We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Snorkeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing Snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is the perfect hotel for people who are coming to Cozumel to snorkel. At the Coz you can snorkel right off the beach and it feels like you are in an aquarium. Please take extra dollar bills to tip the staff as they work very hard to make your vacation both memorable and enjoyable. Order off the menu as much as possible as the food is fresher and better than the food found at the buffet. E-mail the hotel ahead of time if you have any special requests or accommodations as they will gladly meet your needs.

Room Tip: e-mail ahead if you have specific preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    2,109
    770
    347
    276
See reviews for
1,618
1,928
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a great time, and El Cozumeleno is a good value. The employees are very hard working and work long hours. They clearly depend on tips for their wages, although the resort claims "tips are included." Be sure to bring lots of ones and fives so you can lie on the beach sipping your margarita with a clear conscience.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were there from August 2, to August 8, great hospitality from the workers and the overall facility was very clean. The swimming pool was being filled from the ocean. It kept getting saltier and more saltier as each day went on, however it was still clean. The hot tub was not working at first and then after it started working turned a light green color. We were afraid to get in it.

The beer was never cold and was not top quality. Yuck... The mixed drinks were made in mixers washed out with regular tap water between each type of drink. The very small plastic cups used to serve drinks were washed in cold tap water and I don't know if they used soap or a disinfectant in the small tub used to wash them. I never saw the wash solution changed out. The cups routinely had lipstick stains on them from the previous user.

The alcohol placed in the mixed drinks was of poor quality or was extremely watered down.

The food was of poor quality and it appeared that what was not eaten the night before was just mixed with some other sauces and placed out for breakfast and lunch the next day. The breakfast omelets were good, however birds inside the main restaurant were seen eating directly out of the food trays and it was even reported people saw bird feces in the food and on the grills.

We don't know whether it was the food or the drinks which caused it, however all of our group had bouts with intestinal distress with 3 of our party of six having extreme bouts of vomiting and watery stools which lasted 1.5-2 days long. Even after we became afraid to eat the food out of the main buffet style restaurant several of our party became sick again.

The day we left many people were complaining about being sick. The gift shop quickly ran out of immodium and Pepto. Numerous people were getting taxi's to run into town to buy medicine for sick family members. That night the main restaurant did not open or serve food to anyone..

We spoke to one couple who had stayed at this resort three times a year for the last 12 years. One of them became sick and they stated the quality of food had declined dramatically over the last year. They vowed never to return. All of our group agree we will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearefuntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great customer service from the second you arrive from the airport until the second they call the taxi for you to leave. The rooms were great with an amazing ocean view. The servers, bartenders, housekeeping were all very accommodating. Make sure you give them a break. Many of them are working in the heat all day. Give them a tip once in a while. They are working their tail off. Plus an extra tip will get you stronger drinks!

Things you will enjoy: Snorkeling right off the hotel, water sports on site, live music concert on the beach, and a Karaoke club on 2nd floor. You don't even have to get out of your poolside chair for a drink. There is one main restaurant where you can order from the menu at certain hours or go to the buffet at anytime. There is great variety of food though. We planned on eating at the La Veranda, but changed our mind because we just enjoyed eating right on the water every meal.

One thing to mention. I wish I knew his name or how to contact him. We left our room key and safe key "with our room number on it" in the cab our last night. The cab driver dropped it off at our hotel and it was waiting for us at the front desk when we got back from town. I know there are plenty of people that would take advantage of the situation. I couldn't believe the integrity and honesty of that cab driver. Pleasantly surprised and wish we had a way to thank him for being so honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were there for 6 days in August. Staff was all very friendly and courteous. The building is a little older and the bathroom was kind of small. Still, a nice place to stay at a very reasonable price with beach amenities such as swimming, kayak, and wave rider rentals. We even had the luck of spotting five dolphins while riding the wave riders. Snorkeling in the beach area I observed various tropical fish, two stingrays, a baby barracuda, sea urchins, a sea anemone, a box fish and a flounder fish. Only negatives were the bed was not very plush and the late night loud music from outside.

Room Tip: I would ask about getting a room away from the late night, loud music. And would probably pay a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
11.3 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.6 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
18.6 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,662 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
9.1 km away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cozumeleno Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cozumeleno Beach Resort

Property: El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Address: Playa Santa Pilar Km 4.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): RM600 - RM2,617
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cozumeleno Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your El Cozumeleno Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cozumeleno Beach Hotel Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Beach Cozumel
El Cozumeleno Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing