We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with good vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Vive la Vida
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I stayed a couple of nights and really enjoyed my stay before my long trip to Los Cabos, i met other travelers, we had so much fun at the beach!
At night an old gringo gave us a great concert, he performs at night in a restaurant on the 5th.
The location of this basic hostel is not far away from the bus station and quinta avenida...If you are very hot you can get into the small pool.
Coffee in the mornings is very good to wake up.
I'll come back to say hello someday.
Muchas gracias.
Cheers

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betour02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

With the hostel not being massive and overcrowded, you easily make friends in the dining/chill-out area. The staff are SO friendly and are very approachable. If you have any problems or want to know any information about the local area the owner was so helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks so much Vive la Vida!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank willpincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

This was a really good basic hostel but the one complaint I have is that there were people having a party and blasting music from 4am-10am and nobody told them to be quiet. We were shattered after a 23 hour journey! The rest of the people that we met here were lovely and interesting though!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I stayed here in January and I felt so welcome from the first moment! The staff was super kind and looked after me very well. I left and came back and they gave me the same bed which I liked. There was lots of other backpackers and I really enjoyed it. I was there for 10 days total. Some rooms were better than others and I really did not use the kitchen - for me traveling alone it was a perfect place! I would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: Female dorm in the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yeah-zuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Not a nice place to stay...unless you are looking to party all night and sleep in a sauna. Checking into the hostel was a very disorganized process. They said beds werent ready which is understandable. We paid left our stuff and came back 5 hours later. They brought us to the room which was cluttered and a mess with stuff everywhere and couldn't seem to find 2 beds for us. There was an empty double bed I suggested we could stay in. The lady said ok. A few hours later she came back and told us to move so a single guy could sleep there. Why would you ask 2 people to leave a double bed so that 1 person could sleep there? Anyway we ended up having 12 people in a 10 bed dorm and there were people having sex in the bed above us at 730am after the party stopped. Room was disgustingly hot and uncomfortable.
I am sure there are much better hostels in Playa.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
551 reviews
1.8 km away
Hostel El Punto Rojo
Hostel El Punto Rojo
#73 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
1 reviews
0.3 km away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#10 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#16 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
87 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#25 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
86 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#11 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vive la Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vive la Vida

Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Av. 25 y Av. 30, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 224 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: RM42 - RM167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Vive la Vida 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Vive la Vida is new in town. It's a new building totally prepared for the international travelers and inspired by the huge Frida Kahlo.The Hostel Vive la Vida is conceived with the experience of more than 120 cities visited across more than 20 countries as backpacker just as you are. We expect that you feel like at home and discover the multicultural and cosmopolitan atmosphere of our city.We are located few steps of the beach and 500 mts from the 5th Avenue, the most amused, famous and cosmopolitan pedestrian avenue of the the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hostel Vive la Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Vive La Vida Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing