We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
157
75
36
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
75
36
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed a couple of nightsmuchas graciassmall poolenjoyed my staybackpackersavenida
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

came to playa for 3 days and loved the hostel so much i ended up staying for 3 weeks.
fernando and geny are the kindest, most helpful people ever, even throwing in a few free shots of tequila along the way. the rooms are clean and the the showers are brilliant. i slept well and relaxed to the maximum. really cool, really fun and makes me think about heading back to playa.

Room Tip: i was in room d, it was excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eimear200050285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you come to Playa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

It was nice and still and the staff was friendly and the hostel was clean. The only problem was they didn't serve breakfast (others at same price do in playa) and the common area wasn't very nice.
But a great place for one or two nights and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BABitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thanks for posting your opinion! We'll be looking forward to offer new promotions and attend your suggestions, so you can enjoy your stay and receive a better service in case you decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Had a good 2 night stay here in October. Really helpful and friendly staff, nice pool and decent rooms. Only a few minor complaints, beds were clean but werent all that great and one of our lockers was broken. Still, I would probably go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuomas_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We will attend your suggestions so we can give you a better service the next time you visit us. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Worth a visit-
Great location, walkable from both ADO stations, 1 block away from the "collectivo" (little buses) rank and less than a 5 min walk to the beach and main street. Also some great little taco eateries around about (full of Mexican locals) and a huge supermarket 2 minutes away (wallmart) if you wanted to make use of the hostel kitchen (which is clean and sufficiently equiped) You can do laundry for cheap at the hostel. Free internet.

Everything nice and clean, though rooms are basic. Rooms can get a little hot even with the fans though, so cold showers or a jump in the small pool is a necessity.

Staff really helpful and happy to give advice and opinions on the best things to do.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

stayed here for one night and found the place very pleasant and the staff very helpful. the manager had no problem when we requested a later check out and when we accidentally missed this deadline too he didn't say a word when we checked out. the place is clean and the rooms are well kept, stayed in a 6 dorm room with friends and we all got given a locker key with a lock. wifi is good, and the pool although small is nice to have a little dip to cool down in. we coked in the kitchen which is well stocked and clean. Walmart is less than 10 minute walk away which is handy as well, and beach is about 10 mins just straight down from the hotel. Nice atmosphere

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHealy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews