We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Great place, near from Merida's downtown!
You have different options when you decide to stay here. A rest day in your vacation could be great staying at this beautiful place, using the pool, and all the common areas. And if you want to walk you can do it to downtown. Supermarket and coffe shops are near.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DaliCardiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Villa Merida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

After spending the week bouncing back and forth in low-budget accommodation between Mérida and Progreso, my friend and I were very excited to spend our final night in México at Villa Mérida.

That's not to say Villa Mérida's rates are extortionate; in fact, it is very VERY fairly priced considering the incredible opulence, comfort, and beauty it offers.

Villa Mérida leaves no stone unturned when it comes to providing an ethereal experience for its guests.

Our room was on the second floor and was very large; it had two queen-sized beds, two large mirrored wardrobes, a shared terrace balcony with leather-backed rocking chairs overlooking the pool and well-kept gardens, and much, much more.

Villa Mérida has (literally) everything you could need and then some: a beautiful swimming pool, state-of-the-art kitchens, industrial-sized laundry machines (with soap and softener provided!), great safety, reliable WiFi, and (of course) an incredible ambiance and peace in the hub of bustling Mérida.

I (nor my friend) have literally no complaints about Villa Mérida other than that it's slightly (and only very slightly) outside the "heart" of the centro. However, it's a quick and cheap taxi ride to the center; Erika (the owner/manager of Villa Mérida) is happy to call you a discounted taxi - or you can hail one directly out front on the street.

In short, if you want a sweet slice of colonial luxury at a fraction of the cost, Villa Mérida is the only place to go.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Villa Merida was a delight and made our holiday in Mexico one to remember. We stayed there for seven nights. The ensuite rooms are set around a 'cloister' so we had direct access to the pretty fountain complete with waterlilies and flowers. Stunning! Our room was large with a tiled floor; it had a huge mahogany bed which was blissfully comfortable made better by snowy white bedding and lots of pillows. We had air-conditioning on at night so slept brilliantly. The was a small sofa and chair so we had our own little sitting area. The shower was good and hot; we had a minor water issue at one point but this was solved speedily with the minimum of fuss. Great service! Fresh drinking water was put in the room on a daily basis. I struggle to find anything to dislike - perhaps a larger wardrobe? Outside in another area was a huge garden and swimming pool towered over by palms. Here we could relax on sturdy loungers or sit at a table with breakfast. The pool water was clean and filtered; beach towels available. There was a large and superbly equipped kitchen for use of guests. We bought and made our own breakfast, and twice we cooked a meal here to take out into the garden. Good free coffee was available all the time and there was ample access to such items as oil, salt and spices. Next door was a washing machine and dryer which we used on our last night so that we had all clean clothes for the next part of our holiday. Our hosts were kind, considerate and could not have been more helpful. I cannot recommend Villa Merida highly enough - it was also amazing value for money. It was somewhere around £250 for the whole week. Some people seemed to have issues with the location - we did find the buses a little tricky. However, just by hailing the very frequent taxis, we were taken to the centre (a mile away) quickly and cheaply.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joblue32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Our stay here was perfect. It was flag day. The neighbors were enjoying it but we couldn't hear anything inside of our room. Everything was clean and comfortable. I spoke with a few different people around the property & everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend 110% Would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Given the great value and interior beauty of this lodging, I would give it five stars (for a great value lodging) except for its location 15 minutes walking distance from the historic "center". We started with a small problem with the water being down in our booked room, but the management didn't hesitate to upgrade us to an even nicer and more spacious room. The room was clean, very quiet, the bed very comfortable, plenty of hot water, and courteous hardworking staff. The star of the villa is the cool courtyard, gardens and beautiful and peaceful architecture, which was a welcome relief after walking around in the heat of Merida city.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
2.1 km away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
1.6 km away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
1.0 km away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#70 of 106 in Merida
173 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: RM809 - RM947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing