We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$371
US$282
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$277
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Las Anclas(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$564
US$419
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
US$250
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Inn(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
337
19
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
19
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla perlitarental carclose to the airportreal cozumelboutique hoteltaco standroom hotelgarlic shrimpking roomhome away from homelobster dinnerwonderful staysmall poolthe entire stafffishjoliedan
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2011

As many of the reviewers have said, this is a great place to base your Cozumel trip. Dan, the owner, is a great source of information on the island, and truly makes it his goal to help his guests enjoy their trip. He designed the 4 unit casita himself, and gave it a lot of thought and the small touches add to the great ambiance. The place was quiet, relaxing, and I will definitely go back there.

If you are flying in directly to Cozumel, you can walk to the hotel. Better yet, when you are leaving, you can over to the airport early (9 am) and check your luggage, then go back to the hotel to chill until it's time to board (better to sit by their little pool then in the airport). The hotel is not right in the hub of San Miguel, but you can walk there in 20 minutes or take a short cab ride. We chose to rent a car for a few days to see the entire island and get to some of the places to snorkel from shore (thanks to Dan's sage advice), and were able to park the rental right in front of the door.

Just around the block, Dan can introduce you to Diego and his family (they run Diego's Tacos). Diego and his family are all very friendly and helpful, and allow you to enjoy some great meals at a nearby location. While they mostly serve tacos to the locals, Diego and his wife will gladly provide you with some other Yucatan dishes (they made us some broiled grouper with garlic, and chicken mole).

So, consider this a great option if you want to be a little off the beaten bath. If you want to be in the center of the touristy area, and right on the water, this may not be your best choice, but I am glad I checked this place out after some of the reviews that I read!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Chillin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

My partner and I just returned from a wonderful trip to Cozumel. Our vacation began with a couple of nights at the Casita De Maya. It was a wonderful place to begin the trip.

The best part of the hotel is Dan, the owner. He's very friendly, 100 per cent committed to providing great service and ensuring your stay is easy and enjoyable. The great things he did for us included: showing us around the neighbourhood, providing excellent local restaurant recommendations, helping us arrange a local snorkeling guide, making arrangements for scuba diving, driving us to a nearby grocery store and helping us make arrangements for a stay at the only hotel on the east side of the island. He is a great guide to the local area and culture.

The hotel is in a great location. It is just steps from the airport so it is easy to settle in and begin your vacation quickly. Also, the Cozumel airport is not busy so despite the hotel being so close to the airport it is not noisy. We didn't notice the sound of planes at all. The hotel is also in a 'local' part of San Miguel. This is terrific if you want a more peaceful stay and to experience the authentic side of San Miguel, away from the Vegas-esque main strip that runs along the waterfront. There are many local restaurants around where the food will be better and cheaper than in the tourist section. And keep in mind that San Miguel is more of a small town than a big city, so if you want to go to the tourist area of the city it is still just a short walk or cab ride away.

Finally, the accommodations at Casita de Maya are terrific. The rooms are clean, comfortable and colourful as well as stylishly decorated. If you choose to go to Casita de Maya, you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank VgabndHapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was our first trip to Mexico and it was fantastic. We wanted to avoid the typical tourist traps so choose a small four room hotel that was rated(appropretly} number 1 on Cozumel. We were not disappointed. Dan and his staff provided us with everthing we asked for and more. We found the atmosphere layed back and accomodations that filled our every need. The rooms were cleaned immacuatley every day. What we enjoyed the most was the intimate setting that provided us with the opportunity to meet new friends and the privacy to have a fantastic vacation. We will never forget Dan, his wonderful staff and the terrific new friends we made in this charming get away. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank dvaderIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Casita Maya in Cozumel, Mexico is a quaint 4-room hotel that sits ~400 yards from the airport. For seven days it became our home away from home. Jolie The Housekeeper; Wilbur The Maintenance Man; Dan The Keeper of the Keys; Diego The Taco Boss; Trixie The Dog; and Kitty-Kitty The Cat all made us feel so welcome that leaving became a very emotional event. The room was clean and bright; the pool was a perfect place to wind down; the food at Diego’s next door was authentic and tasty; and the local beer store was a stone’s throw away. However, it was the welcoming attitude of everyone that I will remember most, and that will bring us back again. We were treated better than family. The layout of the hotel encourages interaction with the other rooms if you choose; taxis and car rentals are just around the corner; walking distance to everything you need (church, groceries, pier). I almost hate to post a glowing review of Casita Maya because I want it to be my secret; but the beauty of the place and the warmth of the personnel is a secret that should be shared with everyone. Stay away from the “American” side of the island and come and experience true Mexico and her beautiful people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank marrowoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Thanks Dan, Jolie, Wilbert, Diego and family.
If you are considering a visit to Cozumel do yourself a favor and stay at the Casita, you will not regret it. Dan and his staff make you feel like family and you will leave with amazing memories of your stay. Four rooms allow for meeting new friends that are staying there as well if you wish to do so, we did. The experience you will have from being away from the large hotels and cruise ship folks and seeing the real culture of Cozumel is beyond words. Talk to Dan, Diego, Eric etc and you will know what we mean. We became friends with everyone including the other guests, try doing that at a large hotel. So much has been written about the Casita and most of it is spot on,.......This simply is the place to stay on Cozumel,experience it and you will know why.
Thanks again Dan for your wonderful hospitality.........
Perry & Isabel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funflyers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews