We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Soho Playa Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$351
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$167
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$310
US$247
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$161
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$274
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,179)
Filter reviews
5,179 results
Traveller rating
3,787
893
295
133
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,787
893
295
133
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantinfinity poolwalk in closetdinner theaterchef's tableother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortmake reservationspool service
Filter
Updating list...
3,364 - 3,369 of 5,179 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and i spent our honeymoon here and returned this year because we loved it so much. The suite concierge are awesome and like a good friend by the time you leave.

Food is excellent and you never want for anything. It's what it would be like if American Express ran a resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smydauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear smydrauf,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

We are so happy to hear that we made your second stay with us so excellent, and thank you for your loyalty.

Our Executive Chef will be especially happy to hear that you loved is food. He is a master in his field.

We are awaiting your third visit with us!

Warm regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hideaway the week of November 14, 2011. This resort is hands down the best resort on Playacar. We have stayed at the El Dorado Royale, Secrets, Riu Palace and Riu Playacar by comparison. RH offers outstanding service and food. The beach is well-maintained. This is a perfect place for couples.

Here are a few tips. We like to use a private transfer from the airport. With a private transfer, you skip the many stops with a shared bus at the other hotels. The private drivers usually have an Escalade with plenty of room for the 45 minute drive to the hotel. It is well worth the extra few dollars and gets you to the sunshine faster after a long flight.

Use the villa concierge for everything. Each villa as someone in the atrium to make your reservations and answer questions. They are a friendly face and ready to help. They seem to keep hours from around 8 am until 5 pm. We really enjoyed that our concierge was not another person trying to sell an excursion or time share. You should get to know your concierge on the first day.

Also, you can't go wrong with any of the restaurants. We liked having breakfast overlooking the ocean each day, and then coming back for a balcony-area lunch. As for breakfast, you should make a special request for a latte. Otherwise, they are serving coffee. Also, there is a Starbucks one block off the resort. Ask your concierge for directions if you care to make that short walk for your wife in the morning.

The resort offers food and drinks on the beach. It is a short walk of 10 yards or so to the bar. With a little flag, someone will bring you a drink if that walk seems too far. The guacomole is made fresh. That's a perfect snack in the afternoon with a drink. All the drinks are top shelf.

For dinner, the food is some of the best. We never left the resort during our week because we enjoyed each of the restaurants. The dinner theatre was the only restaurant that was average, and that is to be expected when trying to serve several hundred at one time. I don't think we would go to the theatre next year because it naturally results in less conversation during the performance. Each of the restaurants is high end, and you will be eating ala carte with the option of great wine for an additional charge. You will find that everyone dresses to look their best (at least the women do!).

The lounge chairs seemed to fill up faster around the infinite pool than the beach. We enjoyed the beach more, and especially the shade under the coconut trees. There is cabana help for the chairs and towels. They also have a canapy to cover two chairs for shade and privacy. Have the cabana amiga show you how to set up on the first day so that you're set for the week.

This beach, of course, is as good as it gets just about anywhere in the world. The sand is white and soft. There are some smaller waves and roped off areas for swimming. The shoreline is generally busy with people walking the beach almost all day. The sail boat is available by reservation, but I was able to go out each day without having to wait for reservation times. The water activity tent will offer excursions as well.

While we were there, we were with mostly Canadians, Americans and some British and Irish. We're told that the area is popular with Europeans in the summer months. Everyone was in a good mood and relaxed. It seemed that only my American neighbors decided to use the business center for the free internet access.

I don't think that there was an expectation for tipping, although we did regularly. We typically tipped our servers a few dollars in the morning (a buffet breakfast), at lunch, and especially a bit more in the evening for great service. We also took care of our concierge at the end of the week. We also took care of our maids with a few dollars each day. They always cleaned the room while we were out, and then had the bed turned down while we were at dinner. They all made us feel welcome, and we tried to show our appreciation.

This is now one of our favorite resorts. We plan to return next fall!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior of the resort. The neighbors sometimes have music and parties later in the evening. With an interior-face room, you get to choose when to quit for the evening.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear donmcneil,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete review.

We are thrilled that you consider us the best resort in Playacar. Great that our outstanding service and excellent food exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for mentioning the private transportation. This can be booked through cservices@mx.occidentalhotels.com. You are right; it is really worth it after a long journey.
We really appreciate the nice comments about our friendly villa concierges. They love to help you with anything you might need. Also, our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager will be honored by your nice comments about their food (especially the refreshing guacamole) and top shelf drinks. Our Chef will also follow up on your comments about the dinner theater.

Thank you for pointing out the complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort and business center in the lobby.

The Royal Hideaway is an all-inclusive resort which also includes tips. If you are satisfied however, you can feel free to give additional tips and the staff truly appreciates it.

We look forward to seeing you back here next fall at your favorite resort.

Best regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A group of 12 adults planned a trip to Cancun in celebration of some "special" birthdays in Feb 2011. We originally booked with NOW Jade but because of over-booking (error of the hotel and Apple), two days before our departure, we were moved to the Royal Hideaway. We were not happy with this to say the least but it ended up being a very relaxing stay. The hotel rooms and staff were wonderful, and the food was excellent. You couldn't get up from the dinner table without someone being there to pick up your napkin or hold your chair. But, having said this, I felt like the hotel was "too" nice for us. We were interested in a quality hotel with great service and food with some fun (day and night). The hotel really catered to an older, more mature crowd that we were. After eating dinner at 7 or so, there was nothing really to do. No fun bars and/or activities were planned for the evening. In fact, there was very little planned at all during the day at the hotel. Nothing really happening "poolside" or beach front. The hotel next to us partied into the wee hours of the morning every night. We kind of missed out on that. If you are looking for a relaxing time with excellent service and food, and going to bed every night around 9, this was the place for you.

Room Tip: The rooms were in cluster buildings. We were 2 units from the beach area on the 2nd floor. Noise was not an issue for any of us.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cindy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear cindy63,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us, albeit by chance, and a special birthday celebration. It’s great to hear that our rooms, staff and food exceeded your expectations.

You are right; the entertainment at our resort is low key. During the day we offer activities such as dancing and cooking classes, water aerobics, bingo, darts and yoga. Nightly activities include live music such as piano, guitar, harp or saxophone, karaoke, or our twice weekly dinner theater Club Royale. For more nightlife, the center of Playa del Carmen is just a five-minute taxi ride from here.

We do hope you will stay with us again! !

Warm regards

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The most amazing resort we've ever visited. A totally relaxed atmosphere where you are treated like royalty every minute of every day. There were two staff members that really helped to make our vacation extra special and they were our building (#26) concierge Aileen and the beach concierge Alex. You two were great, thank you. The beach is huge and the live music (sax player) there every day was a nice touch. The resort is very lush with rivers winding throughout the grounds and great for a "quieter" kind of vacation.
Fine dining awaits you at the end of every day and would rival any high end restaurant in any major US or Canadian city. We will definitely return as it will be hard to find another resort that does 'everything' this well.

Room Tip: We had a second floor corner room overlooking the main path to the beach and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pemmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you, pemmink,

We are thrilled about your comments about our beautiful resort. We are more than happy to read that we met your expectations concerning the atmosphere, the beach and our saxophone player Ariel. I can’t want to share your compliments with Aileen, your concierge, and Alex, the beach concierge.

In addition, our new Executive Chef will be delighted to hear about your compliments as he brings more than 15 years of experience, and a focus on sustainability, raw foods and fresh ingredients to our resort.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We recently went to a wedding at the Royal Hideaway. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our concierge was helpful and provided whatever we needed. There were umbrellas in the room, and with rain for the wedding, they were a thoughtful touch. Food also was very good, and wait staff very attentive. It's hard to pick a favorite, but we did like the Mexican restaurant for breakfast and lunch.

One issue we had at the resort, though, was the unavailability of dinner reservations for reasonable times at the restaurants we wanted to go to. We ate at 6 or at 9, and except for the dinner show, never were able to get in in between those hours. Also, drinks were poured from top shelf bottles, but either they were a bit weak or there was something in the food that kept me from feeling the effects of the liquor. A couple of martinis at home would have knocked me out, but at Royal Hideaway, even three were not a problem. Still, a beautiful spot (the grounds are gorgeous) and a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LNL_19317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear LNL_19317

Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are happy to hear your nice comments about our grounds, rooms, food, your concierge and the wait staff. Muchas Gracias!

We understand that you had challenges making your restaurant reservations. We are sorry for it! We have a reservation system in place as we like to offer personalized service to all guests during dinner, without rushing them. Also I would like to assure you that all our drinks are top shelf and what you see is what you get.

We are looking forward to having you with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah-Kim Grüne
Customer Service Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews