We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$351
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soho Playa Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$234
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$494
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$792
US$627
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,419 results
Traveller rating
2,063
232
83
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
232
83
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolrainforest experienceoutdoor bathtubeco toursaffron restaurantsands restaurantin villa diningla coparesort hostreflections poolsanctuary pool villavilla bbqbreakfast buffetbuggy driversbuggy servicegolf cartmayakoba area
Filter
Updating list...
1,785 - 1,790 of 2,419 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2011

What else can we ask for in a honeymoon when we got our own villa with swimming pool and garden. The villa is extremely beautiful and private. The spa is amazing with 100% customer service. The boat ride to the beach is a new and fun experience. Breakfast buffet is the best (and Free!) You also get free wifi access "anywhere" in the resort! Only draw back is the over priced restaurant, but we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen_Min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear Jen_Min

I wish to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and spa facilities and service.

It is very gratifying for the Banyan Tree Mayakoba team to know that we could meet your expectations.

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Mayakoba for your Honeymoon, and for taking the time to share your comments.

We certainly will be glad to welcome you back again to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With Best Regards,


Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The villas, beach, service, and food are 5 star. We just left today and extended our stay one extra night because we were having such a great time.

As everyone says, the villas provide everything needed ...great bed/mattress, the indoor and outside bathroom is incredible (oh and the shower and water pressure was awesome). There are Bose wave radios so just bring your IPOD. I've read some complaints about the location of the TV, well if you go to Banyan Tree to watch TV you're wasting $$$. The "plunge pool" is too large to be called a plunge pool - the water was great and being able to take a late night or early morning swim was great. The pool size was a huge plus over Rosewood.

The service was special and what you'd come to expect at a 5 star resort. Every attempt is made to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Marcos at the beach was always on the job take care of business …thanks Marcos.

For golfers the golf course is right on property and it's a fair and beautiful course. I finished 18 holes in 3.5 hours and really enjoyed the course.

One thing that I hadn't read before is the ability to shuttle between the Fairmont, Rosewood, and Banyan. If the concierge makes dinner reservations or other arrangements on your behalf, you can charge directly to your room. Also, each hotel will take you to the other hotel, as there seems to be a working arrangement between all resorts. We didn't go to the Fairmont, but Rosewood's lobby area is picturesque and it's work going over there to the tequila bar or lobby areas.

We really wanted to stay at a resort where we could see and hear the beach from our room, and if that’s must there are 5 star resorts like Maroma. That said we also really like the villa feel of Banyan and getting to and from the beach was never an issue. Bottom-line, Banyan Tree is a special place and one we will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atlbrown_Fun_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Atlbrown_Fun_Seeker

I appreciate that you have shared your impressions about our property. I am happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and that we had gone beyond your expectations. We definitively will look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon here. WOW!!!! This is a really special place, It is amzingly beautiful. You feel like you are in a little slice of heaven. Our Villla was really fantastic. It's big and the private pool was a really great way to enjoy the sun and have some privacy. Of course nothing seemed crowded on the resort at any point. I reccommend going into Playa del Carmen and Going to Coba if you stay here. This place is top notch. The only people I would say might not enjoy this place would be the ones who need the resort to be right on the beach. You have to be taken by boat or they will pick you up and take you on a golf cart to the beach club.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Friendly and attentive staff. Gorgeous rooms with luxury abounds. The beachfront villas are the best in the Caribbean, each with a private pool and hot tub. Location could not be more perfect. Beautiful lagoons surround the resort with lots of wildlife to observe and enjoy. The Concierge made fabulous recommendations for everything from spa services (which are extensive with an exceptional staff), activities to fill the day and dinner reservations. Truly a world class hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana5417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Jana5417

I thank you very much for your comments about your resent stay at Banyan tree Mayakoba. It is gratifying to hear that our staff and rooms met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

With Best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I spent a very long time looking for the perfect honeymoon resort and Banyan Tree was definitely the perfect choice! The place was beautiful, our villa was amazing, the service was the best! The restaurants were great, loved the breakfast buffet. Perfect place for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Masha330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Masha330

Thank you for choosing our property for such a special occasion. We really appreciate your compliments. We will definitively share this communication with our staff since it is very satisfying to hear that you had a perfect honeymoon in this sanctuary of the senses.

Kindest regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews