We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for families, college kids, and couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #50 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“perfect for families, college kids, and couples”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I went to this Riu hotel in 2010 with 4 of my friends (we were all 19-20 years old). Honestly, this resort was great for how much we paid ($1300 for 8 nights from Vancouver, BC). Food was amazing and the drinks weren't weak at all - TRUST ME. We made friends with some people there who were around our age and it was nice. There were some families there as well and we played in the pool with the kids. It has a great atmosphere. Then, when the night rolled around and the kids went to sleep, we drank and went to the discotheque. The awesome thing about Riu hotels, is that you can go to each one to enjoy the facilities. This resort isn't completely beachfront, but there's a trolley that comes every 5 minutes to take you there and the walk is like 10 minutes. Seriously if you're eating and drinking as much as I was, you could use the minimal exercise. Staff was very helpful, rooms were re-stocked with drinks every day. There's also a LIQUOR DISPENSER in each room. Hello, awesome? Honestly, when I go on holiday to Mexico, I'm not expecting to be treated like a billionaire, but I do want sun, sand, good food, and great service - which I get with Riu. After this trip, my friend and I returned to try a different Riu (Riu Cancun) just to mix things up and I received the same great experience there.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good if you plan on drinking a lot… stairs are nobody's friend when it comes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,522
    2,343
    639
    165
    132
See reviews for
1,921
3,811
92
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Early Feb. 3 generations of family (4 adults one 5yr old ) stayed here for 10 nights. We have been 4 times before and think it is good value for money even though it is not cheap and you have to pay full price for the 5yr old. She shared a queen bed (2) with her parents but it was ok. She loved the pool although the water was cold (why dont they use solar heating in winter?) liked the mini disco and craft making. The food is very good but gets a bit "samey". I read somewhere that it had been refurbished but I didnt know where! There is entertainment day and evening if you want it and plenty of TV sport and pool for the men! You can walk to a few shops who sell things you dont need or a stroll to the beach. The flight was long, 10.5 hrs. but the seating on thomson flight is spacious so I wouldnt pay to upgrade. As far as I know you cannot get to this hotel with any other company and I have tried! I recommend you take some extra food to eat on the plane. You will be well looked after here.

Room Tip: Upper floor room 4012 4011
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had our honeymoon here and it was absolutely brilliant.
The staff were fantastic and the food was second to none, so much choice and as aself-declared picky eater I can assure you there is something for everyone.
The rooms were extremely clean and spacious and the maidsmade sure they were spotless everyday.
The cocktail menu was extensive and helped with the one wet day we had.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Mexico

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toptanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good location even though not a beachfront hotel, the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Plenty of entertainment etc., throughout the day and evening. The food was very good with plenty of choice and several restaurants to choose from. Drinks were plentiful with a great assortment to choose from and it was no trouble for the staff to make cocktails not on the list. Easy walking distance into the resort center or short journey in taxi.
All in all great times had by all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

So much as been written about this hotel that's there's really very little to add except that a lot of the success of this hotel has to go to the management team and their wonderful employees. I can't say enough about their professionalism and I think that a lot has to do with the General Manager and his personal interaction with the clients and staff of the hotel. Yes, that man who may be found in a suit or in a casual RIU golf shirt is responsible for the atmosphere of the hotel, along with his senior managers and he can be found everywhere from the pool restaurant to helping to seat guests at the buffet. Like him, the staff are just so nice and so helpful. It makes for a lovely atmosphere.

Other resorts could learn from the Tequila and not just depend on their flashy rooms, huge grounds, water parks etc to impress their guests. Service and atmosphere will trump a marble jacuzzi in my books any day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1uvthe5un
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,863 reviews
17.8 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,561 reviews
4.7 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,749 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#61 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,650 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): RM682 - RM1,737
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing