We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,532)
Filter reviews
2,532 results
Traveller rating
2,170
238
83
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,170
238
83
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool rainforest experience outdoor bathtub eco tour saffron restaurant sands restaurant in villa dining la copa resort host sanctuary pool villa breakfast buffet reflections pool villa bbq buggy drivers golf cart beach club mayakoba area
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 2,532 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this incredible resort. It is by far the BEST resort in the Mayakoba complex, and in Riviera Maya/Playa del Carmen.

My fiancée and I came through Wedaways, a destination wedding, honeymoon, and romantic travel platform, for our engagement moon. We COULD NOT have been happier.

The resort is everything to everyone. It is the perfect destination wedding location, romantic and luxurious honeymoon destination and amazingly fun family resort! It's situated perfectly behind the gated Mayakoba community, away from the rest of the properties in the complex. There's a gorgeous lagoon that runs through the property, on which you can have an eco-tour and even get off at the different hotels, if you want. But there is no need to go anywhere else. The property has an area that is RIGHT on the crystal blue waters. Yes, there is a bit of a seaweed issue but not nearly as bad as it was a few years ago and they are working tirelessly to get rid of it. It didn't bother us since we were just in heaven luxuriating by the water on the amazing beach beds.

The Rooms: They're all private villas! They have one-bedrooms, two-bedrooms, and three-bedrooms. We stayed in the entry level one-bedroom room category and it was far superior to many Suite category rooms in other luxury resorts around the world. They each have a private pool, not a small plunge pool that many hotels claim they have, but a large, swimmable pool! with large tubs, amazingly spacious bathrooms and a walk in closet. Large outdoor area with 2 large and comfortable beds for relaxing and tanning in privacy. The villa is set behind a gated door for absolute privacy. The bed is large and comfortable and the hotel asks before arrival about pillow preferences. I also love that they had flip flops and a beach bag in the closet for our use, seriously anticipating my needs! Maintenance will come and clean the pool whenever you call, and if anyone wants to enter the room, they call beforehand.

The Food: Drooling just thinking about it. Let me start with breakfast. Made to order quesadillas with homemade tortillas every morning, with tons of topping options. Made to order chiliquillas, tacos, omelet station, waffles, pancakes and more, all made to order and DELICIOUS. Aside from the plentiful made to order selection, you have your usual breakfast suspects, elevated. Breads, cheeses, different fish options, cold cut meats, the freshest fruit you ever did taste (do not skip the mango), and a variety of hot foods including your typical American selection of bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes, etc.I looked forward to this breakfast every morning! Yummy mimosas also included. Do try the Mexican hot chocolate and an iced coffee, too! Moving on to lunch. We lounged by the beach most days, where we ordered from Sands restaurant. We ordered guacamole at least 3 times, the fish tacos, ceviche, it was all DELICIOUS and served right to us on our beach beds. For dinner, the signature banyan Tree Saffron is a MUST. Better than the flagship Bangkok location. Some of the best Thai food I've ever had (and I've been to Thailand!) MUST orders: Pad Thai, Spring Rolls. The food in the resort is expensive, but you also get what you pay for. High quality ingredients, gourmet cuisine with amazing chefs that will create whatever you want. This is not an inexpensive all-inclusive or mid-level beach hotel, this is top notch, and delicious food, which does have the price tag to match.

The Drinks: STRONG and flavorful. Our bartender even brought us the bottle of alcohol to add more if we wanted. Plenty of options from the menu and of course they can make you whatever you want. They are pricey, but it's what to expect from a beach resort of this caliber and honestly, the drinks are large and strong that one drink is more like two!

The Facilities: The 3 pools (1 kiddie) are all fantastic. One is with a beach backdrop and has a swim up bar, loved it! The other two are near the middle of the property and are really relaxing and not busy at all, since most people prefer the beach or ocean view pool. The spa is a MUST. Many treatments to choose from and amazing spa rooms. Perfect for a romantic couple's treatment. You can also choose to do an in-villa massage, which is also amazing. The La Copa bar is set in a relaxing area and we loved hanging here in the evenings while sipping a cocktail and enjoying a cigar (the property has a selection to choose from).

The Service: I end my review with the service because it was absolutely fantastic and just cannot be beat. I've traveled the world and stayed at the best hotels, and this was absolutely the best service I've received. From the check-in with Cristina who explained the resort and showed us our villa, to the pool service by Marcos, and breakfast staff Arnold and Javier, I just cannot rave enough. You feel like a VIP the entire stay.

Okay, I went through the entire stay, and I think it's pretty apparent that WE WILL BE BACK. We're already making plans to stay an extended period for our honeymoon! It is a must-visit destination for sure, and so easily accessible. If you feel like you want to leave the resort, there's a free private shuttle between all of the resorts in the Mayakoba complex so you can try dinner at a different resort if you want. Honestly, you won't want to leave.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Every room is a great room! All have private (swimmable) pools. Loved our lagoon facing villa!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Peter_Hechler, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Pamela S,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. I will pass your comments to all staff as there is nothing better than to be acknowledged by one of our valued guests. Your praise will definitely encourage and motivate our staff.

Thank you for recommending us with all Trip Advisor followers. We look forward to welcome you soon in our Sanctuary for the Senses!

Kind Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm-mayakoba@banyantree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

The villas are very nice and comfortable
The food is very good and the people very friendly and profesional They are all pending of us I am planning to come back again They have to renew are the lounges.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Memobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Peter_Hechler, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Memobert,

Thank you for visiting our beautiful resort while you stayed at Mayakoba and thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor.

We certainly hope to be able to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm-mayakoba@banyantree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We just returned from a four night girlfriend trip at Banyan Tree.We love to travel and have visited many amazing places. From the moment you arrive you can feel how special Banyan Tree is. Andrea checked us in she was friendly and helpful, the process was smooth, she even gave us her phone number if we needed anything. We had a visit from Ingo and Juan Carlos as we were checking in, they welcomed us and told us we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa, we were so shocked and appreciative. The villa was amazing almost like our own private spa, everyday it was clean and stocked with water and fruit, each night they left us a little memento to remember the trip.
We loved the bikes and we rode everyday, the Pueblito is a great stop with shops a few places to eat and the most beautiful church. When we were leaving a guard asked us if we wanted to stop and see the Cenote, it was worth the stop.
We all had spa treatments, it is a beautiful facility with amazing services, two of the ladies even went back.
We ate dinner at the signature restaurant, Thai food, and every dish was delicious, we found it similar in cost to a night out at home. Everyone that worked there was helpful and attentive We also had the pleasure to experience the Japanese Peruvian night. We enjoyed the food and the two signature drinks were so good. We met the chef and again all the servers rocked. Gilmer was one of our servers, he is a special person, and added some fun to our night. We did go into Playa one night for dinner and had a great meal and never did we feel un safe.
Mauricio was our guy, he always checked in on us, gave us the best advice, went above and beyond to make sure we relaxed and had the best time.
Carlos at the beach, was friendly and made sure we were relaxed and had everything we needed. I wish I could remember everyones name,from the bellman ,buggy driver, servers, to management everyone is hard working and friendly making this trip extra special, this resort does it right.
Banyan tree has a piece of my heart, every person you meet is friendly and helpful, they make you feel happy. If you are thinking of panning a trip here, do not hesitate you will not be sorry. I am already planning a trip for my husbands birthday.

Room Tip: Every room is like its own little sanctuary
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Peter_Hechler, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Lisa L,

It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness. I'm very proud of each and every employee at Banyan Tree Mayakoba and will share your comments with all, especially with Andrea, Gilmer, Mauricio and Carlos. There is no better reward than to receive such comments from our guests; it is great to that you appreciate the efforts of our staff.

On behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our Sanctuary for the Senses and we look forward to your next visit and we will wait for you with open arms to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Kind Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm-mayakoba@banyantree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We loved our stay at the Banyan Tree. Not one complaint. Everyone was nice, friendly and gracious. The villa was outstanding and the resort was immaculate with all the amenities one could ever want. All of which were first class at all times. One of our best vacation experiences ever. We will definitely have a return trip on our bucket list.

Everyone on the staff was great. David, Veronica, Jorge and several others at the reception and concierge area were great. Paulina and the Chef at Haab were great. Aaron and Javier were wonderful hosts for our Tapas cruise. Marcelo, Edgar, Marco and Carlos were fantastic at the Sands and our housekeepers did a great job. The guys at the Taco Bar in the main lobby in the evening were wonderful hosts. All of the cart drivers were friendly and accommodating. There were so many great and hard workers I can’t really name them all. So thanks to everyone at the resort for helping make our visit so wonderful!

The Haab and Tapas Cruise dining experiences were don’t miss dining events, as was the Catch of the Day lunch at Sands. The Cameleon Golf Course is challenging, beautiful and in great shape and I can see why the PGA uses it as a tour course. We also enjoyed the unparalleled spa at the resort. We also very much liked the kayak tour of the mangroves and the tennis facility was nice. We would also say the brochures and website make the Banyan Tree resort look nice, but they really don’t capture the full magnificence of the resort; meaning the resort is even better than the brochures and websites make it look.

We highly recommend this A+++ resort.

The Linscott Family

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Peter_Hechler, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Linscott Family,

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words, It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness. Thank you in particular for mentioning David, Veronica, Jorge, Paulina, Aaron, Javier, Marcelo, Edgar, Marco and Carlos, who are very proud and happy for having been mentioned by name, your comments are motivating as there is nothing more satisfying that to receive the praise of our valued guests. Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.

The Haab and Tapas Cruise dining experience are definitely something not to be missed.

Thank you for recommending us with all Trip Advisor followers. We look forward to welcome you soon!

Kind Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm-mayakoba@banyantree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Beach is mediocre, food beverage is significantly over priced. Private pool did not work properly and was dirty much of the time. Tiles missing, painted over, falling off etc. Golf is awesome. Shuttle service is great. Staff is very helpful. Watch ourt for the breakfast buffet at $55.00 per person. What?

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Peter_Hechler, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Terry A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community, I truly appreciate your comments and have carefully read through your feedback. Regarding to our prices we will address these points in our restaurants and thank you for helping to raise your awareness in order to achieve further improvements.

It is of course with much regret that due to the weather situation the beach was affected by a large amount of seaweed and due to this situation Mayakoba complex use the JCB tractors to improve these conditions and hope that it will not detain you from potentially visiting us again.

Again, many thanks for your feedback and still hope to welcome you back in the near future in our Sanctuary for the Senses.

Kind Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm-mayakoba@banyantree.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews