We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Week in Downtown Merida”
Review of Hotel Montejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montejo
Ranked #46 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Historic hotel with classic courtyard and small pool. Right in the heart of Merida Centro. Rooms are clean, rather spartan, but comfortable and air conditioned. Reasonably quiet. Bathroom is nice with shower stall.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montejo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed just one night in Merida, between visits to Chichen Itza and Uxmal. I was looking for a centrally located, low priced, colonial style hotel within walking distance to the main sites and restaurants. The Montejo checked all these boxes. Otherwise it's a fairly spartan hotel, the beds are classic Mexican (very firm/hard), the towels were few and thin, the pool was nice but small and no pool towels were provided. The desk attendant who checked us in spoke excellent English which was helpful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank CarrsPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My family stayed here for 4 nights and we were happy with our choice. It is within walking distance to everywhere (cathedral, many restaurants, many squares, even the zoo).

Our room was basic but very clean (our maid was a lovely woman) and it had AC - 2 dbl beds, nightstand, desk, ward ward and dresser. The sink is located in the main bedroom but it is fine. The ceilings were really high and we found it quite charming.

There are a few gathering spots around this hotel which we really appreciated. The area at the top of the stairs is wonderful and the patio tables and umbrellas are a nice touch. There is a water station right beside the check in desk - nice cold water, we always filled up our bottles before we left for our adventures.

The pool area is very nice. There is a covered area with places to sit, a few loungers (that other guests have not respected and most are broken in one way or another but still usable, just not pristine), a bathroom and many trees which provide relief from the sun and they add to the nice atmosphere. I've read previous reviews about the pool being dirty and filled with leaves. Yes, there are leaves in the pool....there are trees around. I'd much prefer a few leaves in the pool than be exposed to the sun with little escape. We found the pool very clean.

We did have a few issues. Upon checkin one of our rooms really smelled of smoke. We requested to be moved and were within minutes. The man at check in and maid both seemed surprised and went to check out the room themselves. We noticed the room was aired out for the next few days.

Our biggest issue was that the night we checked in (Sat) there was a party going on from about 10 - 3 am. Everything was great until 10 and then the boom boom boom started....and didn't stop. I asked in the morning if this happened every night and was told there is a bar very close that is open Friday and Saturday night. It didn't happen again during our stay but I would not stay here (or at least in our room - 2nd floor close to the reception desk) again on a Friday or Saturday night unless I planned in partaking in the party.

For the price we paid we were very happy with our stay - after the Saturday night party ended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

I arrived 8am from the airport after traveling overnight. I knew there would be a wait for my room but 5 hours was a bit much. It is a good basic hotel, very basic. Only one towel per day. No wash cloth for your face. Waited until 5pm a couple of days to have the room cleaned. WiFi is very good. The restaurant at the entrance of the hotel is simple and kind of bland. Desk staff and cleaning staff were GREAT!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request a ground floor room and possibly upgrade from the standard...
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddymaine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Montejo, first 2 on the first floor, next 2 on the second floor. First room was a little musty because the bathroom door wouldn't stay open and there is no window or exhaust fan in the bath. A little time with the a/c on and the windows open aired things out. Otherwise it was a nice large room with 2 double beds. The second room had a sewer smell coming from the shower drain. I put a wet washcloth in a plastic bag and placed it over the drain. Works every time. This room had a nice king bed. The pool was clean, the staff friendly and informed, with some English. Plus a 24 hour desk. For 26 bucks you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: second floor in rear of the courtyard
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rowland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#43 of 106 in Merida
170 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#62 of 106 in Merida
54 reviews
0.2 km away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#87 of 106 in Merida
78 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#52 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 106 in Merida
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montejo

Address: Street 57 No. 507 | between 62 and 64, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: RM113 - RM248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montejo 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Montejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing