We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love love this pretty little place”
Review of Casa el Pio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa el Pio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2017

it was my second time to stay at casa el pio. took my daughter in law and we loved it. not one complaint. extra clean, water cooler right outside the door for door, beach bag and towels in room to take to beach, bed very comfortable. we had the room with the little porch and it was great. next time, whick i hope will be soon, that is where i am staying. jose was very friendly and helpful also. can't wait to return. walk to toen in about one or two minutes.

Room Tip: love the room with the little porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary B, Owner at Casa el Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

We're so happy you had a nice time with us! Thank you for the review. Come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. After a hectic New Years in Playa del Carmen, we were so happy to walk into our room at Casa el Pio. Every single little detail made our stay in Isla Mujeres absolutely perfect! The clean simple decor highlighted the natural beauty of the island. It wasn't pretentious or tacky in any way, and really made you feel like you were on holidays. Not forgetting the complementary coffee machine, communal water cooler, the beer and tequila in the fridge, the hammock in the room, the beach bag and amazing Turkish beach towels, the reading light and lastly the notepad with previous guests reviews and tips of the hotel and island, which helped us when it came to finding great places to eat and drink- and they didn't disappoint. My favourite memory for Casa El Pio was making a fresh coffee in our room and taking it up to the rooftop, sitting on the hammock and watching the sunrise :)

My one and only regret (if you can even call it that) was that there were no blue coloured Turkish towels left to buy at the end of our stay- that's how good it was! There was pink and peach coloured ones which were really beautiful too, but I fell in love with the blue.. we're back in Australia now but would still love to somehow buy two of those towels they were great!

Thank you so much for such an amazing stay. We've already recommended it to a few people travelling there in the coming months. Absolutely loved it!! :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank s_omeara_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

This is our second time staying at the Pio and we still love it. Yeah it is white and yeah it is basic, but for the price and the solace it offers my family, it can't be beaten. We can't wait to come back next year.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sotro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay in Isla Mujeres! Had room 3 with ocean view. Beautiful! Large, relaxing room. Complimentary beer and tequila was a nice touch, along with beach bag and towels, hammock in the room, nice roof top relaxing area. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet, yet close to main area of town. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ken Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights through New Years. Good location if you want to in center city. It's just off the main square. We've stayed all over Isla and tend to prefer out of town but it was great fun to be in town at Casa el Pio as a change. Note: No kitchens or counter space but has a tiny area (above small fridge) with coffee maker, coffee, spoons, knife, cutting board, glasses. Wifi is sketchy (that happens all over his Isla)-- saw some guests outside their rooms trying to get a signal.

Pros: absolutely immaculate, decent towels including two lovely Turkish beach towels, nice lights, (white) marble floor, comfortable beds, friendly concierge, small fridge. We stayed in Room 1.

Cons: (Room 1) very stark design -- colorless white white white -- other than few photos, etc on walls felt quite charmless.

Window curtains did not block light from the outside hallway. Had to sleep in a room that was surprisingly bright at night even when we turned off outside lights on our terrace.

Very small area to put away clothes. Perhaps owners never spent time staying in our room? Consider adding storage such as wardrobe, shelves, generous number of wall hooks (none present other than in bathroom), perhaps have bedside end tables that have storage (what's present are pretty cubes but useless for storage). The small closet has one short bar, a hanging shoe bag, and a very high shelf (I'm 6' and it was too high for me).

Surprisingly awkward steep steps to lower "living room" (had to walk down it sideways), cramped sink area in bathroom has no shelf(s). My wife had to put on makeup standing up in living room by the mirror.

There are hanging cups on a bar in the bathroom useful for storing a toothbrush etc. but a shelf or two would have been nice.

Water was available outside our room from a water cooler. Unfortunately the hot side doesn't work. I understood from the concierge there are no plans to get the hot water working from the cooler which means if you want to make oatmeal or tea one must run water through the coffee maker.

I found the common area rooftop terrace area rather strange and unappealing. Two lounge chairs, odd curved bench. Felt like a work in progress that was halted.

Overall: The price was reasonable. The room was functional. Owners could probably make the place much more charming and comfortable without spending a lot money.


Stayed: January 2017
Thank cbraudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary B, Owner at Casa el Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Christopher - thank you for taking the time to leave a review and to call attention to the many pros to staying with us. We're happy that you noted many of the details that we have included to help make stays with us comfortable. When we opened ten years ago, our goals were to have a clean, modern space that everyone could afford. We travel a lot and put our favorite amenities that we have found on the road into our rooms at Pío like book lights, nice sheets, clotheslines, good water pressure, complimentary adult beverages, beach bags, hammocks, bottle openers and lighting where you need it. We also stay at Pío frequently (2 months out of the year on average) in order to make sure the rooms are as comfortable as we can make them at our price point. We bought an old, weird, pieced together apartment building and have made many upgrades over the years to make things more modern and to flow better but that said we still have things left over from that original footprint that we deal with like tall steps or narrow stairwells. We think it makes things a bit more charming but maybe you don't share that opinion. Fair enough.
We also deal with a lot of humidity and salt air coming off the sea. Our proximity to the gorgeous Caribbean has a price we pay in how we can furnish the rooms. We can only get away with using wood, plastic and concrete and everything in an open design as anything metal will rust instantly and anything closed like a dresser or armoire will become moldy and filthy nearly as fast. We tried. It doesn't work. That is why our storage for guests' clothing is accomplished through open cloth, washable cubbies that hang in the closet, the hanging bar in the closet with hangers, the shelf over the closet and the benches we had made for stacking folded items. It helps us keep the place "absolutely immaculate" which we assume means a lot more to folks than where to store their t-shirts on a beach vacation (in the cubbies).
We try to post realistic images on our site, on Trip Advisor and on our social media accounts so that guests have an idea of what our place looks like before staying with us. Yeah, there's a lot of white. It's easy for us to keep clean and also provides a blank, zen background from where to view the sky and the sea but it's not for everyone. I wish that you and Casa el Pío had been a better fit. It sounds like you needed a place that provides a different experience than what we do and uses more color in its room decor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.7 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.7 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
733 reviews
5.6 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
503 reviews
0.6 km away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa el Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa el Pio

Address: Av Hidalgo between Bravo and Allende, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: RM294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa El Pio, a small hotel located just off the town square in the center of Isla Mujeres' downtown district. The island's best beaches, food and shopping are all just a few steps away. Casa El Pio is clean, cute and modern. Amenities include a courtyard pool, free Wi-Fi access and beach tote with towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa El Pio Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing