We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,442)
Filter reviews
5,442 results
Traveller rating
3,988
934
301
138
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,988
934
301
138
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las ventanas the grill dinner reservations allegria bar villa concierge spices restaurant club royale deck restaurant dinner theater infinity pool chef's table other resorts walk in closet sax player our honeymoon all inclusive resort quiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
3,492 - 3,497 of 5,442 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I went to the Royal Hideaway the week before Christmas for 5 nights. This was by far one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever been on. I was very leery of the all inclusive food, but they have wonderful restaurants instead of a large buffet and the food was really good. The staff was probably the best part, we felt very taken care of with the personal attention by Laura and Christian at the poolside restaurant. They were really helpful providing recommendations on side trips and how to get around town. I was able to find an out of the way authentic pottery place and found some lovely pieces to take home that could not be found in the touristy shopping spots. The beach was clean and peaceful and for us it was really nice that there weren't small children, it was very romantic. We are looking forward to our next visit and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear MiaP,

Greetings from the Royal Hideaway!

We are overwhelmed by your nice comments! It is great that you had a relaxing vacation with us and enjoyed e everything the resort has to offer. Laura and Christian are glad that you mentioned them, and we are lucky to have them on our staff to take care of our dear guests.

Thank you so much for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I just returned from a 7 night stay at RH and we had a wonderful trip! The beautiful beach and pool area were what really sold this resort for me. This area was immaculate and it seemed as though people were always working, literally from sunrise to sunset people were raking the beach, setting up lounge, chairs etc. The employees were constantly working behind the scenes. Our room was nice, but some things could use a bit of sprucing up (ex. wallpaper in the bathroom looked aged). Because of the set up of the buildings, rooms are all off of little courtyards, noise definitely carried. If you are a light sleeper I recommend earplugs. The food and drinks were really good for an all-inclusive. All of the seafood was delicious and cooked perfectly. For dinner we really enjoyed The Grill, Palazzo and Las Ventannas. Our least favorite restaurant was Azia. Portions were small at the restaurants but that did not matter as you could order as much as you wanted. The only thing I would have liked was the ability to order dinner at one of the bars, someplace that you did not need a reservation. Though room service was always an option. The service at the resort was truly top-notch. Our concierge, Carolina, took great care of us. She helped us with dinner reservations, answered all of our questions, etc. Poolside, Carlos and Christopher were excellent. So friendly and always smiling, they truly seemed happy to be there. Our poolside server, Javier, was amazing! He was such a hard worker and he took great care of us the whole time! We had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway!

Room Tip: The middle buildings, we were in 27 which was great, are the quieter ones as they are farther away from the bordering resorts.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear jsr19,

Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful beach, attentive service and food. Our staff works hard to create the best experience for our guests. Regarding the rooms, you will be happy to hear that we are constantly maintaining and updating our rooms e.g. Flat Screen TVs and IPod Docking Stations. We will keep in mind the wallpaper in the bathrooms. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were bothered by noise outside of the room. Thank you also for the suggestion to order of offering dinner at the bars in our restaurants. I will share this suggestion with our management team. Our 24-hour Room Service is another option if you want to play it by ear.

I will give your regards to Carolina, Javier, Chris and Christopher. They will be happy to hear that you mentioned them in your review.

Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 30 year anniversary here for 7 days and found the resort to be just outstanding. The grounds and beach are gorgeous, the staff is over the top in ensuring you have everything you need. The proximity to Playa del Carmen is a real plus in my opinion. We have travelled to this area of Riviera Maya many times and this resort really delivered an upscale experience. The food is excellent with lots of choices. The only negative would be the restaurants get over booked during high season..so they probably need to work on that aspect. But, we talked to the front desk and they accomodated our requests. We were especially impressed with Carlos, Jessie and Chris from the activities team and Margot who was the hostess at Spices - great job! The entire staff is very hard-working and friendly.
Overall, we had an excellent time and will definetly return.

Room Tip: Choose an interior villas vs exterior to avoid any noise from neigboring hotels.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wantssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear wantssun,

Congratulations again on your 30th anniversary! We are happy to hear that you had a great celebration and wonderful stay with us.

Next time, you can contact us prior to arrival at services@mx.occidentalhotels.com to make advance reservations at our á la carte restaurants. Thank you for mentioning Carlos, Jessie, Chris and Margot for their great service. I can’t wait to share this great review with them!

We are looking forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

You can't beat the staff and service at the Royal Hideaway! We love this resort, and have just stayed there for our third time. There are many lovely resorts in the area, but the staff and service is what sets this one apart. They make you feel like friends, greet you by your name with a smile, and go out of their way to make your stay fabulous. The resort isn't too big, so it is a great place to relax and unwind. The food is above average for all-inclusives, and they serve top shelf liquor. My only disappointment is the fitness center, which is under construction. By next year's visit it will be renovated, so that won't be an issue at our next stay. I highly recommend the Royal Hideaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side can get some noise from the neighboring resort, which tends to play loud music until late.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Mindy K,

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!

You will be happy to hear that the renovation of the Royal Hideaway Spa and Gym are complete now, and you will be able to experience them during your next visit. The newly renovated spa consists of 7 treatment rooms, (two of which are ample for couples massages) and 2 stations in our beauty salon for manicures/pedicures/hair styling featuring Redken products.

We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We just got back from a 5 night stay at the royal hideaway playa del Carmen. What an amazing place. It's absolutely gorgeous! If you want a place to just go and relax and be waited on hand and foot, this is it! The staff could not be more attentive. They always greeted you with a smile and most times by name. The food was fabulous (which is not always the case with all-inclusives )and the drinks were amazing(try the golden margaritas). This is the most elegant all-inclusive resort ever! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jandm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Jandm24,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews