We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Quality without the expensive price tag!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We carefully chose La Tortuga before our trip to Playa. We specifically did not want an "all inclusive" since we are adventurous and would not be in our hotel all day long, the experience went beyond our expectations. This boutique hotel has all the 5-Star amenities at a very reasonable price. The ENTIRE staff is OUTSTANDING, polite, helpful, ready to attend your every need. From the front desk, bell service, bar service, waiting staff, maintenance staff… EVERYONE was very special, friendly and truly made you feel at home. If you are looking to stay in town in an oasis in Playa, La Tortuga is hands down your place to stay. You will enjoy very comfortable rooms, a gorgeous – hard to beat pool, walking distance to anything you want to do in Playa, and the most amazing, helpful staff in town. Muchas gracias La Tortuga, we will definitely be back :).

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of 14 Street are less noisy than the ones on 10th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCP060912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 811 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay at La Tortuga Hotel. We enjoyed our room, which was a suite with a loft area with extra beds for the kids and a private roof top patio with jacuzzi. The staff were kind and helpful, we loved the pool and bar (played a lot of pool) and enjoyed fantastic coconut mojitas! We are looking forward to coming back and staying at La Tortuga once again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our Best Vacation ever!
We have been vacating in Mexico for the past 25 years. Last year, while going to the airport we picked up a La Tortuga hotel & Spa and they raved about their trip. We thought we would give it a try. The vacation was a advertised. Everything first class- the staff made us feel welcome and went that extra mile to make sure the experience would not be soon forgotten. We are looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards

Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This little hotel is in the best location 1block off of 5th ave. If you are wanting to stay right in playa del carmen this is the hotel. close to the restarants,shops and party, but far enough away to rest and relax when you want to. We have stayed at the royal in playa and it is very nice and on the beach however i would rank this hotel right up there with that 5star resort. each room has its own private belcony. The beds are super comfortable, the pool in kept amazingly clean, staff are unbelievably helpful if you ask for anything. free awesome breakfast (lots of choices) will keep you full for most of the day. I am very glad we found this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We read all the Trip A. Reviews and had high expectations but the hotel and Playa exceeded all.
Playa is cleaner, more vibrant and has the best restaurants and beaches we have seen in all of Mexico, we have been coming for over 30 years. We stayed 4 nights in the Junior Suite with the jacuzzi in the room, very quiet, our room had a humidifier which created very pleasant white noise, never heard music from Bongo.
BRECKFAST--- was very good with lots of variety, I sampled everything but my wife ate the Maya breakfast and after one try she had it every day, loved it.
POOL---- was great, quiet and cool, not as cold as other reviews mentioned, had some wine and relaxed.
INTERIOR AND GROUNDS---- of the hotel is quiet and relaxing, staff is always working cleaning the grounds, one man was getting leaves out of the pool all the time we were there.
LOCATION---- is the best, one block off 5 th avenue and 3 block from the beach.
BEACH----was clean and had lots of walk up bars, Indio was a little stuffy and had a European flair.
We liked Zensi, food was great as was the people watching.
We loved walking thru the hundreds of curio stores, OXXO is on the same block as the hotel and we went for sodas and beer, its like a 7-11, very convenient.
HAWKERS----have a irritating gimmick of saying 'Hi good to see you again', like they have talked to you before or on other trips, its just a gimmick to get you talking, most are after Condo Tours which should be avoided at all costs.
AIRPORT SERVICE----we used the hotel service, they were on time, van was clean and the trip took about 45-50 minutes door to door, which is much better than we thought. Cost was 95$US total for round-trip for two people, not a bad price at all.
STAFF----during the day was helpful but did not seem to know what was going on after dark nor did they give us any decent restaurant recommendations, night guys were much better.
SECURITY---always a rent a cop at the front door, 24 hours, not shady characters ever wandered on the property. The streets after dark had lots of local cops but they seemed to be more professional and better equipped than in other parts of Mexico, seemed very safe.

Well after all that we came home and made reservations for next year, we have a handicapped Daughter and only get one trip a year and for us to return the same place is a very high complement to Playa and La Tortuga.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,572 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,287 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.6 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#63 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
1.7 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM347 - RM1,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing