We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a couple!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #54 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect place for a couple!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed there a while ago and we were not disappointed at all! Great food, everybody was very nice and helpful, clean and romantic!

It's not on the beach but is walking distance from everywhere.

The first two nights we stayed at the room with the jacuzzi on the roof but we don't think it's worth it. You'll use the jacuzzi only once. The room is big and beautiful but maybe a regular room is best.

Thank you La Tortuga!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariana_mga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    620
    145
    57
    28
See reviews for
142
1,523
93
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in Tortuga hotel and spa for 4 days.
Positives: The hotel’s public areas, the pool and restaurant. All well designed and clean!
The restaurant has nice food in good prices. Some people of the staff. Good position!
Negatives: First of all, it is completely UNACCEPTABLE to ask you to pay on check-in! They had our credit card details and we didn’t take any offer that it was pre-payable! They could just pre-authorize our credit card in order to be sure as a hotel but it never happened to me to ask for a pre-payment unless it is an offer!
Then, the price of our room concerning that it was during medium season, with that view that you can see in the photos, the size of the room, the fact that the Wi-Fi connection was horrible, the towels were old, the room hasn't got a balcony (the balcony had 30cm!), they didn’t offer anything special like slippers for example was no value for money at all. 180 dollars per night including breakfast!
Finally, the staff of the restaurant was too slow and with bad attitude while some of the reception girls were good while other were unprofessional.
Definitely, not recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pellegrina_leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Dear valued client,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking to to write about our boutique hotel. then to explain you, when you make a reservation through a third party which in your case was booking.com, the reservation you chose was a promotionl rate that was non refundable and the terms and conditions of the booking require full payment at the moment the booking is made. You booked a standard room which unfortunately do not host balconies, we do have a few that have a very small outside area, but this is not published in booking.com it states that non have balconies. I know this explanation does not change your experience and we sincerley hope to have the opportunity in hosting you in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My sister and I spent a week at La Tortuga and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was much bigger than expected and our bathroom was huge!

Located just off the main street in Playa, the situation was excellent for eating out or heading to the shops or the buses for trips out of town. The free sun lounger at beach club was an excellent addition, we went there most days (people who say the walk is too long are being harsh - it was well worth it).

Le Bistro restaurant attached to the hotel served some of the best food we ate all holiday.

Somewhere we'd visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmorrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at La Tortuga in February 2012 and our stay exceeded our expectations. The entire staff was extremely friendly, the included breakfast options were plentiful and it was extremely convenient to have such a good quality restaurants within steps of our room. The outdoor environment at the hotel was beautiful and created a relaxing and inviting space. It was a pleasure to simply sit poolside and enjoy the view. We didn't feel like we were in a city at all while at the hotel but it was very convenient to be only a few blocks from the beach, shopping and restaurants for the times we wanted a more bustling experience. While not large by American standards the room itself was very good. It was extremely clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. My only wish was that there were a few drawers where we could store our belongings so that we didn't have to literally live out of our suitcase while we were there but this is a very minor point. I highly recommend that travelers to Playa del Carmen stay at La Tortuga. I don't know what the other rooms were like but we were happy that we paid a little extra for a small walk out patio that was poolside.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor that walked out onto the pool. An additional benefit to being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I recently spent nine PERFECT nights in Playa del Carmen at La Tortuga Hotel and Spa. We were celebrating our Honeymoon and in our search for a place to stay in Mexico we knew that we didn't want to do the all inclusive thing. Thanks to Tripadvisor we stumbled upon La Tortuga and let me tell you it was fate. From the minute we booked our stay to the sad moment that we checked out, the staff at La Tortuga made us feel like royalty. The attention to every single possible detail could be the template for any service industry company. Everything from our room to the pool to the spa provided us with the relaxing oasis we were looking for. To top it off the crew at El Bistro Cafe made breakfast everyday an absolute pleasure. You will not be let down.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,441 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
0.4 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,743 reviews
1.7 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): RM343 - RM905
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing