We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$309
US$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$419
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
US$287
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,452)
Filter reviews
2,452 results
Traveller rating
2,093
235
83
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,093
235
83
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolrainforest experienceoutdoor bathtubeco toursaffron restaurantsands restaurantin villa diningla coparesort hostbreakfast buffetreflections poolsanctuary pool villavilla bbqbuggy driversgolf cartmayakoba areabeach club
Filter
Updating list...
1,857 - 1,862 of 2,452 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The minute we entered the premises we felt the warmth and friendly welcome from staff. They are out to please you 100% all day. We couldn't get enough of the place. The rooms are way more than you expect. Clean modern decor but yet so romantic. Loved the jacuzzi and outdoor bath. Our room wasn't beachfront but that ended up being the best part. We bicycled to the beach,.another day we took a boat ride there and they offer you a buggy as well. We went canoeing on the house! the scenery is not describable. Just picturesque. This is the only hotel we'll be staying at in the future. we are spa people and never had the service we did here. The rainforest was probably the best part of our stay. just so well done! Never been to a place so immaculate( and I'm very picky) which only adds to the relaxation. Definitely have them pick you up from airport. We did not want to go anywhere all day although they have shopping and other activities close by.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxed28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

What could i say in addition to everything that has been said in other reviews? That if you are in doubt about where to go for your beach vacation, and you can afford the rates, you must go to this hotel! Also, that I am 100% positive you will not find anything close to Banyan in Riviera Maya or Cancun in terms of service, accomodations, ambience, or overall quality. Not even the neighboring Rosewood which comes to a close second place, but second after all. Being a seasoned traveler that have stayed at St Regis, Four Seasons, Jumeirahs, Peninsulas, Mandarin Orientals and other Leading Hotels of the World, I can guarantee that the service of Banyan Tree Mayakoba equals or outperforms the very best of the formers. Not to mention the rooms (a 4000 sq ft villa, with a mid size private pool, gardens, separate dining/lounge area, enormous and beautiful bathroom and bedroom is your room). Food is excellent in almost all the restaurants (with the exception perhaps of Tamarind which is not bad at all, but has some dishes that can disappoint compared to the excellent level of others dishes of the same restaurant or other restaurants of the hotel). A hint, if you decide to go, ask for Alejandro to be your resort host ( a sort of personal vacation planner but also a butler when you need butler servicing, that the Hotel provides you with) What an excellent and gentle staffer! To say it all, this was my first time there, and already am in the planning of a second stay for this easter season.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barranqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

This places lives up to all the hype and more. It is a 6-star resort. We stayed in a Spa Villa – the private pool (which is a proper pool you can swim laps in), hot tub, in-door/outdoor showers, outdoor bathtub and the complete privacy all add up to a truly spectacular experience. I’d be happy just staying in the villa during my entire stay.

Since we had a spa villa, we took advantage of the spa setup on our rooftop twice and got in-room massages. The massage therapists from Thailand are the best I’ve experienced.

Highly recommend the in-villa BBQ – you get your own personal chef to come to your villa and prepare a multi-course meal complete with romantic lighting setup around the pool. It was the best meal of our stay and incredibly romantic.

We received outstanding service throughout our stay – it is the type of Asian luxury resort customer service that you just don’t get in North America. Other reviews mention some customer service issues but thankfully we experienced none.

The only negative was the number of mosquitoes on the property but not really sure that can be helped. Six months later, I still have the scars. Recommend taking some strong mosquito repellent with you if tend to attract mosquitoes. The repellent in the villa was not strong enough to protect me.

Overall Banyan Tree Mayakoba highly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I have been meaning to write up a review on this Incredible Resort for months now. I will do my best to recollect - but it was honestly so dreamlike!!!

We chose Mexico for our honeymoon (Aug 17 - 22, 2010) since it was convenient location-wise. We wanted to find the best-of-the-best resort... and we DEFINITELY did. Banyan Tree Mayakoba is by far the most exquisite, relaxing, amazing, private, romantic place I have ever been. It would rank 6 stars on a 5 star scale.

We rented a car from Cancun airport (to save some money and have some freedom) and drove ourselves to the resort. It was an easy to find and no hassle drive and Banyan parked our car for free. Upon arrival we were greeted with fresh towels and delicious exotic juice. Our host, Marian, was the sweetest and most helpful person!!!! She answered all or our questions and even went out of her way on occasion to find us at breakfast and inquire of how our stay was going.

After our tour of the resort and our villa (we were upgraded to the Courtyard Villa!!) we unpacked in our spacious modern-style villa and then rented our bikes to explore. (I highly recommend renting the bikes as it is both fun and exercise :) Otherwise you can opt to be driven by golfcart). The beach was a short ride away - including a restaurant, beach drink service and infinity pool... you are all set!

Each villa has it's own pool and or hot tub, so you can swim privately or at the wonderful public reflections pool. Each night, we received a romantic turn-down service. When we would return from dinner our room would be prepared for a restful and romantic nights sleep.

During our stay here, we ate at all restaurants... ALL AMAZING!!! We even splurged and booked Itchel, the private boat tour w/ private chef. It was one of the most incredible meals I have EVER tasted. The chef was both personable and informative and even gave us privacy at the end for a moonlit tour of the lagoons. I definitely recommend getting the daily breakfast at the Orient - the variety left us stunned each morning. They have the freshest and most unique options!

We mainly meandered between our villa and the beach most days. We also booked a couples massage that was wonderful! However - if you are looking for nightlife all day everyday... I would suggest another resort. Banyan was very private and quite empty during our stay (which is Exactly what we wanted). We did take 2 day trips- 1. Playa del Carmen 2. Tour of Mayan Ruins & Ceynotes

Staff Experience: World Class, 110% attentive and left us 110% statisfied
Ivan waited on us a few nights (Sands & Tamarind)- he was so helpful, nice and gave great meal recommendations. Montserrat at La Copa was so pleasant when serving us drinks and appetizers. She always remembered our reservations and asked if we enjoyed them the day after! Amondo at the reflections pool was so fun and care free - we even signed up for his Cocktail Making class. Another staff member, Daniel, was so helpful to us when our bikes weren't working properly too.

Overall I HIGHLY recommend this resort. We hope to make it back someday!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My husband and I returned from our honeymoon to Banyan Tree this past November. We could not have picked a more perfect resort. Not only is the resort stunning, but the service was impeccable. There's a host/hostess available to you 24-hrs a day, a buggy on-call at your disposal, and all the waiters/servers are kind and trained to the utmost of standards.

The villas themselves were spectacular. We stayed in a courtyard villa which has its own separate breakfast nook with TV, bar, dinner table, large sofa, etc. Outside we had our own pool and jacuzzi. The pool was sometimes chilly (not heated), and the jacuzzi sometimes hot (but they would always send someone to adjust it), but we just preferred the beach and the resort pool anyway. The bedrooms in the villa have a cathedral ceiling, huge bathroom for two, walk-in closet, massive shower, and outdoor bath.

The food at the resort was divine. We ate at Saffron first when we arrived for our stay. They greet the women with flowers for their hair, and sat us at the special table at the end of the dock, overlooking the mangroves. Tamarind was also delicious and quite eclectic downstairs from the lobby. Sands (at the beach club) had a great barbecue night and served Mexican food in Oriente (which was closed for dinner during our stay because of 'low-season'). Breakfast every morning was at Oriente and believe us, you've never seen breakfast buffets like this. Think sushi bar, yogurt bar, fruit bar, bread bar, juice bar, pastry bar, omelet/egg bar, and hot stations. If you have the chance, the 24-hr in-villa dining is actually really good and the presentation is impressive.

The resort has a bar in the lobby, at the pool, and at the beach. The bar at the pool was closed during our stay (again, 'low-season'), but the staff around the pool was happy to order us drinks and bring them down from the lobby. You can get around the resort in the buggy, rent a bike, or walking in most cases from the villas to the lobby. The beach is a bit further and can't be walked to easily, but you can take the buggy/a bike and they do have a boat that leaves from the lobby which makes a really nice trip to the beach club. Definitely take the short eco boat trip which takes you around the mangroves to see the local wildlife.

Last, but not least, the spa. We spent two mornings in the spa. The first was a massage in our private spa villa with a bathroom, shower, and a seat for tea/water before/after the treatment. Really professional staff who are experts in their treatments. The second morning was the 'Rainforest Indulgence' which included an abbreviated 'Rainforest Experience' session followed by another massage in the villas. The 'Rainforest' portion included a cold/hot shower, steam room, full body scrub and shower, salt steam room (brine room), and then a tropical shower, followed by time in the vitality pool.

While staying in Riviera Maya, definitely put a few days aside to make a trip to Chichen Itza and to Tulum. We piggy-backed our trip to Tulum to also go zip-lining, snorkel in two cenotes (a must-do) and eat lunch at a local restaurant. And after Chichen Itza we went through Valladolid, a Spanish Colonial town, for a nice lunch in the most charming hotel, El Meson del Marques.

We spent three days following our trip in Cozumel. While we were anxious to get into a more festive, social environment, we were quickly missing Banyan Tree. We will absolutely look into additional Banyan Tree resorts for our future vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-LoAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews