We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ventanas al Mar
Nearby Hotels
Playa Azul(Cozumel)
US$175
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds Friends Hostel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villas Las Anclas(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casita de Maya(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Inn(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
US$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
US$573
US$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
214
58
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
58
11
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsget away from it allwaves crashing on the rocksheart shaped poolhatching seasonorder ahead of timehuevos rancherosno electricityruebenfacing the seabreakfasts were wonderfulcross breezewild riceamazing locationhighly recommend renting a carair conditioningwi ficold shower
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! It was quiet and relaxing which is just what we were hoping for. You are far from the hustle and bustle of the main resort area which is great but you will definitely need to rent a car. The staff members were incredibly hospitable and kind. Rooms are spacious and clean and the you can not beat the ocean front view. We would definitely recommend Ventanas al Mar!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We stayed at ventanas for 9 days, the rooms are much larger than your average hotel. The bathroom was a bit small but doable. We were on the third floor so the ability to climb up and down stairs daily was a must. The only negative thing I can say is that the electric went out on two separate occasions during our stay. One of our crew is on a CPAP machine so this presented a bit of a problem. The staff worked diligently to fix the problem but both times it was out for several hours. Aside from that this hotel exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My partner and I recently stayed (March 6-march 13 2018) at Vantanas del Mar for 1 week stay. We had a wonderful, very relaxing experience. Staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. Food, although not very varied, was of high quality, tasty, and well prepared. Breakfast is included (freshly squeezed OJ, granola and yogurt and a huge selection of eggs preparations, coffee and tea) and a 3 course dinner is available with reservation. They do not have regular lunch service as most hotel guests are out and about during the day but they did prepare for us some tasty lunch and fruit drinks upon request. We enjoyed the serenity and the beautiful setting of the hotel so much it was hard to get ourselves away from it and into our rental car (more on this later)...

We had a clean, very large and conformable room with a king size bed, fridge and rain shower in the bathroom and, of course, unobstructed ocean view, like all rooms at Vantanas. Beach was really beautiful, but yes on this side of the island, there is often a lot of wind and the waves can be big. If the waves are too challenging, they have a beautiful, refreshing pool right by the beach.

Like a recent lengthy review from a Colorado traveler (Coloparkers) described so eloquently, Vantanas is not for everyone – certainly not for kids. The hotel is very secluded, and there is no night entertainment, bars and or music unless you go into town, a 20 min drive to the West side of the island. We did book a rental car with Avis upon arrival at the airport and the rental rate, when you include the insurance was astronomical. Total cost for the car for 1 week was US$775.00! We rented a medium-size Aveo Chevy. It was the most comprehensive insurance package they had and came with no deductible. Peace of mind came at a price. However, if you stay on this side of the island, you need a car to get around to get to the different points of interest, like Punta del Sur. Otherwise, they have plenty of taxis in the city, however not sure how reliable and/or timely the service is on this side of the island.

Also, be sure to have plenty of cash with you, as credit cards were taken nowhere on this side of the island, even at the government-run Punta del Sur marine and beach reserve. I was told it was due to the spotty cellular reception.

Some of the minor issues at the hotel (like spotty electricity – they run on diesel generators as they’re off the grid, AC between 8PM and 8AM only – I found the ceiling fan above the bed to be quite sufficient, no credit cards- although we were offered to settle and able to conveniently pay our food and drink bill with paypal via email) can be easily overcome and forgotten when you consider the absolute beautiful spot on the island you are getting in return.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting in a unique spot of Mexico.

And all that was an easy 3 and half hour direct flight from Toronto.

Room Tip: We had room 3
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

My family and I stumbled across this place as we were driving around the island in s golf cart. We ate lunch (chicken nachos, chicken and beef tacos abs guacamole and strawberry daiquiris). Food quality was ok. The guacamole and chips were tasty. Drinks were cold. Service was great. There was someone on the dock who appeared to have a sick shark in captivity(don't think he was associated with the restaurant). I gave this 4 stars because this restaurant sits on a beautiful little strip of beach. It appeared that this is a launch point for a catamaran tour so those tourists hung out until the tour left...and then we had the whole place to ourselves. Our own little oasis.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank atlantaaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in February. We've been to Cozumel several times via cruise ship excursions but had never stayed overnight. After seeing the crowds and craziness on the west side of the island near the cruise ship ports, we searched for a quieter location and found Ventanas al Mar. The reviews for this property seem to do a great job describing it, and it was pretty similar to what I'd pictured based on the reviews and pictures. We were very pleased with the property, its location, the staff and our stay. I will say, though, that it's definitely not for everyone. Here are a few things to consider that may affect your choice as to whether this property is for you or not.

1. It's remote. It's the only hotel on the entire east side of the island. That's a plus for peace and quiet, but not if you want nightlife or restaurants or beach clubs. It's approximately a 30 minute car ride to the west side. It's an easy drive, but be aware that at night there is a police stop at the end of the road crossing the island where it dead ends on the east side. The police officer spoke no English, but waved us on when we said, "Ventanas al Mar." I'm not entirely sure why they are there...security perhaps? It wasn't turtle nesting season when we were there, so it's not to protect the turtles. Either way, you want to expect that and not be alarmed by police lights and being stopped.

2. In February (and most of the year) as I understand, the water on the east side is very rough. We saw only two groups enter the water during our six day stay. It's doable, but there are huge crashing waves constantly and it's a workout to go in, not a quiet float. The sandy area by the hotel is flat and there were very few people using it during our stay. No cruise ship passengers, just a hotel guest or local here and there. There are several palapas for some shade and loungers to lay on. If you want to float in the water or snorkel, you'll have to go elsewhere.

3. Bugs and critters will probably end up in your room at some point. We had a few ants and a gecko. No big deal, but if that will upset you, look elsewhere. There is a resident iguana who seemed to hang out under the pool tile/sandy adjacent area. He walks around the sand and pool area when people give him space. Awesome to me, but for some people, maybe not so much.

4. Electricity is sporadic. They have a generator that runs the air conditioning from 8pm - 8am. The ceiling fan and electric outlets were powered all day and night. Three of our five nights, the generator went out and there was no a/c. We left our sliding door open and there are door panels in the front door that open to create a cross breeze. It was okay for sleeping (our room was first floor) but not great if you're sensitive to the heat. Even when there was no a/c, they must have a smaller generator that powers the water pumps because the sink still ran and the toilet still flushed. No lights or overhead fan though.

5. Food options are limited on the east side. We bought a styrofoam cooler, snack items, water bottles and liquor at Chadrui (supermarket) after we landed. We'd asked for a fridge in our room before we arrived and it was there when we checked in. It's small. We brought freezer cold packs from home to freeze in the mini fridge and then put in the cooler as needed. When we asked for ice, they would provide a small amount to fill a cup but I don't think they had enough to give guests for coolers. Breakfast is included, dinner is available by reservation. So you're left with the choice of eating lunch at one of the two adjacent restaurants (Coconuts and the Pescador), eating your own food, or going to the west side. For dinner, both of the adjacent restaurants close at 7pm so plan for dinner early, eat at Ventanas or go to the west side.

6. Biking - huge bike path runs the entirety of the east side and is separated from vehicle traffic. Beautiful views. We had bikes delivered and the hotel staff stored them for us.

7. All rooms have an ocean view and are to die for. You are practically ocean front -
it couldn't get better in terms of the proximity to the ocean and the views. Sitting on your patio or balcony and enjoying the views seemed to be a major pastime for most guests.

If you do stay here, be sure to bring plenty of cash. USD or pesos are fine, but not credit cards. For dinner at Ventanas, they want cash as do the adjacent restaurants. Punta Sur (the beach we went to two days) also wanted cash only for admission and food/drinks/massages, etc... It's an hour round trip to head to the ATM machines on the west side so be sure to have plenty of cash. Our room did not have a safe, but we felt fine leaving our electronics in the room and had no problem.

Ventanas is special with its peaceful, laid back vibe and amazing location. Just be sure the remoteness, lack of a swimmable beach and possible loss of power wouldn't be something that would bother you. If not, you can't beat this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews