We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$152
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
US$213
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$419
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$432
US$287
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,246)
Filter reviews
5,246 results
Traveller rating
3,828
908
297
136
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,828
908
297
136
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantdinner theaterinfinity poolchef's tableother resortswalk in closetsax playerour honeymoonall inclusive resortquiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
4,181 - 4,186 of 5,246 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2005

The Royal Hideaway is a very special spot. Romantic, excellent food, and beautiful grounds. The employees treat you like royalty. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is definitely it!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katieta2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are over-joyed hearing about your fantastic stay here at The Royal Hideaway, and very much appreciate your valuable feedback. You and your family are welcome back here anytime, it will always be your home from home!

I will be sure to show our team your kind words and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2005

We arrived in February for our third stay at the Royal Hideaway...yes we like it.. and were totally shocked to find the beach has disappeared! It is gone! We had to climb down a set of wooden stairs from a 4 foot erosin bank directly into the water to swim in the ocean. If you like the pool, your trip will be unaffected but if you want to swim in the ocean, be prepared for this change. It also means that chaise chairs are really jammed together now because the amount of useable space has dramatically decreased. The erosin is very bad and there are people sandbagging all day to keep the palm trees [and the hotel] from washing away.
As usual the food, the staff and most of the services were very good. Food was better than I had remembered from previous visits and spa services were very good. Front desk staff are very poor and give a negative first impression of the resort. We had made our reservations 7 months in advance and requested a 2nd floor room and a king size bed...not too much to ask for 3rd time returning guests in a 5 star resort. On check-in, neither was available and we had to be moved the next day. Once you get past the front desk, the staff is great. Hopefully this erosion problem will be overcome and then the RH will still be our favorite resort.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Bluenose Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
116
Reviewed 25 February 2005

This place was everything I could've asked for! I don't know where to start. WE were here Feb,5-12 not long enough. from Minneapolis,MN

PROS: The resort is very beautiful. I did research for a year on resorts all over the carribean and this one absolutely lives up to it's name. My wife and I both feel it was worth every nickel spent!
The staff work VERY hard to please and do a terrific job. It didn't seem that they were doing it as a job, but as if they really enjoyed it. As matter of fact I stated that to them and also heard 3 other guests through out the week asked the same question.
The resturants were wonderful we liked AZIA the chinese the best. The Coconut curry chicken satay was to die for so were the spring rolls. The 2nd best was SPICES the chicken was great. Our waiter at SPICES was Candelarijo He was great, very funny and energetic. We even took pictures of him. Thanks Candelarijo you were great! "undavay-undavay yevaw-yevaw"
The bar staff at ALLEGRIO worked very hard. we met a wonderful couple from Milwaukee Wisconsin and hungout at the bar with them and talked. My drink would get low and the next thing I knew I had a fresh one.
All in all we were very happy with the service and quality of this resort.
So much so that we were going to go somewhere else in the carribean next year that we are weighing heavily on going back.

CONS: The Tacos on the menu at spices were the BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. And they need to be on the dinner menu.
The beach isn't what it used to be. We seen postcards of what it was before and it's ashame they lost it.
THIS WAS BY NO MEANS A NEGATIVE,THE BEACH THAT WAS THERE WAS WONDERFUL. Hopefully the management gets it back and doesn't let mother nature WIN!
In summary would I ever go back? It's not would, It's WE ARE. We would HIGHLY RECOMMED this place!
Feel free to e-mail any questions I would be happy to talk about our wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, IA
114
Reviewed 23 February 2005

This is our second time at the RH Hideaway. We were first at the resort in December 2003 and fell in love with the resort. We have been to Sandals and a few others and were absolutely blown away with the food and the staff. We jus got back from our second trip on Jan 28-Feb 4 and were dissapointed with the erosion on the beach. This was never told to us and we might have rebooked for a later time had we known. To those of you who may think that this is a little concern, let me put it in perspective. In 2003 when we were there, there was approximatly 100-125 yards of the best white beach we have ever been on. The beach now is gone right up to the palm trees. If you do want to get in the ocean, you must walk over sand bags and then the undercurrent is very bad. I believe that this may be a lot bigger problem than what is being reported. I believe the tide is higher in this area and the waves are breaking alot worse than the last time we were here. In addition, for those of you who are looking for some fun at night (disco, etc), this is not the resort for you. After 9pm everone goes to bed!!! There are a few great bars downtown in Playa though, check our the Blue Parrot ($5 cab ride).

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2005

Even the beach lost to a storm could not dampen our enthusiasm for this paradise! An all-inclusive resort where the food is so excellent that you never wish you had another restaurant to eat in. A staff to guest ratio so high that you could refill your glass on the beach every ten minutes. We will return many times.

8  Thank mszdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews