We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
237
60
11
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
60
11
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews get away from it all heart shaped pool waves crashing on the rocks hatching season rueben no electricity huevos rancheros patio doors facing the sea wild rice breakfasts were wonderful cross breeze low maintenance air conditioning highly recommend renting a car wi fi chen rio
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

My family and I stumbled across this place as we were driving around the island in s golf cart. We ate lunch (chicken nachos, chicken and beef tacos abs guacamole and strawberry daiquiris). Food quality was ok. The guacamole and chips were tasty. Drinks were cold. Service was great. There was someone on the dock who appeared to have a sick shark in captivity(don't think he was associated with the restaurant). I gave this 4 stars because this restaurant sits on a beautiful little strip of beach. It appeared that this is a launch point for a catamaran tour so those tourists hung out until the tour left...and then we had the whole place to ourselves. Our own little oasis.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank atlantaaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in February. We've been to Cozumel several times via cruise ship excursions but had never stayed overnight. After seeing the crowds and craziness on the west side of the island near the cruise ship ports, we searched for a quieter location and found Ventanas al Mar. The reviews for this property seem to do a great job describing it, and it was pretty similar to what I'd pictured based on the reviews and pictures. We were very pleased with the property, its location, the staff and our stay. I will say, though, that it's definitely not for everyone. Here are a few things to consider that may affect your choice as to whether this property is for you or not.

1. It's remote. It's the only hotel on the entire east side of the island. That's a plus for peace and quiet, but not if you want nightlife or restaurants or beach clubs. It's approximately a 30 minute car ride to the west side. It's an easy drive, but be aware that at night there is a police stop at the end of the road crossing the island where it dead ends on the east side. The police officer spoke no English, but waved us on when we said, "Ventanas al Mar." I'm not entirely sure why they are there...security perhaps? It wasn't turtle nesting season when we were there, so it's not to protect the turtles. Either way, you want to expect that and not be alarmed by police lights and being stopped.

2. In February (and most of the year) as I understand, the water on the east side is very rough. We saw only two groups enter the water during our six day stay. It's doable, but there are huge crashing waves constantly and it's a workout to go in, not a quiet float. The sandy area by the hotel is flat and there were very few people using it during our stay. No cruise ship passengers, just a hotel guest or local here and there. There are several palapas for some shade and loungers to lay on. If you want to float in the water or snorkel, you'll have to go elsewhere.

3. Bugs and critters will probably end up in your room at some point. We had a few ants and a gecko. No big deal, but if that will upset you, look elsewhere. There is a resident iguana who seemed to hang out under the pool tile/sandy adjacent area. He walks around the sand and pool area when people give him space. Awesome to me, but for some people, maybe not so much.

4. Electricity is sporadic. They have a generator that runs the air conditioning from 8pm - 8am. The ceiling fan and electric outlets were powered all day and night. Three of our five nights, the generator went out and there was no a/c. We left our sliding door open and there are door panels in the front door that open to create a cross breeze. It was okay for sleeping (our room was first floor) but not great if you're sensitive to the heat. Even when there was no a/c, they must have a smaller generator that powers the water pumps because the sink still ran and the toilet still flushed. No lights or overhead fan though.

5. Food options are limited on the east side. We bought a styrofoam cooler, snack items, water bottles and liquor at Chadrui (supermarket) after we landed. We'd asked for a fridge in our room before we arrived and it was there when we checked in. It's small. We brought freezer cold packs from home to freeze in the mini fridge and then put in the cooler as needed. When we asked for ice, they would provide a small amount to fill a cup but I don't think they had enough to give guests for coolers. Breakfast is included, dinner is available by reservation. So you're left with the choice of eating lunch at one of the two adjacent restaurants (Coconuts and the Pescador), eating your own food, or going to the west side. For dinner, both of the adjacent restaurants close at 7pm so plan for dinner early, eat at Ventanas or go to the west side.

6. Biking - huge bike path runs the entirety of the east side and is separated from vehicle traffic. Beautiful views. We had bikes delivered and the hotel staff stored them for us.

7. All rooms have an ocean view and are to die for. You are practically ocean front -
it couldn't get better in terms of the proximity to the ocean and the views. Sitting on your patio or balcony and enjoying the views seemed to be a major pastime for most guests.

If you do stay here, be sure to bring plenty of cash. USD or pesos are fine, but not credit cards. For dinner at Ventanas, they want cash as do the adjacent restaurants. Punta Sur (the beach we went to two days) also wanted cash only for admission and food/drinks/massages, etc... It's an hour round trip to head to the ATM machines on the west side so be sure to have plenty of cash. Our room did not have a safe, but we felt fine leaving our electronics in the room and had no problem.

Ventanas is special with its peaceful, laid back vibe and amazing location. Just be sure the remoteness, lack of a swimmable beach and possible loss of power wouldn't be something that would bother you. If not, you can't beat this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Wife and I stayed for three nights in early March, sandwiched between four nights in Playa del Carmen and three nights in an all inclusive in Port Morelos. This place is definitely different; you are basically alone on the east side of the island of Cozumel. It's rustic and isolated, so if that's not okay with you than this isn't your place. The restaurants nearby (just a couple) close after dark, as they don't have electricity, though the hotel does have electricity (most of the time). The stars at night are incredible, as you're so far away from man-made lighting. The rooms are comfortable, but basic. The ocean is ever-present, driving peace into your heart with the sound of the surf. Wi-fi is only in the common area, as is food. It's very small, you definitely meet all the other travelers staying there while you are, so it's pleasantly social like that. I don't think it's a place for kids; best for adults. We have a fantastic time, and will return.

Room Tip: Don't worry about this; any room is fine. There aren't many.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We spent a week at an all inclusive and wanted to do something different for our last 2 nights in Cozumel. We found this little gem. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful, relaxing. Stunning views with a beautiful property. Staff was attentive and helpful, even made arrangements with another guest for a ride to the airport when we ran out of cash. I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing environment. Hotel and nearby restaurants only take cash for food and beverage.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Allows you to truly experience the beauty of Cozumel, both the environment and the people. I wish we could keep this a secret ;-) We typically stay 1wk on the commercial all inclusive side and then last week at Ventanas and I’m not sure why as Ventanas is our highlight of the vacation.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mdwatkins2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews