We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, Great resort, Badly eroded beach = Wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #31 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2005

We just returned from a fabulous week at the Royal Hideaway. This place is truly a gem. Everything was fabulous, especially the wonderful service. We never wanted for a thing. Everything we asked for was done cheerfully and gracefully. We lost our luggage on the way down (thanks to USAIR and Logan Airport). I asked if there was a place that we could go to buy toothbrushes, toothpaste, etc. Within ten minutes, a bellman had brought up everything we had requested, free of charge. That's just a sampling of the service we received all week.

The resort is beautiful. Everything is so well maintained. We loved the green grass and all of the blooming flowers, something we don't see in the Northeast this time of year. The beach has suffered MAJOR EROSION. It was my first trip to the resort, so I don't have a comparison, but now there's only room for 3 rows of lounge chairs, placed very close together. A group of local men spent the week stuffing sandbags and building a retaining wall of sorts in front of the hotel. We were very bummed about the beach on the first day there, but we got used to it. As long as the beach stays as it was this past week, it won't keep us from returning again.

The food was good. Breakfasts and lunches were generally excellent. We really enjoyed having breakfast at Ventanas. They had really good eggs benedict and they always had a nice sampling of fresh from the oven pastries. We had lunch at the beach bar 6 out of 7 days and always enjoyed it. The sandwiches were quite good, as was the fried calamari. Dinners were generally just good. We're picky eaters from the snooty Northeast, so it does take a lot to impress us. Our favorite restaurant was the Grille. They had a really good goat cheese salad and beef filet. We also really liked Azia which was a surprise for us, since we thought it was odd eating Japanese food in Mexico. The sushi was just okay, but everything else was excellent. We loved how elegant everything was at every meal. It was formal without being stuffy. Everything was presented so nicely.

Soooo . . . the bottom line on the Royal Hideaway? Awesome resort with a badly eroding beach! We absolutely loved Mexico. The people, the food, the tequila . . . Everything. We will definitely return sometime soon. I'll be happy to anser any questions that you might have.

13  Thank sap115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,553 - 3,557 of 4,498 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2005

The Royal Hideaway is a very special spot. Romantic, excellent food, and beautiful grounds. The employees treat you like royalty. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is definitely it!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katieta2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are over-joyed hearing about your fantastic stay here at The Royal Hideaway, and very much appreciate your valuable feedback. You and your family are welcome back here anytime, it will always be your home from home!

I will be sure to show our team your kind words and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2005

We arrived in February for our third stay at the Royal Hideaway...yes we like it.. and were totally shocked to find the beach has disappeared! It is gone! We had to climb down a set of wooden stairs from a 4 foot erosin bank directly into the water to swim in the ocean. If you like the pool, your trip will be unaffected but if you want to swim in the ocean, be prepared for this change. It also means that chaise chairs are really jammed together now because the amount of useable space has dramatically decreased. The erosin is very bad and there are people sandbagging all day to keep the palm trees [and the hotel] from washing away.
As usual the food, the staff and most of the services were very good. Food was better than I had remembered from previous visits and spa services were very good. Front desk staff are very poor and give a negative first impression of the resort. We had made our reservations 7 months in advance and requested a 2nd floor room and a king size bed...not too much to ask for 3rd time returning guests in a 5 star resort. On check-in, neither was available and we had to be moved the next day. Once you get past the front desk, the staff is great. Hopefully this erosion problem will be overcome and then the RH will still be our favorite resort.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Bluenose Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
116
Reviewed 25 February 2005

This place was everything I could've asked for! I don't know where to start. WE were here Feb,5-12 not long enough. from Minneapolis,MN

PROS: The resort is very beautiful. I did research for a year on resorts all over the carribean and this one absolutely lives up to it's name. My wife and I both feel it was worth every nickel spent!
The staff work VERY hard to please and do a terrific job. It didn't seem that they were doing it as a job, but as if they really enjoyed it. As matter of fact I stated that to them and also heard 3 other guests through out the week asked the same question.
The resturants were wonderful we liked AZIA the chinese the best. The Coconut curry chicken satay was to die for so were the spring rolls. The 2nd best was SPICES the chicken was great. Our waiter at SPICES was Candelarijo He was great, very funny and energetic. We even took pictures of him. Thanks Candelarijo you were great! "undavay-undavay yevaw-yevaw"
The bar staff at ALLEGRIO worked very hard. we met a wonderful couple from Milwaukee Wisconsin and hungout at the bar with them and talked. My drink would get low and the next thing I knew I had a fresh one.
All in all we were very happy with the service and quality of this resort.
So much so that we were going to go somewhere else in the carribean next year that we are weighing heavily on going back.

CONS: The Tacos on the menu at spices were the BEST I HAVE EVER HAD. And they need to be on the dinner menu.
The beach isn't what it used to be. We seen postcards of what it was before and it's ashame they lost it.
THIS WAS BY NO MEANS A NEGATIVE,THE BEACH THAT WAS THERE WAS WONDERFUL. Hopefully the management gets it back and doesn't let mother nature WIN!
In summary would I ever go back? It's not would, It's WE ARE. We would HIGHLY RECOMMED this place!
Feel free to e-mail any questions I would be happy to talk about our wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Des Moines, IA
114
Reviewed 23 February 2005

This is our second time at the RH Hideaway. We were first at the resort in December 2003 and fell in love with the resort. We have been to Sandals and a few others and were absolutely blown away with the food and the staff. We jus got back from our second trip on Jan 28-Feb 4 and were dissapointed with the erosion on the beach. This was never told to us and we might have rebooked for a later time had we known. To those of you who may think that this is a little concern, let me put it in perspective. In 2003 when we were there, there was approximatly 100-125 yards of the best white beach we have ever been on. The beach now is gone right up to the palm trees. If you do want to get in the ocean, you must walk over sand bags and then the undercurrent is very bad. I believe that this may be a lot bigger problem than what is being reported. I believe the tide is higher in this area and the waves are breaking alot worse than the last time we were here. In addition, for those of you who are looking for some fun at night (disco, etc), this is not the resort for you. After 9pm everone goes to bed!!! There are a few great bars downtown in Playa though, check our the Blue Parrot ($5 cab ride).

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Experience_RH, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
10.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
3.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
9,305 reviews
23.1 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,269 reviews
18.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM1,499 - RM3,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing