We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #8 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We loved staying at Casa IxChel. We were very comfortable. Everything was clean. I have no complaints whatsoever. We arrived late at night and they had everything ready and our room was waiting for us. I loved the view of the Carribean Sea, especially. The bed was super comfy. Loved the soap dish in the shower

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2015

Good price and the rooms are not bad. However, the pool area is in poor conditions and the shower water never got hot during our stay. The front desk is only open in certain hours and you should not expect any kind of service, except for room cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadeu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

Great hotel that is far enough away from the craziness of the tourist area bars and shops, but a quick cart or taxi ride away. A place you can just lay I'm a large lounge chair and listen to the water. Or grab a drink and relax in the pool. I stayed in a suite which was big. The a/c was cold. The maid kept the place spotless. When you arrive go see Moye the bartender upstairs for a great drink

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BELLYWOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

We arrived at Casa Ixchel fairly late on in the day and all the arrangements had been made for our room with a sweet little welcome sign on the door. The restaurant staff even made me a margarita when we asked, despite the restaurant looking like it was closing for the evening.

The room was great, it had a very slight smell of damp maybe from the air con or bathroom but nothing horrendous. It was clean and the bed was really big and comfy. since staying in non-aircon rooms since it was a dream to have this facility! There was also a fridge to store water and beers which was really useful.

For the price we paid we felt like we had the best view on the island overlooking the Caribbean. You're really close to mangos cafe which is about a 10 minute walk and so worth it and the casa can also organise golf buggy rental for you which we did for a day. The general area is quiet and there are small convenience stores around for water and essentials.

We were glad to be away from the main playa Norte and we're happy to golf buggy in. We have to say that we thought the walk was a bit further than 20 minutes but maybe that's because we carried our backpacks with us when we left. I'd say when it's hot take a cab for 80 pesos or rent the golf buggy for 650 pesos for 24 hours - much more fun and less sweaty!

We had a lovely stay and a good start to the holiday. The reception is only open 9-5 so you're on your own in the evening. The water stopped for us one night so couldn't flush loo but they soon fixed it the next morning.

All in all we'd definitely recommend this spot! Great value and you'll struggle to find better for the same price.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoriahk37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We got a smokin' deal on the internet to stay here. Would I do it again? Yes but only for a night or two. It is a budget hotel and a comfortable one at that. We did not spend much time in the room, so it was ok. The room was quite small...the least expensive room...AND it had a small refrigerator and microwave which was a plus. It was clean, quiet and comfy. When you are out exploring all day, what more could you want.
The first night we were there we were tired. After checking in with Elena, who was absolutely a delight we went upstairs to have a drink. Great margaritas! We are foodies and wanted to try their food. We had a couple of appetizers and they were just ok...not great. Later that evening when we got back we took a dip in the pool. The perfect temperature! It was a great place to cool off. The deck around the pool needs a little maintenance, but overall it was decent. There is no shade at the pool. So unless you want to bake, there is no place to sit during the heat of the day.
There is no beach. It is on the windward side of the island and we knew that going in. All in all, it was actually a great getaway. We only stayed 3 nights and it was great for what we wanted this time around. The hotel is as everyone says a 20 minute walk to the main part of town. Every place in Isla is safe, so safety is not an issue when walking into town. The taxi ride from the main part of town to Casa Ixchel was 40 pesos...around 3 dollars, one way and seemed reasonable.
We rented a modped to get around town, which was a blessing. Parking is easier with a moped than a golf cart. Just be sure to always wear helmets as the police do give tickets if you are not wearing one.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.6 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,402 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
433 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
742 reviews
2.5 km away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,012 reviews
2.6 km away
Playa La Media Luna Hotel
Playa La Media Luna Hotel
#6 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: RM326 - RM1,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing