We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...good destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place...good destination!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our third trip to Mexico via Cancun and even though we experienced some difficulties, it was our best. Villa Rolandi is a very nice destination and we found just about everything associated with the hotel, the restaurant, the facilities, and the general area of Isla Mujares fit what we were hoping to find.
To start with, Cancun is a hustle the second you clear customs. The exchange rate, the tour sellers, they have it down to a science. All you are is baggage with a wallet. And everyone wants to extract as much as they can with the one shot they get at you. So be forewarned.
Since it was our third time there, we thought we knew 'the drill' well enough to avoid paying extra for being met at the airport by a prepaid service and taken to the dock to meet the boat taking us over to Isla Mujares. Big mistake! We got taken to the wrong dock and had to take the public ferry and then a taxi to the hotel. We got there but it was a pure hassle. Turns out that the resort's boat (they call it a yacht...it isn't but it's a nice boat) had broken down anyway and wouldn't have met us even if we'd been in the right place. But these things happen...we managed to get there.
Once we did, we really liked the resort and the area. For us, it's about the perfect size...35 rooms. That allows the management and staff to get to know you just a little during the short time you're there (six nights for us) instead of being just another nameless, faceless tourist in the large resorts. We found the place to be very professionally run and the staff to be very friendly and informative.
Basically, I wouldn't call this an 'adventure' destination. This is more of a 'relax and have a drink by the pool' kind of place. It isn't quite a 5-star resort like the Rosewood Mayakoba outside Playa del Carmen (a previous visit) and the downtown area doesn't compare to 5th Avenue in Playa in terms of restaurants and shopping. But it costs a lot less than the Rosewood and we certainly didn't experience the throngs of tourists in Isla's district that we did on 5th Avenue. We liked it better. It was a lot more personal at Villa Rolandi and I didn't feel hustled even a single time by the management and staff. In fact, I was really surprised at the totally fair exchange rate they gave us for our dollars (a first in our three visits to Mexico) and pleased with what I perceived as genuinely friendly service.
While we were there, they had 32 of their 35 rooms booked but we never had a problem getting a table in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner. And we never had a problem getting a couple of good, sunny poolside lounge chairs. And by the second day, the poolside attendants (that I liked and enjoyed talking to) knew us by name and knew when to bring us a drink.
We read some reviews that panned the restaurant as overpriced and the food average. But I didn't find that to be the case at all. Interestingly, the menu at the restaurant is northern Italian and not Mexican. Not my favorite, personally, but my wife loves pasta dishes. We took a taxi downtown several times (80 pesos - $5) to eat Mexican food and shop a little. I ate a couple of really good steaks at the hotel restaurant. My wife enjoyed her pasta dishes. My experience was that the food was pretty good and the prices were fair. We did observe one morning that Richard Branson had his yacht anchored right off the resort and was there eating breakfast with his family...for what that's worth.
If you're looking for excitement and adventure, this is not your place. If you want to pay a reasonable price to just relax and be treated well, then I think this is a great week away from cold weather. The beach isn't much (very little shoreline and actual beach) but it's clean and well attended. Far better to get a little sun by the two main pools (they have 3 but one didn't appear to be used much), one of which is a heated, salt water pool.
The rooms are very nice, although hardly oppulent. The bigger of the two options is better (we stayed in both) and you want to be on the third floor and not the first. You don't get much privacy on the first floor right next to the pool. And you get a few more mosquitos.
Now, a couple more tips. First, take a taxi into town (it's so incredibly cheap and you can easily hail one to get back) instead of renting a golf cart. The taxi drivers tailgate the much slower golf carts relentlessly and you don't want to get run over on your vacation. We cringed on more than once or twice while riding into town in a taxi.
Next, sit yourself down in the resort's cigar bar right off the main lobby and order a shot of Selection Suprema tequila. It is absolutely fabulous...$40 a shot though. We liked it well enough to come home with a bottle ($2,300 pesos or about $175), about half of what you can buy it for online here in the states. Don Julio, Patron...forget those. Just get yourself one shot to sip and see for yourself. We also came back with a bottle of 30-year old Guatemalan rum...courtesy of the recommendations made to us by Rolandi's staff.
This is not the most fabulous, most beautiful place we have ever stayed. But it was very, very nice and definitely both genuine and a real bargain for the money. We avoid the high density tourist areas like the proverbial plague. We want to stay where we are treated as real guests and not just another in a long line of nameless, faceless people occupying a room. And this is what we got at Villa Rolandi. Victor was our go to guy and I commend him for his professionalism. But I have to add that everyone we talked to at the front desk and elsewhere were both very friendly and highly professional. The place is simply very well run. And the one time we had an 'issue' (I HATE COMPLAINING) it was dealt with honestly and fairly. You can't ask for more than that.
Bottom line...we will go back. For us, Mexico is the easy button. It doesn't take you three layovers/connections to get there and it doesn't cost as much as most comparable Caribbean island destinations when you do. So when we choose an affordable, easy button destination...Villa Rolandi will be at the top of our list. It's right up there near the top in terms of pure value for your money. And now that we've been there once, we know exactly how to make the next visit perfect.
Please don't hesitate to contact me with questions. Always glad to help if I can...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    222
    63
    25
    15
See reviews for
95
978
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

From the very moment we stepped into the Cocoon, Rolandi's private yacht, until the moment we arrived back to Cancun, the experience was fantastic. Upon arrival at Villa Rolandi, we were greeted by Ricardo and offered a wet towel and a mimosa. Since our room was not ready yet, we were invited to enjoy the pool and or beach. We were able to check in early and enjoy the beautiful day. Waiters were plentiful and brought drinks upon request and lunch poolside was delicious. The salt water hottub was very relaxing and rejuvenating. At 3, our room was ready and we ventured to the second floor to Room 302. Everything in the room was top shelf and we loved the mini bar filled with water, soda and beer. The steam room/shower was unbelieveable and the king sized bed and goose feather/foam pillows were a joy. The flat screen TV offered many choices and the deck hot tub was divine. Dinner was
elegant with a lobster salad appetizer that could have been the main entree. Choices were plentiful and desserts divine. I loved my coconut ice cream with Kahula. Since it was Valentine's Day, we were given a rose upon departure from the restaurant. Every aspect of this hotel is exquisite and I can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egedio321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our return to VR was a wonderful as our last visit, Good friends, great service and a wonderful food and ambiance. A great time on Isla as always....this time not only our anniversary celebration but aslo attending a wedding at VR:) Nicely done.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lise0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012 via mobile

Villa Rolandi, in Isla Mujeres is just a short yacht ride away from Cancun, but worlds apart in spirit. This is not a Spring Break resort, but rather, a well needed, relaxation and rejuvenation spot, very different from any vacation resort we have ever visited. Villa Rolandi has the ambiance of an intimate and yet sizeable inn.
We arrived at Cancun airport over an hour late, yet the driver that the hotel lined up for us was there and waiting for us, as was "The Cocoon" the hotel yacht. We were greeted by the most helpful and efficient Victor at the dock, where we were greeted with cooling face cloths and cooler mimosas. Checking in took mere moments, and we were escorted to our spacious, third floor junior suite.
Don't let the term "junior suite" fool you. We had a perfect view of the pool and ocean, a jacuzzi and breakfast spot on the terrace, a king sized bed under the bricked dome-like ceiling, stained glass windows over the patio door, AC and a ceiling fan, plenty of closet space, a sitting area with two sofas, and an extra large shower with four cross shower jets, two shower heads above, and a steam room jet. The surround sound music even played in the shower!
The beach, while small was beautiful, well kept and private. With only a limited number of guests, there was never a lack of beach chairs and umbrellas. The three pools were the same, plenty of chairs, plenty of personal space, and plenty of quiet. The beach/pool experience was only made better by the team of Sergio and Ariel. These two gentlemen attended to our every need be it food, drink or adjusting chairs and umbrellas. They anticipated what we might need even without ever being intrusive. Ariel even showed me a big blue crab that lives under the steps to the beach, pulling it out with his bare hands so I could get a photo!
The restaurant provided excellent (included) breakfasts either in our room or downstairs. I wish I had some of their French toast at home! The dinner menu was excellent and varied. We rarely ventured into town for a meal. The service was just as fabulous as the food. Even the poolside light lunches, salads, pizzas, and ceviches were above average.
Every employee of the hotel that we encountered treated us as if we were special. This is where the inn-like atmosphere was evident. If you are looking for a quiet, semi-private, excellent service type of hotel, with excellent food, this is the place! Thank you Villa Rolandi for a memorable vacation!!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank jazzdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The service is friendly, and the restaurant is good. We did get a honeymoon suite upgrade, which was great. The jacuzzi didn't work but they were prompt to fixing it.
Breakfast was included.

I gave this only 4 stars because 15 months ago, I stayed in Cancun and was at the Ritz Carlton, which was way more superior. For a hotel that is considered a Luxury Hotel, I just expected much more. I often stay at the likes of Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton, and unfortunately, the quality of the food at the restaurant and the feel of the property was not to par. I think this place needs a renovation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
2.0 km away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,134 reviews
8.4 km away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
16.2 km away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,828 reviews
10.7 km away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Property: Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price range (per night): RM1,865 - RM4,116
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing