We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$360
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$296
US$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$765
US$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Azul(Cozumel)
US$175
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casita de Maya(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,720)
Filter reviews
2,720 results
Traveller rating
948
1,000
444
204
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
1,000
444
204
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillel patioportofino restauranttortuga barda mariodive housejuan carlospaddle boardsocean frontfishmarket cafepizza placehoneymoon suiteentertainment staffbeach barnachosmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 2,720 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

(Chapter I) My wife and I originally booked our stay 4 Nov-8 Nov and Pablo at front desk made sure all of our needs were met. Special mention goes out to Juan Carlos, el Fuerte, with our luggage; Laura at Portofino breakfast with her forever smile, plus Justo, Victor and Antonio for their great service (at a breakfast buffet!); Frankie at El Patio with his dessert especial; and Darwin & team were there to make sure our mini fridge was stocked daily. I had stayed here 2 years ago and this time (first time for my wife), the food at all the restaurants were MUCH improved such that, my wife's expectations of the food were more than exceeded. Throughout our stay, Pablo (front desk) went out of his way to make us feel like such VIP guests, we extended our stay through 11 Nov.

(Chapter II) We loved our stay so much (from our room, the staff, to the beautiful views and sunsets, beach, restaurants and all the amenities), on our originally scheduled departure day, we decided to extended our stay for a few more days. Much of our enjoyment was thanks to all the staff and Pablo at front desk, with the attention he put into making our stay extra special. Just like 2 years ago when I stayed here, if Pablo wasn't available, Karina was there to make sure our needs were met. Side note: the hot water was out resort-wide for a few hours one day and some irate guy took it out on Karina at Front Desk; Karina remained professional and gracious throughout this guy's rant. Dude, get a drink, enjoy the beautiful view, the hot water was back on in no time! In addition to the staff previously mentioned, Vivas at the dinner buffet (Portofino) was such a pleasant surprise, we forgot we were at a buffet! Thanks again Pablo, Karina and all the staff for an AWESOME stay. My wife and I will be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

The resort is a decent place. Not great, not awful. Room was tired and needed a good cleaning. Surface clean, but fan had a significant build up on it. Also some mold in bathroom. Public areas including bathrooms were very clean and maintained during the day. Food and drinks, again were okay. There are a lot of renovations going n, so the restaurant schedule was somewhat flexible. Pools, beach, and entertainment staff were great. Most of the people working there were great and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. I would call this a good value at its price point, if you want the 5 star experience, spend the dollars and get it. For its price, this resort was appropriate. He kids program did look fantastic, and the on site dive operation and beach recreation operations were first rate.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for 4 days below is what we decided was helpful.
We stayed in room 2021, it was a great location. However it wasn't beach front but 15 step away from the beach and around the corner from the pool plus 2 restaurants.
We quickly found out Breakfast at portofino was a must. Most options and best food.
Dinner at el patio was super cool, lots of table side fire entertainment. Sea Side was decent for a quick bite.
Trattoria was gross-we actually took two bites and then went to Sea Side for second dinner.
Rent paddle board, kayaks and other gear for free right on the beach.
Use a insulated cup for your drinks, they won’t melt as quickly. Also it’s ok to ask for top shelf.
Play the games with the staff, we won some pretty cool things playing bingo.
Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. Even the guys trying to sell you the time share deals.
Internet isn't free unless in the lobby which was spotty service.
The spa was amazing, the hydro therapy is a must for a crazy unique experience. It came with the fish therapy.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank travelingtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Hotel going through updates. Sometimes things do not go as you would expect
You have access to restaurants at Secrets next door. the French restaurant called Bordeaux is wonderful. Special praise to: Luis Alfredo, Fabian and to chef Adrian.
Food was great Bananas Foster was outstanding

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

They did not have unit that we booked available. They searched for quite a while and finally upgraded our unit to get a king size bed.

No elevators! Sound insulation between rooms was very poor.

Shower floor very slick. Fell and injured hip and ribs.

After being moved twice to upgraded units, the air conditioner in the last one did not blow cold air. Only the fan worked. It was about 24 hours before they resolved the problem.

One of the premium restaurants that was advertised, did not exist, and the staff checking us in was not even aware of it!

Alcohol drinks were extremely weak. Very few drink options for diabetics.

Snorkeling excursion was a rip-off and no refund offered.

Every public bathroom smelled bad.

Too much boat traffic close to beach making for rough water and poor swimming/snorkeling.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Duane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews