other divers were back at their hotels cursing the weather. Divemasters this trip were Omar and Carlos, and both were friendly and very helpful to less experienced divers aboard. Dove with 3-5 divers, depending on the day, which I like a lot better than I get in some other operations. The boat is big enough that you can stow your gear without getting it mixed up with everyone else's (I bring my own), and they're always eager to set things up for you, but let you do it yourself if you prefer. I've had great experiences diving with them. Although I've earlier used many other Cozumel dive operations, I now go straight to Manuel as soon as I arrive, to book a week of diving.

Thank EriknCheryl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio Blue C, Director General at Studio Blue Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Erick,
Thank you for comming back to dive with us once more. I will pass your comments to all our staff, this time we had a little problem with the weather conditions, thanks God I am reading that you had a good time.
Trough the year Cozumel has its own changes underwater like strong currents going everywhere, diferent water temperatures, visibility, Etc. As a consecuence the crew has to be aware of this yearly changes, and work accordingly.
Hope to see you again in the future. Gracias.

Saludos :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"problems equalizing"
in 2 reviews
"took care of our every need"
in 2 reviews
"large boat"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"playa del carmen"
in 6 reviews
"diving experience"
in 6 reviews
"rental equipment"
in 2 reviews
"marine life"
in 4 reviews
"boat captain"
in 2 reviews
"the reefs"
in 3 reviews
"manuel"
in 40 reviews
"shop"
in 31 reviews
"instructor"
in 19 reviews
"dive"
in 79 reviews
"dove"
in 14 reviews
"boats"
in 12 reviews
"surface"
in 10 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

The staff and equipment was excellent, the reef offers great diving opportunities. Manuel's Studio Blus Dive Center is the most experienced (since 1990) and probably the best. managedndive center in Cozume. l cam definitely recommend this dive center for all divers - beginners and advanced divers.
Heiko (Mainz, Germany)

1  Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio Blue C, Director General at Studio Blue Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

My dear friend,
thanks for visiting us in Cozumel, we were very happy with your stay with Studio Blue, all crew members remember how nice you are, hoppefully you will have the opportunity to come back to dive in this warm, nice, and clear Mexican Caribbean water. Gracias.


Saludos :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Omar and crew were really patient and helpful. Even after I decided diving was not for me, Omar guided my husband and 12 year old son on a safe and enjoyable trip down under while I snorkeled on top. I always felt that we were in good hands and never felt unsafe. Thanks so much for such a great experience!

Thank jcnwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Had my first scoop experience with Studio Blue Dive Center. Overall it was an excellent experience as a beginner. My instructor/Dive master was Omar who guided myself, my wife, and my daughter through the basics of scuba. Overall it consisted of one instructional dive in the water shallow enough where you could stand up, followed by two deeper dives where you immediately put all your knowledge into practice. Omar was an outstanding guide and instructor. He kept his divers/students informed of the dive sites and what to expect. Throughout he was totally mindful of everyone underwater, providing guidance/instruction throughout each dive and emphasizing safety. He also pointed out various sea life.

I would use Studio Blue again and certainly would ask for Omar as a dive instructor and/or dive master. I recommend Discover Scuba through Studio Blue to others.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio Blue C, Director General at Studio Blue Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Paul,
It is very good to read that you had a great diving experience with Studio Blue, your comments give us more energy to keep working as a team such away that you can have a pleasent experience starting with filling out your diving aplication till you go underwater and go back home.
Thanks God all the stars joined together for you to have an excellent diving experience.

FELIZ AÑO NUEVO, GRACIAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We were specifically promised to go to Palancar by Manuel but just went to 2 dive sites close to the marina, because they did not want to go early and have a very slow boat and are to lazy. This is fraud to my understanding. Furthermore the reason why so many people with this dive shop have problems with currents is that the staff has no idea how much weight to give to people which I did not witness in any other dive shop so far. It is really not so hard and a divemaster/instructor should know! Instead the captain (for whatever reason) decided on the weights. On our tour several people could not get underwater because they screwed up the weights and we lost a lot of time. But it is a lie of the dive shop that the divers could not handle the currents. His crew got the weights wrong and if you do not have enough it can get rough on the surface...
Just go to Deep Blue around the corner and you find a much better dive shop! They need seconds to get things right which Studio Blue can not figure out in quite a while

Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Studio Blue Dive Center also viewed

 

Been to Studio Blue Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing