We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Vive la Vida
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I will throw it out there and admit I didn't stay here as such, but knew people staying here and spent quite a lot of time in this place in my week I spent in Mexico that practically was a resident.

Friends who were staying here extended their stay here, and I have to say if I return to Playa and need cheap accommodation, this would be my first choice. The place is clean and most importantly there is a really friendly vibe. I ended up knowing a number of people who stayed here during the week and while I really enjoyed the hotel I stayed in, wished I spent a few days here as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiiJaySung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thanks for your comments! We hope you come back soon to Playa. You're more than welcome to stay with us (:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

came to playa for 3 days and loved the hostel so much i ended up staying for 3 weeks.
fernando and geny are the kindest, most helpful people ever, even throwing in a few free shots of tequila along the way. the rooms are clean and the the showers are brilliant. i slept well and relaxed to the maximum. really cool, really fun and makes me think about heading back to playa.

Room Tip: i was in room d, it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eimear200050285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you come to Playa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

It was nice and still and the staff was friendly and the hostel was clean. The only problem was they didn't serve breakfast (others at same price do in playa) and the common area wasn't very nice.
But a great place for one or two nights and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BABitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thanks for posting your opinion! We'll be looking forward to offer new promotions and attend your suggestions, so you can enjoy your stay and receive a better service in case you decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Had a good 2 night stay here in October. Really helpful and friendly staff, nice pool and decent rooms. Only a few minor complaints, beds were clean but werent all that great and one of our lockers was broken. Still, I would probably go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuomas_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valenthynacarrete, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Vive la Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We will attend your suggestions so we can give you a better service the next time you visit us. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Worth a visit-
Great location, walkable from both ADO stations, 1 block away from the "collectivo" (little buses) rank and less than a 5 min walk to the beach and main street. Also some great little taco eateries around about (full of Mexican locals) and a huge supermarket 2 minutes away (wallmart) if you wanted to make use of the hostel kitchen (which is clean and sufficiently equiped) You can do laundry for cheap at the hostel. Free internet.

Everything nice and clean, though rooms are basic. Rooms can get a little hot even with the fans though, so cold showers or a jump in the small pool is a necessity.

Staff really helpful and happy to give advice and opinions on the best things to do.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#2 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
552 reviews
1.8 km away
Hostel El Punto Rojo
Hostel El Punto Rojo
#73 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
1 reviews
1.4 km away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#16 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#10 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
82 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#25 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
87 reviews
0.5 km away
Guacamundo Lifestyle Hostel
Guacamundo Lifestyle Hostel
#82 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vive la Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vive la Vida

Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Av. 25 y Av. 30, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 224 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM46 - RM153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Vive la Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Vive la Vida is new in town. It's a new building totally prepared for the international travelers and inspired by the huge Frida Kahlo.The Hostel Vive la Vida is conceived with the experience of more than 120 cities visited across more than 20 countries as backpacker just as you are. We expect that you feel like at home and discover the multicultural and cosmopolitan atmosphere of our city.We are located few steps of the beach and 500 mts from the 5th Avenue, the most amused, famous and cosmopolitan pedestrian avenue of the the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostel Vive la Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Vive La Vida Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing