We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but they are doing renovation at the same time...”
Review of Casa Ixchel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ixchel
Ranked #8 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Generally it was a good place, but during our stay there were constant renovation and fixing, I guess due to "low" season. A little inconvenience, when you are using your room but there are people constantly outside your window patching during daytime. Restaurant does not open on Mondays, which is good to know. They provide clean water for you, clean fridge. We stayed at one of the room downstairs, overlooking the ocean, great breeze and view. But the room itself is very badly lit, and some insects and spiders here and there, which is natural. There aren't a lot of people around if you need help. More like a self service, airbnb type of stay. Just note, the wifi is very unstable if you need to be connected. Also, just remember this is not a beach front, it's not the side of the ocean where you want to take a dip. The water is very rough with lots of rocks.

Room Tip: good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emak212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2016

I read a lot of the reviews before we decided on this place and we we're very happy that we stayed here. We checked in after 5pm and the staff had our name printed out for us by the office and someone was there to greet us and take us to our room, even though the office was closed. We stayed in the Harmony room with a great ocean view. The room was clean and cold (much needed after being out in the heat). I loved the shell that the water came out of in the bath. The room had a small kitchen with a mini fridge to keep our beer cold. We rented a scooter for a couple days to explore the island which was around $35/day (well worth it) because the hotel is on the east side of the island and the beach is rocky, not ideal for swimming so you will need to go to Playa Norte to swim and it's quite a walk north. Make sure you check out Punta Sur and the Ixchel temple but go early because it was wayyyy to hot at 2:00pm and I literally felt like I was going to die...but i made it lol. There's lots to explore (tons of walking) at the Ixchel temple and it's a $3 fee to enter but well worth it. Over all, I would definitely stay here again. It was quiet, peacefully, the restaurant above the hotel was amazing. We only ate there once for breakfast and wish we could of ate there again before we left. Only complaint is that the room was very very bright in the morning (not good for the hangover).

Room Tip: Harmony room is right next to the pool and has an awesome ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Decent little hotel with a roof top restaurant and an excellent view and good breeze. Our room was comfortable and well maintained but small. Staff were efficient and helpful. Hotel would benefit from better maintenance of pool deck area, and a couple of loungers instead of all tanning beds. Roof top restaurant was good.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Archer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Really lovely place located within easy access of the main town and Norte beach (10 mins in taxi). You look out on the beautiful blue sea and there is a pool and nice comfy sun beds to lie on. You can't swim there as it's too rough so you would need to travel for a swim.The restaurant has really good food and the staff are nice there.We stayed in a room called PEACE and it was nicely appointed with a little kitchen and fridge, though it was on the tight side space wise.Beds were rock hard and be aware that there is no door on the toilet if that bothers you!! Only real fault for us would be the front desk personnel who were not very accommodating with our simple requests and had to be actively encouraged to follow up on bookings with taxis etc. We possibly stayed in Isla Mujeres a little too long and would have headed on to Tulum sooner had we known how beautiful it was there, but that may be a personal preference.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeeMo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

If your looking for quiet, beautiful place on the beach this is the one. Service was above and beyond. The restaurant had amazing food. Great place for beach combing. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The pool was well maintained and lovely.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank dennydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.6 km away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,403 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
435 reviews
3.7 km away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
174 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
2.5 km away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ixchel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ixchel

Address: Salina Chica, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: RM324 - RM1,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small relaxing boutique hotel located in the middle of the Island with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ixchel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Louise Ixchel Hotel Isla Mujeres
Casa Ixchel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing