We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a few days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This place is good for a budget stay. The location is great, right around the corner of 5th Avenue which is where you want to be. Close to all the restaurants and shops. If you wanted to go to the beach. There are 2 beach clubs that you can hang out at for a discounted rate. Definitely go for the rooms on the higher floors as I found the ones on the lower floors to be a little claustrophobic. We loved the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was very good as well as the prices. Our breakfast was included with our hotel stay and it was very good. The service was excellent! Beware that the hotel is very close to Coco Bongo and you can hear some noise from the club. It was a little faint, but still you could hear it. So if you're a light sleeper, this hotel might not be for you.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor for bigger and quitter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello good afternoon Jeanette,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about your experience in our boutique hotel. We are please to read you enjoyed your stay here with us. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the near future.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and really loved it. It is a very beautiful hotel, very nice pool( although there isn't enough sun because there is a lot of trees). The rooms are comfortable and clean. We were upgraded to a better room ( suite) because we were on our honeymoon without any extra charge.
Breakfast was ok nothing special and the wi-fi can be a little problematic.
The staff personal are great!!! Very nice and always willing to help you with everything . Truly, it was the best customer service we got in Mexico!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hoorhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello good afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to write about our boutique hotel and to have chosen us as the destination for your honeymoon. We are please you enjoyed your free upgrade and your stay here with us.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This hotel completely surpassed our expectations! I had booked it as a surprise for my husband's birthday and they truly went above and beyond to make it special for us. We will never forget our stay at this hotel! The room and pool are even better than they look in the pictures and it was so relaxing sipping cocktails beside the pool. The staff are absolutely incredible and really make the experience stand out. We adore this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moobygoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello good afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your experience and stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and your stay here with us was a memorable one. I have passed your kind words onto our staff and they are thrilled you appreciated their work and attention to details.

We sincerely hope to have to opportunity in welcoming you back toour boutique hotel in the near future.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a great location - it is right next to the 5th avenue which is the main street with restaurants, shops and bars. It is a not even a minute away to the 5th avenue and still you can not hear any noice at night in the hotel rooms.
The rooms were big, clean and very comftorable. We had a little terrace with a view on the hotel pool.
The cleaning service was very good and the staff is very nice, polite and proffessional.
The reception is opened 24/7 and they could help us with anything we needed. They offer tours or just inform you about the surroundings of playa del carmen and also ordering taxis and so on.
The hotel has three partnering beach clubs where you can get discounts. We went to the Kool Beachclub which is maybe 10 minutes away by walking. There are closer beach clubs, but we preferred this one.
All in all I really enjoyed the stay in the tortuga hotel in playa del carmen and would book it again, if I travel to playa del carmen again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank melaniepran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hello good afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your experience and stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and your stay here with us was a memorable one. I have passed your kind words onto our staff and they are thrilled you appreciated their work and attention to details.

We sincerely hope to have to opportunity in welcoming you back toour boutique hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Location 4/5: located parallel to the main 5th Ave (avenues go on 5s, so it's on 10th). This hotel offers the quietness people want yet a close 2-3 minute walk to the main avenue. I recommend visiting and buying at Walmart it is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. In addition, across the road from it is Don Sirlion (real Mexican restaurant), reviews will tell you to walk to El Fogon. I went to both and this one is far tastier and friendlier too.

Room service 5/5: quick but efficient, not very many staff speak English but with all the sign language they are very helpful.

Swim up room 2.5/5: we selected the swim up room and to be quite honest its not worth it. I've been to many places, hotels and resorts. I found the pool dirty and I am pretty sure that the filters are not working.There were no water flow, noise or wake from the jets that circulates the water. Which, to be profoundly honest, it shouldn't have been open. If the pool gets updated, cleaned and fixed this hotel will be 5/5.

The best thing about this is that there were no children in sight so you if you are on holidays without the children or prefer a child free time. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful but needs to tone down the 'tourist shark' mode. For four days, we got asked which tour we wanted to go on -- EVERY--DAY.

Room Tip: Lower rooms to the left does get the noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gaida15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear much valued client,

We appreciate that you have taken time to write us your comments about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa these comments help us to grow and achieve a better service.

I was very disappointed to read about your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an Apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity, we are taking notes of all your comments to improve this issues.
We sincerly hope to have the opportunity in hosting you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,571 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,286 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.6 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
1.7 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM343 - RM1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing