We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$248
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Las Anclas(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$246
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casita de Maya(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coral Reef Inn(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
US$282
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$564
US$419
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,345)
Filter reviews
5,345 results
Traveller rating
2,335
1,960
686
248
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,335
1,960
686
248
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendsdressel diverspink flamingosfishsteak restaurantwater shoestenderloindive shoptex mexrooms are smallswim up barsand fleasspecialty restaurantsmattress topperrocky beachother resortsmain buffet
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 5,345 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We had a good vacation overall however after visiting other resorts this one was our least favorite
-

Cons-
Toilet - you couldn't flush tp (?) our toilet was clogged daily

Reservations to dinner- you had to make reservations for dinner (the good food) and you only get 2 for the entire week !?!? There are 3 restaurants so you can’t even try them all. While at dinner there were only 5 out of 17 tables eating so this made no sense.

No Shuttle to airport or town/excursion - no shuttles to and from airport, or excursions or to town. A resort should at least give you options

Night life - I'm not one to party hard but this place overall shuts down at 7pm. No shows/ music, nightlife nothing! It seemed the resort is lights out and dead after dinner

Pool closes 7pm so no chance of night swims after you eat.

Rocky beach- bring beach shoes I repeat bring water shoes!!! The beach is so rocky that it's hard to access even with shoes.

Service- no beach pool service- we had to get our own drinks each time. Again compared to other resorts just not use to this

No tv stations English- not that we're in our rooms often but I enjoy watching tv at night. Especially since we had to go back to the room after dinner. No stations In English

Rooms small and often had bugs

Restaurant and common areas not ac- super hot eating dinner and relaxing.

Says free kayaks paddle boards (none here) and snorkel equip. You actually have to pay a fee

Had to purchase sunscreen. It's a racket. 24$ for sunscreen. Come on

Towels. You can't use poool towels unless u give them your room key. Guess they don't trust guests

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit us and for taking the time to share your experience about your vacation at our resort.

We regret that we did not fulfill your expectations with some of our services, we assure you that your constructive review will be taken into consideration as it helps us to continue improving. Regarding our restaurants, the number of dinner reservations depend on the length of your stay, our guests may have one á la carte reservation for each three nights. We use this method so our visitors can have the opportunity to enjoy our cuisine and moreover to give you the personalized service that you deserve. Furthermore, we have our buffet that each night of the week has a different theme.

In regards to our night activities, every night we have a live show at our theatre, as well as our late night snacks restaurant bar. If we have the pleasure to welcome you back, our concierges can gladly assist you and provide you this information.

Likewise we are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy our hotel beach. We are located near the second largest reef in the world and also inside a National Park. As it is a natural protected area we cannot change in any way the entrance to the ocean. However, the pier eases this entrance so our guests can snorkel and marvel with the wonderful marine life we have. Also, our guests have the privilege to use for free the kayaks and snorkel equipment depending on the availability, the fee that you mentioned is due to the marine park, since the hotel is in an ecological reserve.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the mishaps you encountered. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your future vacations.

Kindest regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Different people look for different things in a resort. Some want to be in a giant hotel in a big city, for instance, or enjoy lots of parties and loud music all the time. We prefer to be in a quieter resort where we can relax and enjoy nature. This is our third Iberostar resort and it's my favorite one so far!

The overall resort is smaller than their mainland properties which was really nice. It lacks some of the special landscaping and animals found at the mainland resorts, but it more than makes up for it with the diving opportunities.

When we were there it was 80% occupied but it felt like a lot less. It is more relaxing and peaceful without all the nonstop pool parties and music of some other resorts.

The diving was excellent (Cozumel is well-known for that)! The Dressel Divers dive shack is on the beach and the boats leave from the dock right there, offering 4 dives a day for reasonable prices.

Being a smaller resort they only had three specialty restaurants. The food was good in all of them but we were turned off by the Mexican restaurant's "cantina" theme. We don't want to have lots of television screens showing things like music videos while we eat. Compared to the rest of the resort, it seemed very out of place.

All in all, though, we loved our time there and are looking forward to going back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cozumel to spend your vacation.

It is great to hear your nice comments about our beautiful facilities and our different environment.

Moreover, it is good to know that you enjoyed diving and that you liked our delicious gastronomy. Regarding our TexMex restaurant we regret to know that our concept was not of your preference.

Once again thank you for visiting us, it will be an honor to have another opportunity to welcome you in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Vacation was awesome! Rained the day we got there, had Tropical Storm Nate come though but other then that it was beautiful the while time. Room are good, small and everything you need nothing fancy. Rooms are being upgraded so there is construction on the resort. However, it never bothered me, hardly noticed it. The TV in my room only has 2 English channels but for the time you spend in them they were fine.

Food was good. Ive had better but Ive also has worse. The buffet had a different theme every night and there are only 3 restaurants; Tex Mex which is great. We has reservations at the steak house but they got cancelled due to the storm. Need ate at the other. Breakfast was great, can never go wrong. Lunch has different options also. The selection were small. We were there during off season so I think thats the restaurants weren't open all the time and the buffets were small.

Room Tip: A room by the pool will be loud. If you don't like stairs ask for 1st floor but keep the curtains closed
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cozumel for your 30th birthday celebration and also for sharing your nice review.

We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay where you enjoyed our accommodations, and delicious food and beverages.

We will make sure all the involved departments receive your kind words of encouragement, as well as your comments regarding the food selection. As you mention the day of the tropical storm we had to make some changes in the restaurant reservation to ensure our guests´ safety, however it is great to know that it did not affected your experience.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my family went there for a day we was staying at paraíso lindo playa del Carmen and this one was included for a day , Very nice beach, you can swim with a lot of fish, the food was ok but not excellent,the pool small compared with the one at iberostar paraíso lindo , people very nice. We have a good time....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cozumel to spent your recent vacations.

Your kind words regarding our property, and especially our outstanding staff are very much appreciated.

We are happy to know your preference towards IBEROSTAR, and that you and your family had the opportunity to have a day pass at our hotel.

We really hope to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very nice resort. TexMex and Steakhouse excellent. Oriental is disgusting. Buffet nightly is good. Stay clear of Emilio, they call him Captain, much like a Maitre'D is USA, he is extremely rude.
Entertainment is great, especially Alex and Taly.
This resort is at end so you have alot of reef but beautiful water.
Drinks good and you can ask for upgraded liquor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cozumel for your getaway.

It is fantastic to hear that you had a great time at our resort and that you enjoyed our privileged location, some of our restaurants and our entertainment. We will congratulate Alex and Talia for their excellent work.

Concerning our Oriental restaurant, we are sorry to hear that we did not fulfill your expectations, please be assured that our team works constantly on maintaining and improving our high standards.

We offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience you found with one of our colleagues, we will share your comments with the department involved for their follow up and corrective measures. We will keep working to deliver wonderful experiences to all our guests and please know that your feedback has been duly noted.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews