We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a VIP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2012

When we arrived at Royal Hideway Playacar, we were tired from traveling all day But at check-in, we were greeting with a cool towel and a glass of champagne. There is no registration desk, we were invited to sit on a comfortable couch, relax a bit, enjoy our champagne, while the staff checked us in. They needed only our signature. I felt like a celebrity. And the resort is beautiful with an outstanding pool and beach. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mycarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear mycarib,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

Thank you for your post! As you experienced, we like to pamper our dear guests from the moment of arrival with a nice glass of champagne while you just relax and let us check you in. We like to give our guests a personalized service and everybody is a special VIP and celebrity for us.

Thank you so much for recommending us!

Sincerely,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,773 - 2,777 of 4,476 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and i spent our honeymoon here and returned this year because we loved it so much. The suite concierge are awesome and like a good friend by the time you leave.

Food is excellent and you never want for anything. It's what it would be like if American Express ran a resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smydauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear smydrauf,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

We are so happy to hear that we made your second stay with us so excellent, and thank you for your loyalty.

Our Executive Chef will be especially happy to hear that you loved is food. He is a master in his field.

We are awaiting your third visit with us!

Warm regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hideaway the week of November 14, 2011. This resort is hands down the best resort on Playacar. We have stayed at the El Dorado Royale, Secrets, Riu Palace and Riu Playacar by comparison. RH offers outstanding service and food. The beach is well-maintained. This is a perfect place for couples.

Here are a few tips. We like to use a private transfer from the airport. With a private transfer, you skip the many stops with a shared bus at the other hotels. The private drivers usually have an Escalade with plenty of room for the 45 minute drive to the hotel. It is well worth the extra few dollars and gets you to the sunshine faster after a long flight.

Use the villa concierge for everything. Each villa as someone in the atrium to make your reservations and answer questions. They are a friendly face and ready to help. They seem to keep hours from around 8 am until 5 pm. We really enjoyed that our concierge was not another person trying to sell an excursion or time share. You should get to know your concierge on the first day.

Also, you can't go wrong with any of the restaurants. We liked having breakfast overlooking the ocean each day, and then coming back for a balcony-area lunch. As for breakfast, you should make a special request for a latte. Otherwise, they are serving coffee. Also, there is a Starbucks one block off the resort. Ask your concierge for directions if you care to make that short walk for your wife in the morning.

The resort offers food and drinks on the beach. It is a short walk of 10 yards or so to the bar. With a little flag, someone will bring you a drink if that walk seems too far. The guacomole is made fresh. That's a perfect snack in the afternoon with a drink. All the drinks are top shelf.

For dinner, the food is some of the best. We never left the resort during our week because we enjoyed each of the restaurants. The dinner theatre was the only restaurant that was average, and that is to be expected when trying to serve several hundred at one time. I don't think we would go to the theatre next year because it naturally results in less conversation during the performance. Each of the restaurants is high end, and you will be eating ala carte with the option of great wine for an additional charge. You will find that everyone dresses to look their best (at least the women do!).

The lounge chairs seemed to fill up faster around the infinite pool than the beach. We enjoyed the beach more, and especially the shade under the coconut trees. There is cabana help for the chairs and towels. They also have a canapy to cover two chairs for shade and privacy. Have the cabana amiga show you how to set up on the first day so that you're set for the week.

This beach, of course, is as good as it gets just about anywhere in the world. The sand is white and soft. There are some smaller waves and roped off areas for swimming. The shoreline is generally busy with people walking the beach almost all day. The sail boat is available by reservation, but I was able to go out each day without having to wait for reservation times. The water activity tent will offer excursions as well.

While we were there, we were with mostly Canadians, Americans and some British and Irish. We're told that the area is popular with Europeans in the summer months. Everyone was in a good mood and relaxed. It seemed that only my American neighbors decided to use the business center for the free internet access.

I don't think that there was an expectation for tipping, although we did regularly. We typically tipped our servers a few dollars in the morning (a buffet breakfast), at lunch, and especially a bit more in the evening for great service. We also took care of our concierge at the end of the week. We also took care of our maids with a few dollars each day. They always cleaned the room while we were out, and then had the bed turned down while we were at dinner. They all made us feel welcome, and we tried to show our appreciation.

This is now one of our favorite resorts. We plan to return next fall!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior of the resort. The neighbors sometimes have music and parties la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear donmcneil,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review.

We are thrilled that you consider us the best resort in Playacar. Great that our outstanding service and excellent food exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for mentioning the private transportation. This can be booked through cservices@mx.occidentalhotels.com. You are right; it is really worth it after a long journey.
We really appreciate the nice comments about our friendly villa concierges. They love to help you with anything you might need. Also, our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager will be honored by your nice comments about their food (especially the refreshing guacamole) and top shelf drinks. Our Chef will also follow up on your comments about the dinner theater.

Thank you for pointing out the complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort and business center in the lobby.

The Royal Hideaway is an all-inclusive resort which also includes tips. If you are satisfied however, you can feel free to give additional tips and the staff truly appreciates it.

We look forward to seeing you back here next fall at your favorite resort.

Best regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A group of 12 adults planned a trip to Cancun in celebration of some "special" birthdays in Feb 2011. We originally booked with NOW Jade but because of over-booking (error of the hotel and Apple), two days before our departure, we were moved to the Royal Hideaway. We were not happy with this to say the least but it ended up being a very relaxing stay. The hotel rooms and staff were wonderful, and the food was excellent. You couldn't get up from the dinner table without someone being there to pick up your napkin or hold your chair. But, having said this, I felt like the hotel was "too" nice for us. We were interested in a quality hotel with great service and food with some fun (day and night). The hotel really catered to an older, more mature crowd that we were. After eating dinner at 7 or so, there was nothing really to do. No fun bars and/or activities were planned for the evening. In fact, there was very little planned at all during the day at the hotel. Nothing really happening "poolside" or beach front. The hotel next to us partied into the wee hours of the morning every night. We kind of missed out on that. If you are looking for a relaxing time with excellent service and food, and going to bed every night around 9, this was the place for you.

Room Tip: The rooms were in cluster buildings. We were 2 units from the beach area on the 2nd floor. Noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear cindy63,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us, albeit by chance, and a special birthday celebration. It’s great to hear that our rooms, staff and food exceeded your expectations.

You are right; the entertainment at our resort is low key. During the day we offer activities such as dancing and cooking classes, water aerobics, bingo, darts and yoga. Nightly activities include live music such as piano, guitar, harp or saxophone, karaoke, or our twice weekly dinner theater Club Royale. For more nightlife, the center of Playa del Carmen is just a five-minute taxi ride from here.

We do hope you will stay with us again! !

Warm regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The most amazing resort we've ever visited. A totally relaxed atmosphere where you are treated like royalty every minute of every day. There were two staff members that really helped to make our vacation extra special and they were our building (#26) concierge Aileen and the beach concierge Alex. You two were great, thank you. The beach is huge and the live music (sax player) there every day was a nice touch. The resort is very lush with rivers winding throughout the grounds and great for a "quieter" kind of vacation.
Fine dining awaits you at the end of every day and would rival any high end restaurant in any major US or Canadian city. We will definitely return as it will be hard to find another resort that does 'everything' this well.

Room Tip: We had a second floor corner room overlooking the main path to the beach and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pemmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you, pemmink,

We are thrilled about your comments about our beautiful resort. We are more than happy to read that we met your expectations concerning the atmosphere, the beach and our saxophone player Ariel. I can’t want to share your compliments with Aileen, your concierge, and Alex, the beach concierge.

In addition, our new Executive Chef will be delighted to hear about your compliments as he brings more than 15 years of experience, and a focus on sustainability, raw foods and fresh ingredients to our resort.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,878 reviews
10.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
3.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,279 reviews
23.1 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,256 reviews
18.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM1,495 - RM2,948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing