We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat near the centre of Merida”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Villa Merida is a beautiful classic Mexican hacienda which has been sympathetcially restored. It is located slightly outside the centre of Merida and all the better for it. It is a 15 minute walk to the centre or a 5 minute taxi ride which are readily available. The Manager (Luis) and the staff are very helpful whilst remaining in the background. I had a number of requests concerning the room which were all attended to the same day which improved my 3 night stay hugely. The breakfast is fresh & delicious served in the garden or the patio next to the fountain. Any arrangement requested was no trouble. I was told to treat the hotel as my home whilst in Merida and when I had moved to my next hotel in Celestun which I felt went beyond the usual hotel experience particularly for a female solo traveller. Go for a massage 5 minutes walk from the hotel at Casa Catherwood, ask for Celida - first class.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a courtyard room but has a mosquito net which the others do not.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SSS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Villa Merida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Beautiful old house renovated, is an excellent choice. Run by 3 super friendly persons, sometimes takes them a few minutes to arrange everything, but that's the part of its enchant.
Nice rooms, with AC and TV, restaurant only for breakfast with little menu but delicious.
It's located far from city center, but nothing a 30 pesos taxi can't reach.
The service is great, in general the price is good for the product you get.
Maybe not the most luxury option, but for real warm nice and friendly hotel is a great option.

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Druso H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Villa Merida Hotel was exactly what we were looking for on our trip. The city can be noisy and the hotel is off the beaten path but not too far to walk or taxi. Hey at $4 bucks US for a trip to the center of town who could complain? Lots of options for dinner, shopping, cocktails, museums, parks, etc.
The staff is so helpful when needed but generally quiet, it feels like this is our own villa. They serve a custom breakfast and a few evening drink options.
The pool area is beautiful and quiet. The water is really cold but nice to sit and dangle your feet.
It really could not be more perfect for our needs. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BelleBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Pluses:

Beautiful residence. Very high ceilings in our room (#3), nice patio, beautiful pool
Friendly staff

Minuses:

Remote location, far from city center, in an unattractive neighborhood, making the 20-minute walk to the city center unpleasant. The hotel is on calle 59, which is a major artery inside this 1-million inhabitant city, so the noise level is high during the expedition to city center. Using a side street is not practical, as they are deserted with no attraction whatsoever.

Price: About 40% too high in our opinion

Poor lighting in the rooms. You cannot read in bed

Pool: was empty when we were there, so the bath we had dreamed off on the well-advertised , idyllic web image of the pool, remained just that: an unrealized dream. The staff explained to us that they were washing it, which did not seem genuine to us.

Room Tip: Number 3 was good, but obscure
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Backing home right now and I start to miss this great place, green gardens around and a very special and devote service, manager Luis is a great host, Raul help us with the city tour and transportation to Celestun, where the flamingo birds and the mangroove and beach are exquisite. At the hotel Luis cook for us a very nice dish named "Pescada with Habanero sauce"... simply delicious!!! I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Junior Suite at courtyard area are very quiet and ample, ask for the room with the skylight and the...
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yordanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
1.6 km away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
0.5 km away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
0.2 km away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: RM815 - RM945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing