We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Dives”

Sand Dollar Sports Diving
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a great time diving here. We arrived at the location with no trouble and they fitted us for the rental gear we needed. We headed out on a decent boat and went to the first of two dive locations where we had the only problem with the trip. My wife told them what weight she needed on her belt (she dove with that weight the day before in Grand Cayman) and they said that was too much weight and gave her less despite her objections. When we arrived at the dive site she was unable to descend (5mm wet suit) and the dive master had to shove more weight in the pockets of her BCD to get her down. They should have listened to her. Other then that we had a great time. The divemaster was very thorough in his briefing and kept a close eye on all divers. We followed all rules including the required safety stop. The reef on both dives was beautiful and we saw a ton of colorful fish. Overall it was a great day and I recommend them!

Thank jehdfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sand Dollar Sports Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear jehdfd:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time. Just to let you know we are now the in house dive shop of The Westin Cozumel Hotel in case you are planning your next vacations to the island, we have many watersport options for you. Visit our website or contact our sales department for more info.

Come back soon!
Sand Dollar Sports Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dive master"
in 103 reviews
"dive shop"
in 47 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 48 reviews
"fish"
in 54 reviews
"royal caribbean"
in 23 reviews
"maximum depth"
in 4 reviews
"feel comfortable in the water"
in 4 reviews
"rental gear"
in 11 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 8 reviews
"an excursion"
in 22 reviews
"great introduction"
in 4 reviews
"paradise reef"
in 10 reviews
"great dive"
in 19 reviews
"boat crew"
in 10 reviews
"these guys"
in 18 reviews
"dive locations"
in 5 reviews
"hand signals"
in 6 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I had an absolutely incredible experience there! Great team of great people!!! Hopefully I’ll be back one day!!! Highly recommend!

Thank Юлия С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sand Dollar Sports Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Юлия С:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.
If you are interested in taking the next step (getting certified as open water diver!) You can get your certification with us in 3 days! Contact our sales department for more info. Or if you are planning your next holidays we are now the diving/watersports in-house diveshop at The Westin Cozumel Hotel.
We hope to see you back again in the future.

Cheers
Sand Dollar Sports Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I don’t even know where to start...
We were diving through our cruise line, and provided all the information about us and the gear we’ll need to the line, however were asked to fill out forms with the same info again. When we came to the shop, the gear was not ready and we had to carry it to the boat. Also no computers provided, which would be fine if scuba master provided any info later on.

The stuff wasn’t friendly, and seemed very inexperienced and/or careless of their clients.
We had 1(!) scuba master for 8(!) divers and we definitely didn’t enjoy it.
There wasn’t a safety briefing, everything felt super rushed. After the first dive we Barely had a 20-25 min interval, scuba master never told us what the length of the dive was, what location we did our dives at, how long it was etc. And because the stuff was not friendly I didn’t even want to ask it.

We will be back to Cozumel, but never will I dive with this company again and make sure that my friends don’t go through this experience either.

Thank Artem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sand Dollar Sports Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Artem T:

Thanks for reaching out to us, we really appreciate your time, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t like our services, since our goal is always have Happy guests, our sincere apologize for bad experience, kindly note that your opinion it is very important for us and we would like to have more details about your experience, can you please let us know the date of your excursion and the name of your ship, so we can investigate with the staff involved what happened, to avoid a situation like this in the future and make your next visit 100 percent enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience!

Just to let you know, we don't provide computers to the guests, but your dive master in charge is always wearing one. Last but not least if you check PADI or SSI diving standards, 1 dive master per 8 divers is correct! unless your are diving a shipwreck, in that case is 1x6.

Sand Dollar Sports Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

First I would like to say that I've worked couple of years in diving industry. I've organized and leaded hundreds of dive trips. So I know what I'm talking about.

This was the worst that I've ever seen. We came to Cozumel with Royal Caribbean cruiser. We were asked our sizes and all the information first day of the cruise but these guys asked them again and no scuba gears were ready for us when we went to the dive shop. And we also had to carry our gears to the boat, nothing was ready. This was a 2 dive trips but no food was provided. This was the only out of those hundreds that I've done were no food was given.

Our divemaster was not good. No proper briefing, 6 divers and only 1 divemaster ?? Max. dive time 40 minutes ? Surface interval only 34 minutes..

Maybe I'm just use to high standards on the places that I use to work..

Never again with this company.

1  Thank MikkoK-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sand Dollar Sports Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Nikko,

Thanks you for taking the time to leave your comments. These types of comments are taken very seriously and will always provoke in depth research from all involved in your dive experience. As you must know having worked in the dive industry for a couple of years, every country and culture has their own way of providing customer service the best way they are accustomed. Sand Dollar Sports has been providing these customer experiences for more many years. We have learned to adapt and improve through out all of those years. As you can imagine we have lead many dives ourselves.

As your dive was scheduled for an afternoon dive and our morning dive was running a little long we did not have time to re organize the equipment as we had done for our morning dive departures. You are correct in that the equipment information was requested onboard the ship prior to your arrival. As an experienced diver you also know that many times different manufacturers sizing is a variable. From our experience we have learned that many times the sizing mentioned in the forms we receive are not accurate and it often takes us more time to separate and change the equipment rather than asking your size with you actually in front of us to make sure it all fits correctly. Once the gear is signed out all divers are responsible for transporting their own gear to their respective dive vessel. Once on board the dive masters will assist you (if you like) to set up your gear.

All of our dive trips are provided with fresh local fruit (canteloupe , watermelon, apples etc …) in between dives. Something to rinse the salt out of your mouth. Along with cool purified water.

The divemaster has specific instructions and a briefing that is provided by our company and the marine park. He/She are to follow those procedures on every dive trip. We will be looking into your comment regarding “Our dive master was not good. No proper briefing”.

The Marine park regulations have established a standard of 8 divers to 1 dive master. In many locations (Grand Cayman/ Cuba / Belize) the boat ties off to a mooring and the divers are simply instructed to follow the line down and make sure you take a siting on your compass. There is no divemaster/guide in water. All of our dives are guided and as stated with a maximum of 8 to 1. Cozumel is known for its drift diving therefore we have special circumstances that require very different diving procedures.
As you mentioned the dive times were 40 min. The day of your dives our currents were stronger than normal therefore requiring us to make adjustments in bottom time and surface intervals. All of this is always done with safety in mind.

We don’t think your standards are to high but as we are all taught from very early on as divers we need to keep in mind the local dive environment and pay attention to the local guide. It could be that your “high standards” are applicable to your environment but adjustments must be made when diving in different diving conditions.

Thank you again for your comments. We take all comments both good and bad as an opportunity to improve.

Regards,

Team Sand Dollar Sports Cozumel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great time Snorkeling with Sand Dollar. They had a booth at the the port in Cozumel. We didn't book through our cruise line. We just got off the ship and spoke with them in person. They shuttled us to the Snorkeling area and gave us a lesson. My 7 year old son had never Snorkeled before and was apprehensive about it. Our instructor Roger stayed with him the whole time to help around in the water. They provide lifejackets with the Snorkeling gear to help keep inexperienced snorkelers afloat. The snorkeling area gets about 20 feet or so deep (maybe deeper). The water was very clear so it was easy to see the bottom. Lots of fish and other creatures. After swimming we had a drink and a bite to eat which was delicious and priced Right. We would definitely go again and would like to thank Roger and the staff for giving us a wonderful experience.

Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastianBalthazar, Marketing Manager at Sand Dollar Sports Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Robert K:

First of all thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments which are very important and valuable for us. We are glad to hear you had a great time. Just to let you know we are now the in house dive shop of The Westin Cozumel Hotel in case you are planning your next vacations to the island, we have many watersport options for you. Visit our website or contact our sales department for more info.

Best regards
Sand Dollar Sports Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sand Dollar Sports Diving also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Sand Dollar Sports Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing