We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel during Carnival. The hotel was in the perfect location to enjoy everything downtown Cozumel has to offer shops, and the parade. We took the ferry across from the mainland Playa Del Carmen to Cozumel. When exiting the ferry the hotel is just two blocks down on the left with a right on Calle 2 Norte. We stayed in room 315 (corner room) at the end of the hall. The water pressure and AC in the rooms was great. The beds were a little firm, but sufficed. Every morning fresh fruit, mango, papaya and watermelon was set out along with a special egg combination, accompanied by beans, chicken and breakfast pastries on the rofftop overlooking the pool and cruise ships.
There is not a safe in your room, but one is available at the front desk for complimentary use with a $100 deposit which they return when you return your key. We had a rental car and parked it right out front. One day the parking was full, but there is a lot right across the street where you can park overnight for $5.00 and the hotel covers half the cost, so it was only $2.50. We purchased all our drinks and snacks at the OXXO station (similar to 7-11) just one block to the right of the hotel. We refilled our water bottles with complimentary water in the lobby. There is also 2 complimentary computers in the lobby set-up for free internet use.
Gilberto found out it was our Birthdays (3 of us) and brought up a special "tres leches" (3 milk) cake and sang Happy Birthday. Gilberto and Amelia were both very helpful and nice at the reception.
We had a very special rate for the 4 of us who shared a room. For less than a $90, taxes included per night, and walking distance to the town square, Wet Wendy's, and numerous restaurants, this is the perfect location for the value, thus why I gave it 5 stars. We will return again in the future. Muchas Gracias!

Room Tip: Check the water pressure. If not good ask for a room with an upgraded toilet. Some rooms have much h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spontangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    117
    35
    6
    0
See reviews for
53
94
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our first trip to Cozumel and we were doing it on a budget. We chose this hotel based on reviewers comments and were not disappointed. Normally we choose more luxurious accommodations and this hotel is basic-no hairdryers, irons in the room, safes to lock belongings- the things you see in a 4 or 5 star hotel. I didn’t care for the bedding much which reminded me of my grandmother’s floral bedspread. But I didn’t complain. We weren’t spending time in the room anyways except to sleep. It was a great deal for $49 a night through Priceline. The big pluses are it is super clean throughout the entire hotel and pool area (you won’t see any black mold on their pool furniture); the staff is very friendly; the beds are comfortable; the breakfast is awesome with four different hot choices, fruit, and pastries; and the location is probably the best in Cozumel. Right around the corner is a great restaurant, Kinta, bakery, and Tequila Town where you can enjoy good company and $1 cervezas. Parking is sometimes an issue since there are limited spots in the front of the hotel. But the staff worked very hard to fit everyone in or make arrangements in the paid lot across the street. It is a great value and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobcatNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel.

This is your basic hotel, nothing fancy. So if you are looking for a Ritz Carlton experience you will not find it here. However, this hotel offers exceptional value for the price.

The hotel is located 1 block from the main square in town and you are usually the first stop for the shuttle bus coming from the airport.

The rooms were spacious, yet basic, and very clean. Every time we went to our room, we saw people maintaining the common areas of the hotel. There are also two computers for use in the lobby and wireless internet throughout the hotel.

There is a pool on the roof and they serve a free breakfast every morning. The breakfast is not just juice and muffins. The menu consisted of yogurt, cereal, beans, and a fajita chicken and onions, to name a few, on the first day. The second day omelettes made to order topped the menu.

The Hotel Plaza Cozumel is a great value and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you're looking for a cheap, clean hotel in the center of Cozumel, this is just the place. The rooms are fairly big, shower pressure is excellent and the breakfast buffet is great (something new every day) The location is perfect - right next to the pier, shops and restaurants, and you can lie on the rooftop terrace where they have a pool, or rent a motorbike to explore the beaches around the island. Free wifi in every corner of the hotel, and it was reliable and fast too. Ask for a discount if you are staying for a few days, the hotel has plenty of rooms and they normally give you a good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExciteMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We found this hotel to be a little run down and very very noisy due to ongoing building works taking place which nobody warned us about. It lasted until around 6pm and started before 8am making sleep a bit impossible around such times! Breakfast was a little disappointing and the hotel overall felt a little empty. Overall if you are not fussy and can get this hotel for a cheap rate it you will probably not be disappointed.

CAUTION: IF YOU WANT TO GO TO A SANDY BEACH FROM THIS HOTEL EXPECT TO PAY 15 USD + FOR A ONE WAY TAXI JOURNEY..........

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaka50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.6 km away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 52 in Cozumel
200 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
498 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,060 reviews
0.3 km away
Suites Colonial
Suites Colonial
#32 of 52 in Cozumel
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Property: Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price range (per night): RM214 - RM283
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing