We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$529
US$417
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$293
US$241
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$1,323
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$247
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$557
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$1,852
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,125
US$806
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,983)
Filter reviews
13,983 results
Traveller rating
7,232
4,430
1,433
528
360
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,232
4,430
1,433
528
360
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesle gourmetavenue barcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetitalian buffetpremium barselect clubswim up barkids clubelite poolfamily section
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,584 - 4,589 of 13,983 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

There is only good things to say about Sandos Playacar. 5 Star Plus experience we were there for the March break week. Everything from the rooms, food, beach service, the surroundings were all top rate. We loved it so much we became Elite Members and will be returning year after year. Just Beautiful.
Thank you Anna Ferranti
Ontario Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd Floor Section 8
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Don't joing the Royal Elite Club as they lie about the membership. They will promise you many things and only one or two of the membership benefits are true. There are no discounts throught Royal Elite Exchange and you don't get the Royal Elite suites unless they are available and there are only a few of them so they are never available. We paid $5,000 for our membership and the only thing we got for it is a private pool area with a waiter to serve us cocktails and the privilege of eating in the specialty resturants every night instead of just 3 or 4 nights. All of the Royal Elite Staff have lied to us multiple times. They are never honest about anything. It is a waiste of your money to join and once you do join and realize that you won't get anything they promised you there is no way to get your money back as in Mexico there are now laws protecting your investment. They can lie to you as much as they want and get away with it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Bentley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed 7 nights in the Adult Select Section on the garden side, which was peaceful and quiet. One thing we enjoyed was the sound of the birds. Little traffic from time to time, but nothing terrible. Beautiful clean room with all the amenities. This section is quite a way from the beach, but we didn't mind the walk. If you don't like to walk there is a shuttle available from the lobby. The food was great, buffets had lots of choices, and especially the pizza it was awesome. (One comment if you have high blood pressure, be warned they use loads of salt on their meat/fish at the buffets, so we asked for ours without). We really enjoyed all the ala carte's our favorite being the Gourmet (French) men had to wear pants and closed in shoes, but the experience was great. Juhnny was our waiter, he was very good. Next we would choose the Meditteranean and then the Steak House. We were disappointed the Italian Buffet Restaurant was not in operation at the time, we had read great reviews and we both love Italian, but all meals were again, great. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The only complaints we had were the entertainment. Our first night we enjoyed the Rock Band, they were incredible, but after that it was all down hill. For a resort of this caliber we expected more high end entertainment. Also, do not take the snorkelling trip from the resort, this was a disappointment. The reef was very small, with lots of fish, but only the same kind. The worst was we had to follow the guide the whole time. Had we known this before, we would not have wasted the money. My final comments are that this was a wonderful vacation, we loved the hotel and the weather was beautiful, we would not hesitate to stay at this resort again and we would recommend it to anyone. So thank you to Sandos for making this vacation a great get away.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor with balcony overlooking the garden or jungle. It was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The room that we were given when we got to the hotel was AWEFUL!. When we went to the front dest to explore other options, we had the pleasure of working with Guimeel who went above and beyond to find us another room. We ended up loving our new room but it weren't for Guimeel, we would have been miserable. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Hacienda's. They are alittle further from the beach but they have individual pools and the rooms are much bigger and nicer.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Adult All Inclusive section of the Sandos Playacar Beach Resort and had a fabulous time. We stayed 7 nights and were able to get 3 dinner choices at the several restaurants. We chose Mexican, Steak House and Medditeranean and enjoyed them all. The Buffets were great and the drinks just kept on coming. For the price and location of the hotel, I'd definitely recommend it. I ran most morning in the Playacar area by myself and felt very safe. We rented bikes one afternoon and enjoyed riding to Playa. Taxi's were $7 each way into Playa which was definitely a great stop. We ate at the Blue Parrot and it was delicious!! Service at the hotel was fabulous. I was a little concerned about how far the adult area was from the beach and other restaurants and its literally a 5 minute walk. We enjoyed the Adult pool with swim up bar and snack cart. Loved our suite and view of the jungle!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wasarcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews